about Rebel Trooper Aim

By JA_42, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hello,

and sorry for this question, probably still clarify, but I can't find it on this forum, so ...

Rebel Trooper : AIM : if you have not exited your space during this activation, apply +1 dom +2 accu to your attack result.

So, in campaign, how it's working? I mean, first action, my attack (with this bonus), second action I can move? it's right?

thanks a lot

That is correct. You can shoot, benefit from Aim, then move and do it all over again next turn.

No, rule says you can't leave the current space.

On paper, Rebel Troopers look really underwhelming compared to their imperial counterparts. But in gameplay, they are pretty badass. I plan on buying at least three boxes of these guys for my rebel "call more dudes!" list in skirmish

So, yes or no? :) I assume that this game text isn't very accurate :)

The Major is incorrect.

Aim: If you have not exited your space during this activation, apply +1 (damage) and +2 accuracy to your attack results.

If you resolve your attack before exiting the space, AIM applies. If you exit the space, and then attack, AIM does not apply.

Nowhere does it say "if you attack, you cant leave the space", nor is there a rule about retroactively taking damage and accuracy back after an attack has resolved.

The card says "if you have not exited your space during this activation," so you can attack, then move and still get the bonus. It says nothing about not being able to move after attacking. You just have to shoot from where you start the turn at, so no moving to get line of sight or closer range for a better chance to hit.

Ok, seams logical...

Thanks a lot

Compare to the tripod text on the e-web, which has very precise terms about not moving after an attack.

The card says "if you have not exited your space during this activation," so you can attack, then move and still get the bonus. It says nothing about not being able to move after attacking. You just have to shoot from where you start the turn at, so no moving to get line of sight or closer range for a better chance to hit.

How can I be incorrect? The card says the model can't move out of the space DURING its activation, if you move the model after it fires then it is still moved during that activation, which you are not allowed to do. The card doesn't have to reiterate what it has already said by saying that it can't move after it fires the term during already states that. Besides, if they wanted to allow movement after shooting then they could have just said that a model can't move before an aimed shot.

Edited by Major Mishap

no where on the card does it say you can not move, the e-web has text that says it can not move

it says "if you have not exited your space during this activation," so you check if the condition is true or false when you declare an attack

Doesn't a model have to move to leave its square then? It can't leave its current square during its activation to be able to aim shoot.

Please tell me how a model can move without exiting its square??

Edited by Major Mishap

There are many effects that can cause a model to leave it's square without taking a move action. Massive figure displacement, "push", etc...

Major, you're adding text that isn't there. Read the text exactly how it is written.

Aim: If you have not exited your space during this activation, apply +1 (damage) and +2 accuracy to your attack results.

The part you're getting hung up on it "during its activation". If they don't put that text there, then AIM would *NEVER* apply if you moved them once during the mission, as it would read:

Aim: If you have not exited your space, apply +1 (damage) and +2 accuracy to your attack results.

You have to remember that figures have ways of moving outside their activation, in addition, you only check for the "exited your space" condition during the activation not any other time, and only during an attack.

Logic:

1) Declare attack.

2) Condition check: exited square?

2a) Condition False: Apply AIM effect, go to step 3.

2b) Condition True: Go to step 3

3) Resolve attack.

4) Perform additional actions or end activation.

I think it's clear that they are able to fire and then move. It's still restrictive as you can't optimize your positioning before shooting and still get the bonus.

There are many effects that can cause a model to leave it's square without taking a move action. Massive figure displacement, "push", etc...

None that happen during a models own activation though, so none of those are applicable.

But if the wording is in the past tense (not got game handy to check) then a model could move after an aimed shot.

There are many effects that can cause a model to leave it's square without taking a move action. Massive figure displacement, "push", etc...

None that happen during a models own activation though, so none of those are applicable.

But if the wording is in the past tense (not got game handy to check) then a model could move after an aimed shot.

Yes that would be correct.

There are many effects that can cause a model to leave it's square without taking a move action. Massive figure displacement, "push", etc...

None that happen during a models own activation though, so none of those are applicable.

But if the wording is in the past tense (not got game handy to check) then a model could move after an aimed shot.

That is right, if the card reads "if you have not" it means up to this point and time, but ur free to do what ever you like afterwords. If it read "if you DO not" that would be very different and then you would b forced to stay in the space and not take a move action

The way the rules templating seems to work in this game you would not see a "if you do not move" wording. You would see the wording like on the eWeb

That's correct. Such wording would just be bad.