Reaper Expansion

By Bullyscaggs, in Talisman Rules Questions

If a player encounters the Reaper, and rolls a 5, can he then have the reaper attack a character who is in the Crown of Command?

Nope! Ran into this a lot with Danse Macabre ending, GR is already in Inner Region.

Generally in Talisman, if you're instructed to do something, but you can't, you do nothing instead. If you roll a 5 on the Reaper, but all other characters are in the Inner Region, then you do nothing. It's a broad generalization, and of course there are exceptions that have to be taken on a case-by-case basis.

Regarding the Danse Macabre ending, I believe a character on the Crown of Command can choose to send the Reaper to a character in the Inner Region. The ending card says "any" Region is allowed. Once the Reaper is in the Inner Region, he can move in that Region like a character if someone rolls a "1," but if he moves to the Portal of Power then he cannot cross back unless someone on the Crown activates him and sends him to a character in the Inner Region.

Those aren't printed rules regarding Danse Macabre, but it's how the Digital Edition handles it, and I think it works well. It's quite scary to see the Reaper chase you into the Inner Region where you're normally safe from him.

Edited by Artaterxes