Ranged attacks and doors? And a few other questions...

By Intys Rule, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

We came to this interesting situation today.

The Imperial player has a Stormtrooper that wants to shoot down a door. The figure is 4 spaces from the door and the door is actually on the line between space 4 and 5 (and not ON space 4). The Imperial player rolls and gets 4 on accuracy. We ruled that since it was able to reach space 4 but not space 5, it was a miss.... according to the rules on page 11 of the Rules Reference book, the "spaces that share an edge with a door are ..... considered to be adjacent to that door." Since he was able to only reach space 4 which is an adjacent space, he missed his attack.

Was this ruling correct?

********************

As for spending surges, do we have to decide what to spend the surges on before the Imperial player (or vice versa) rolls for defense? This really doesn't matter much when rolling black defense dice but what if rolling a white defense dice and the attacking player decides to spend surges to increase [damage] points then the defending player manages to roll a [dodge]....

********************

With regards to deployment... on the Aftermath mission, we waited until the last Rebel player to open the door. The Imperial player did not have any more units that could activate after the Rebel player at this point. However, when the door was opened, he was able to deploy an E-Web, Stormtroopers, and an Imperial Officer. As all Rebel player has activated, he then proceeded to activate these three units, being able to move and shoot before the end of that round, at which point the door was closed again.

We just played the Under Siege mission and at the end of Round 6, he deployed Darth Vader and again proceeded to activate Vader and double-moved him towards the Rebels. He also did this at the end of Round 4 wherein he brought in some Stormtroopers and started shooting the nearest door, moving the troopers as needed to gain LoS.

My question is --- can he activate units which has been deployed by virtue of being in the mission description (as opposed to him deploying them during Step 3 on the Campaign Status Phase [page 11, Learn to Play booklet])?

********************

We managed to get Luke as an ally.... can we choose to bring Luke with us on EACH and EVERY mission afterwards? Can Luke perform the Rest action?

********************

At the end of the second Side Mission, we can pick upgrades from Tier 1 & 2 Items, and later on, after the fourth Side mission, we can pick upgrades from Tier 2 and 3. What does that mean exactly? Do we draw 6 Tier 1 cards and 6 Tier 2 cards? Do we draw 3 Tier 1 cards and 3 Tier 2 cards? Do we shuffle the Tier 1 cards and Tier 2 cards and just draw 6 cards from that "combined" deck?

********************

Can heroes sell their starting items? If so, how much would they be worth?

********************

Can a hero spend as many surges as he can to recover 1 strain per surge or can he only spend 1 surge per attack? Can a hero that has no strain token still do this an heal 1 damage?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Doors ruling was incorrect:

"Attacking Objects" RRG, Page 6:

When attacking a door, using an ability that affects a door, or counting spaces to a door, the door is considered to be occupying each space with which it shares an edge.

Surges are spent AFTER all dice are rolled, re-rolled, and modified

"Attacks" RRG, Page 5, "Steps of an attack" (truncated)

1) Declare Target

2) Roll Dice

3) Rerolls

4) Apply modifiers

5) Spend Surges

6) Check accuracy

7) Apply damage

Figures can be activated the turn they are deployed, unless a mission condition or other game rule states they cannot. So in the above situation for aftermath, your Empire player did it correctly. Missions are full of surprises, most of them are not good for the rebellion.

You can bring Luke as an ally on any mission that does not disallow that specific ally (mission will state that either "certain" allies cannot be taken, or that "no" allies can be taken). Taking an ally allows the Empire player to gain additional threat equal to the deployment cost of the ally and allows a single optional deployment at the beginning of the game.

"Allies", RRG, Page 5:

Rebel allies are not heroes. During their activation, they cannot interact with crates or rest. Rebel allies can perform only one attack each activation, and follow all other rules for non-hero figures.

"Rebel Upgrade Stage", RRG, Page 21

  • If more than one Item deck is listed on the campaign log, players shuffle and draw six cards from each deck.
  • Item cards without a credit cost can be sold for the heroes to receive 50 credits.

A hero can only spend ONE surge per attack to recover strain. If the hero has no strain, he/she may recover one damage instead.

"Surges", RRG, Page 24:

  • During a campaign, a hero performing an attack may spend 1 (surge) to recover 1 (damage).
  • Each (surge) ability can be triggered only once per attack.
Edited by Fizz

1. I would have allowed 4 to hit (and we had the same when we played aftermath). I could be wrong on this one!

2. Defense die is rolled at the same time as attack dice. Then reroll. Then apply modifiers. Then spend surges. :)

3. The imperial player did the right thing. The deployments come in ready to activate. DON'T OPEN DOORS OR ACTIVATE MISSION PROGRESS ON YOUR LAST ACTIVATION/ACTION! :)

4. Luke cannot rest as he is not a "hero" but a deployment card. He also has no endurance. You can use Luke on every mission unless the mission forbids the use of allies or Luke specifically (rare). In these cases you will usually have some interaction with the said ally in other ways during the mission. Remember that his deployment cost is directly given as threat to the imperial player.

5. Draw 6 cards of each specified Tier deck. I.e. if the campaign log says Tier 1 & 2 you will draw 6 Tier 1 and 6 Tier 2 cards.

6. EDITED!!!! Items can be sold!!! RRG p. 21 for details. My bad!

7. The surge ability to recover strain (or health if the hero is not strained) can only be used once per attack.

Edited by Krankenstein

Fizz used Quick Draw to interrupt!

We came to this interesting situation today.

