"To the limit" Clarification .

By dmolpas, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi i have a doubt about the use of this Command card .

The card Reads : "After you resolve a Special Action during your activation perform 1 additional action , Then you become stunned "

You can use this additional action to perform the same Special action or attack twice ?

Examples :

1 Activating vader : Move , brutalice , To the limit , Brutalice Again, Stunned .

2 Activating Vader: Move , brutalice , To the limit , Force Choke , Stunned .

3 Activating Vader : Move , brutalice , to the limit , Normal Attack , Stunned.

4 Activating Nexu : Move , pounce , To the limit , Normal Attack , stunned .

The rules reads : YOu can only perform the same special action ONCE per activation and you can only attack ONCE per activation . Does this command card Bypass this rules ? In case it doesnt the use of this card is almost limited to vader (or use another CC) , as you cannot use the additional action to move as you become stunned before you can spend the movement points .

Which ones of the examples you can perform ?

Thank You

Nothing on the card says that you may ignore that rules about using the same special action more than once or attacking more than once.

You still only get one attack and can only use each special action once.

Scenario 1: Illegal (Can't attack twice and can't use a special ability twice)

Scenario 2: Legal (Attacking Once and using each special ability once)

Scenario 3: Illegal (Can't attack twice)

Scenario 4: Illegal (Can't attack twice)

How about:

brutalice , Normal Attack , to the limit , Force Choke Stunned.

You cannot combine Brutalize with a normal attack. Base rules prevent this, and To The Limit does not allow this.

In case of Vader: whats the 'Lord of the Sith" then good for?

You attack, you use the Choke and any additional action is good for what? Only to move the figure around?

In case of Vader: whats the 'Lord of the Sith" then good for?

You attack, you use the Choke and any additional action is good for what? Only to move the figure around?

It's pretty awesome

Edited by nungunz

I also need some clarification on this card.

Because of use of the special action icon can this be played after a normal move/attack? For example is Move, Move, To the Limit, Attack legal?

Can this additional action be added to any other unspent actions to utilize {Special Action}{Special Action} abilities such as Fury of Blades or Maximum Firepower. For example is Urgency, To the Limit, Fury of Blades legal?

I also need some clarification on this card.

Because of use of the special action icon can this be played after a normal move/attack? For example is Move, Move, To the Limit, Attack legal?

Can this additional action be added to any other unspent actions to utilize {Special Action}{Special Action} abilities such as Fury of Blades or Maximum Firepower. For example is Urgency, To the Limit, Fury of Blades legal?

You can play To the Limit after a double move, and then attack. You may only attack once per activation, no matter how many actions you gain.

Your example of using Urgency, To the Limit, and Fury of Blades is legal, because you are only attacking once.

You can play To the Limit after a double move, and then attack. You may only attack once per activation, no matter how many actions you gain.

Your example of using Urgency, To the Limit, and Fury of Blades is legal, because you are only attacking once.

A double move is not a Special Action, you would not be able to double move, then play To The Limit.

Special Actions are denoted by the arrow symbol.

Edited by Fizz

Can you use Focused (the command card, I think that's the name), then use To The Limit, then do something that requires a double action (Pummel, Maximum Firepower)?

How would "to the limit let you use "fury of blades"? It doesn't say take 2 actions or a double special action and then become stunned...

... and, to be clear, there are many instances where people will attack more than once... fury of blades, assault, any card that allows you to ready your deployment card, an ability or action that allow you to interrupt another figure's activation and attack, etc. I'm in no way saying that to the limit lets you attack again, just saying that this game does allow many many instances when you can attack a bunch of times in a round, unlike say, dust tactics where the rules never allow you to do it and only allows multiple move actions from one single specific ability.

Edited by Stromboli

To the Limit: Use after you resolve a {special action} during your activation to perform 1 additional action. Then you become stunned.

Furry of Blades: {special action} {special action} Perform 3 attacks.

Urgency: {special action} Gain a number of movement points equal to your Speed +2

Actions Pg 3 RRG : Special actions are denoted on the components by the {special action} icon. A figure can choose to spend one of its actions to resolve a special action from one of its cards. If an ability has two {special action} icons, it costs the figure two of its actions to resolve this ability.

- When a special action contains multiple attacks, or a move and an attack, it still only requires the listed number of actions to perform.

Player activates Royal Guard Champion Urgency

-1 of 2 actions was used for a special action

Royal Guard Champion moves 8 spaces if needed with any unused movement lost.

Player plays To the Limit since a special action was played.

-2 actions available but will be stunned after taking the next action

Player plays Furry of Blades and performs 3 attacks then becomes stunned.

What am I missing that doesn't allow this?

I thought in the example that to the limit was used after taking both actions, leaving only one and "furry" takes 2... I must of misunderstood the example.