Mesmerizing Dance Vs Holding Ground

By Prestonian8, in UFS Rules Q & A

I was wondering whether or not Holding ground's enhance is able to counter Mesmerizing Dance's Enhance ability.

Mesmerizing Dance says:

E Commit, discard 1 momentum: This attack may only be blocked by cards that share at least 1 resource symbol with it.

Holding ground's Enhance says:

Destroy this foundation: This attack may be blocked as normal. Its zone is returned to its printed zone. If unblockable it is no longer unblockable. Any effects that would prevent blocking are canceled.

The last sentence of holding ground can be debatable. Mesmerizing dance is not preventing blocking, it is just simply just limiting your options for what you can block with. Clearly you can still block; you just have to have something with at least 1 resource symbol with it. If holding ground is able to cancel out mesmerizing dance then it is just like saying that "oh that speed/difficulty is too high which prevents me from blocking it so let me cancel that effect". Any input on this would be greatly appreciated.

yes it will stop it.

Prestonian8 said:

I was wondering whether or not Holding ground's enhance is able to counter Mesmerizing Dance's Enhance ability.

Mesmerizing Dance says:

E Commit, discard 1 momentum: This attack may only be blocked by cards that share at least 1 resource symbol with it.

Holding ground's Enhance says:

Destroy this foundation: This attack may be blocked as normal. Its zone is returned to its printed zone. If unblockable it is no longer unblockable. Any effects that would prevent blocking are canceled.

The last sentence of holding ground can be debatable. Mesmerizing dance is not preventing blocking, it is just simply just limiting your options for what you can block with. Clearly you can still block; you just have to have something with at least 1 resource symbol with it. If holding ground is able to cancel out mesmerizing dance then it is just like saying that "oh that speed/difficulty is too high which prevents me from blocking it so let me cancel that effect". Any input on this would be greatly appreciated.

the reason that holding ground can stop its effects is because it restricting your blocking abilities

just because the speed is to high doesnt mean that you cant attempt to block it with any cards you just cant pass the control check

Why would you say Mesmerising Dance doesn't "prevent blocking"? no, seriously, why would you say something like that?

You're cutting out roughly 3/4ths of potential cards that could block the attack. But, no, you're definitely not preventing blocking...

Tagrineth said:

Why would you say Mesmerising Dance doesn't "prevent blocking"? no, seriously, why would you say something like that?

You're cutting out roughly 3/4ths of potential cards that could block the attack. But, no, you're definitely not preventing blocking...

now tag you know what hes saying it doesnt say hey you cant block me haha good game it just limits you on what you can and cant block with which isnt the same a preventing it all together

you know im not even goin to say what i wanted 2 out of respect for whoever posted this as so to not turn his thread into an arguement

Da_ghetto_gamer said:

now tag you know what hes saying it doesnt say hey you cant block me haha good game it just limits you on what you can and cant block with which isnt the same a preventing it all together

you know im not even goin to say what i wanted 2 out of respect for whoever posted this as so to not turn his thread into an arguement

"You can only block with X" is the same thing as saying "you may not block with A-W or Y-Z".

The problem is the card is too loosely defined.

"Any effects that would prevent blocking."

So I have one card in hand (with a block for the sake of argument). I enhance w/ HG.

My opponent makes me discard a card.

That's certainly an effect that would prevent me from blocking. Is it canceled?

Or... my opponent's attack is unblockable. I enhance with HG. He enhances w/ Dirty Pool. Is his DP enhance cancled?

Or... I have broken my resource chain and can't block w/ the card I have in my hand. I enhance w/ HG, can I now block with my "off-resource" card?

This is almost as bad as the whole "Legal" shenanigans w/ headstrong.

Oh... here's another good one...

I skullduggery to reveal the top card of my deck, it's a six (what I need to block the attack), my opponent has a BRT so I enhance w/ HG. Now when I block if he prevents me from blocking successfully by BRTing my block his BRT is cancled right?

Why would effects played after Holding Ground's Enhance be stopped by HG? That's three of your four points outright shut down. With regard to your resource chain, your resource chain is not an effect.

2.9.2.6 Effects of Enhances continue until the attack has fully resolved unless
otherwise specified.

...that's the most boneheaded justification I've ever seen. Kudos, you've officially driven me back out of this cesspool once again.

Holding Ground only cancels stuff that's in effect when it resolves. That's like saying you can't make an attack unblockable again after your opponent Enhances it with Empire's Ruin, or you can't increase an attack's damage once it's been Enhanced with, say, Healer, since Healer's Enhance says its damage is now its printed value and "[continues] until the attack has fully resolved".

Oh well, see ya next month when I inevitably want to see if this place is still awful.

Classy Tag.

Like always.

Maybe if you didn't resort to insults right off the bat this place wouldn't seem so much like a cesspool to you.

Like a fiend, I can't keep myself away long. God, I read forums too much.

You're one of the few people I insult on Q&A, asslum. Frankly, you drive the rules team off the wall with about half your posts in Q&A. Brian and Omar can't stand you either. Seeing your name as the latest post in any Q&A thread, at least for me, always elicits an "oh god, what NOW" reaction from me at least.

Maybe if you didn't disagree for the sake of disagreeing, using weak/faulty logic or the most painfully rules-lawyer hiccups in ultra-specific wording so bloody often, you'd elicit a more positive response from me.

In any case, I didn't insult you right off the bat this time. Unless you take sarcasm and mild condescention as an immediate insult... in which case you need thicker skin. Particularly in this thread, I wasn't even that condescending.

and TBH the cesspool comment was more aimed at General Discussion, which I try to avoid most of the time anyway.