The Imperial player has a Stormtrooper that wants to shoot down a door. The figure is 4 spaces from the door and the door is actually on the line between space 4 and 5 (and not ON space 4). The Imperial player rolls and gets 4 on accuracy. We ruled that since it was able to reach space 4 but not space 5, it was a miss.... according to the rules on page 11 of the Rules Reference book, the "spaces that share an edge with a door are ..... considered to be adjacent to that door." Since he was able to only reach space 4 which is an adjacent space, he missed his attack.

Was this ruling correct?

============================

Fizz pointed out, that the door occupies both spaces for purposes of attacking it.

********************

As for spending surges, do we have to decide what to spend the surges on before the Imperial player (or vice versa) rolls for defense? This really doesn't matter much when rolling black defense dice but what if rolling a white defense dice and the attacking player decides to spend surges to increase [damage] points then the defending player manages to roll a [dodge]....

=======================

In the RRG under ATTACKS, the steps of an attack say the attacker and defender roll the dice at the SAME time. Then rerolls are done if allowed, then apply modifiers such as evades to remove a surge. Then the next step is to spend surges (if any are left). Rolling a dodge basically causes the attack to miss, which means the defender suffers no damage, even if you apply surge damage.

********************

With regards to deployment... on the Aftermath mission, we waited until the last Rebel player to open the door. The Imperial player did not have any more units that could activate after the Rebel player at this point. However, when the door was opened, he was able to deploy an E-Web, Stormtroopers, and an Imperial Officer. As all Rebel player has activated, he then proceeded to activate these three units, being able to move and shoot before the end of that round, at which point the door was closed again.

We just played the Under Siege mission and at the end of Round 6, he deployed Darth Vader and again proceeded to activate Vader and double-moved him towards the Rebels. He also did this at the end of Round 4 wherein he brought in some Stormtroopers and started shooting the nearest door, moving the troopers as needed to gain LoS.

My question is --- can he activate units which has been deployed by virtue of being in the mission description (as opposed to him deploying them during Step 3 on the Campaign Status Phase [page 11, Learn to Play booklet])?

===========================

When you deploy new troops during events and such, they come into play in the ready position unless otherwise stated and can perform all their moves/actions.

********************

We managed to get Luke as an ally.... can we choose to bring Luke with us on EACH and EVERY mission afterwards? Can Luke perform the Rest action?

==================

You can bring him to each and every mission (unless the mission specifically says no allies, or no Luke). But when you use him on a mission, the imperial player immediately gets threat equal to his deployment cost (10 I think?), and they can spend it to bring out additional troops. Only heroes (not allies) can perform the rest action.

********************

At the end of the second Side Mission, we can pick upgrades from Tier 1 & 2 Items, and later on, after the fourth Side mission, we can pick upgrades from Tier 2 and 3. What does that mean exactly? Do we draw 6 Tier 1 cards and 6 Tier 2 cards? Do we draw 3 Tier 1 cards and 3 Tier 2 cards? Do we shuffle the Tier 1 cards and Tier 2 cards and just draw 6 cards from that "combined" deck?

=====================

Apparently 6 of each!.

********************

Can heroes sell their starting items? If so, how much would they be worth?

========================

Fizz pointed out you can sell them for 50 credits.

********************

Can a hero spend as many surges as he can to recover 1 strain per surge or can he only spend 1 surge per attack? Can a hero that has no strain token still do this an heal 1 damage?

===============================

From the RRG:

"• During a campaign, a hero performing an attack may spend 1(surge)to recover 1(strain). Limit once per attack."

So no, only one strain per attack may be used.

I do believe I've read on here that you can use it to heal damage if you have no strain.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Hope that at least helps a bit. Need some more clarification on some of them.

Edited by Pacoman

Yeah.. he's fast... lol

Eidetic (photographic) memory is quite helpful in these situations. There is a reason I was always Dungeonmaster, GM, Overlord, or now, Defender of the grand and glorious First Galactic Empire.

Too bad in my old age it seems to be slipping....

Edited by Fizz

I was wrong on the item selling point. Sorry! Check p. 21 on the RRG for details. Well I know a bunch of rebel scum that will be happy to hear this...

Edited by Krankenstein

I was wrong on the item selling point. Sorry! Check p. 21 on the RRG for details. Well I know a bunch of rebel scum that will be happy to hear this...

I was just going to call you on that Krankenstein!

Edited by Fizz

Thanks for that clarfication! Pointing out where the rules are for our own reference helps massively as well!

The Imperial player will be delighted to hear this, although with the number of times he's missed, he may wish to keep the ruling for the rest of the game for "fairness." :D

Just trying to clear the cobwebs:

Under Siege mission, p.27 of the Campaign guide. At the end of Round 6.... Deploy the reserved Darth Vader.

So that means Vader comes in and can do two action immediately? If so, then it truly is an "OH SH1T!!" moment!

Well it's the end of the round so no figures can do any actions. He will just be Ready for the next round.

Edited by Pacoman

Right?

Let's stick with the Under Siege/Vader example. He wouldn't be able to do anything other than be deployed until his activation in Turn 7 correct? The conditions for his deployment is the 'end of round 6' after all.

Right?

Let's stick with the Under Siege/Vader example. He wouldn't be able to do anything other than be deployed until his activation in Turn 7 correct? The conditions for his deployment is the 'end of round 6' after all.

In this case, yes, this is correct.

There are two phases in a round, an "Activation Phase" (which continues until all models are activated) and a "Status Phase" (which consists of various cleanup and prep tasks).

Vader's deployment happens in Step 4) End of Round Effects in the Status Phase, so he would not get an activation until the Empire player chose to activate him in the next Activation Phase (in Round 7).

Note that this means that figures deployed during the activation phase due to mission effects (such as the door opening in Aftermath), are immediately "ready" for use.

Edited by Fizz

Thanks for making that distinction clear. I am glad we played both Aftermath and Under Siege correctly.