Timing Questions

By Potter41, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

We had two timing issues spring up this past week during our first session. I perused the forums and didn't see an obvious answer. I apologize if this has already been addressed.

1) The wookie who gains focus on gaining 3 wounds; does this trigger if the 3 damage is the final damage to put him down (as in flips his sheet)?

2) The Twi'lek Jedi (apologize for the descriptors I don't own the game I was just assigned to find the answers) has an ability that says "Once per activation". I believe the ability also states "when you attack". Can you use the ability when you attack, outside of your activation? Does this count towards the once per activation limit?

Thanks!!!

1) The wookie would become Focused if the damage suffered was actually 3 before flipping his card to the wounded side. If it only took 2 damage to wound him, he would not gain Focused. Focused remains on the hero sheet if they become wounded.

"Damage", RRG, Page 10

A figure cannot suffer (damage) in excess of its Health. Any (damage) over this amount has no effect.

2) We had a conversation about Diala's Precise Strike ability on whether or not she can use it outside of her activation. I am having trouble finding it, but I recall the community agreed that she can only use it during her activation.

Edited by Fizz

1) I believe the wookie landed exactly at 3 damage and was flipped over at the same time. As in the last damage applied was #3 and was the final damage needed to wound him. Sorry, not even my character but I just want to be 100% clear for the group.

2) Diala that was her name! Thanks...this is actually my character. Should have remembered. We'll use the community's thoughts until we hear otherwise. Thanks for the feedback!!

I'm the Imperial player in this group, so let me follow up on the first question. The wookiee took 3 damage, which was enough to flip his card to the wounded side. That side of the card does not have the focus ability. The real question here is a timing one: which happens first, the flipping of the card or the activation of the ability? Thanks!

And, hi Taylor!

Well, Rage states "after an attack has resolved", and the final step of attack resolution is Step 7, Calculate Damage. At this point, damage is dealt.

"Defeated", RRG, Page 10:

When a figure has a number of damage tokens equal to its Health, the figure is defeated.

• When a hero is defeated for the first time during a mission, he is wounded and flips his Hero sheet to the wounded side. If a wounded hero is defeated, he withdraws and is removed from the map.

Defeated is not a trigger per se, but more of a constant. As soon as the figure has suffered enough damage, it is defeated. In this case, Gaarkhan would have to flip his card to the wounded side (which does not have Rage on it) and if he suffered exactly the amount of damage to defeat him (assuming it is over 3), he would not gain Focused.

To reiterate the timing issue:

"Conflicts" RRG, Page 9 states:

While attacking, mission rules are resolved first, followed by effects from the attacker (including figures friendly to him), then effects from the defender (including figures friendly to him).

Dealing damage in this case would be an effect from the attacker, and Rage would be an effect from the defender.

Furthermore:

During a campaign, mission rules are resolved first, followed by effects from the Imperial player, then effects from the Rebel players.

If multiple mission rules would resolve at the same time, the Imperial player decides the order of resolution.

Long story short. Gaarkhan needs to healthy after the attack resolves to trigger Rage.

A bent wookie is a sad wookie, not an angry one.

Edited by Fizz