Boosting Samwise

By JanB, in Rules questions & answers

Hi Folks,

quick questions about Samwise ..

Sam Gamdschie (Sam Gamgee)

Response: After you engage an enemy with a higher engagement cost than your threat, ready Sam Gamgee. He gets +1 lotr-icon-wil.gif , +1 lotr-icon-atk.gif , and +1 lotr-icon-def.gif until the end of the round.

We played "The Dunland Trap" some days before. Many effects from the questcards and encounterdeck let you directly being enganged with one or more enemies. So .. do such effects trigger Sam's response?

Setup:

Each player searches the encounter deck for a Boar Clan enemy and puts it into play engaged with him.

-> Sam gets +1 lotr-icon-wil.gif , +1 lotr-icon-atk.gif , and +1 lotr-icon-def.gif until the end of the round? If yes, when does the Setup-Round ends?

During game Hills of Dunland is in play:

Does Sam's response trigger each time an enemy engaged Sam this way?
Edited by JanB

Yes, "Engaging ennemies" and "Being engaged by ennemies" is the same.

Sam effect is a response (not mandatory) without any limit (once for each time the condition is met)

Setup last until the first phase. So the first ressource phase.

Be carefull, you can't «store» his readying effect. If 3 ennemies engage you immediatly, you will be able to ready him 3 times, but you can't really do anything between, so the 2 other readying effect will be lost.

Edited by alogos

Be aware that the stats remain until endo of round not phase....

So if you use his response in setup, he will get those stats even in combat or questing

When a encounter card says something like: 'put X enemy engaged with you'... Sam boosts? Is there any difference between 'engage X enemy' or 'put into game engaged with you'?

From FAQ, p. 13:

Q: If an enemy is put into play directly engaged with me, has that enemy “engaged” me for the purposes Forced effects or Responses that trigger from engaging an enemy?
A: Yes. An enemy that enters play directly engaged with a player has engaged that player.

ok thanks