Deployment Question

By Charmy, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hey folks,

So I was playing Fly Solo the other night with my friends, and we ran into an issue on the last turn of the map.

Basically, Han Solo was about to escape on our next turn, and it all came down to how the Imperial player deployed on his turn. He used 15 threat all at once to place a Nexu, a Royal Guard squad and a Probe Droid all at the same deployment area in the following configuration:

http://postimg.org/image/ponlaep6x/

Thus blocking Han's escape by forcing him to spend extra movement to go through the Nexu. Victory was just one movement point away!

However, we argued that the rules state that he must place his figures as close as possible to the deployment area, and thus he must place his units like so:

http://postimg.org/image/h0c2tjdln/

which would allow Han to escape. He is arguing that his Nexu placement is still within the same # of squares from the deployment zone as the other one, meaning both are legal. We are arguing that he should have to have as many squares of his Nexu closer to the deployment zone as possible and thus he has to place it the second way.

Which one of us is correct?

On a side note, he ultimately decided to simply place the units in a different order: Droid first, then Nexu, then Royal Guards, and placed one of the Royal Guard diagonally in the square that blocked Han, meaning we Rebels lost anyway.. but I'd still like to know the answer to this question..

Thanks guys!

Edited by Charmy

I would say that the both deployments are correct.

If you count out the distance to the * deployment point,

[ * ][1]
[1][1]
[ 2 ] [ 2 ] [ 2 ]
[ 3 ][ 3 ][ 3 ]
[_][_][_]

[_][_]

=================

IMPORTANT NOTE:

=================

This post has been edited because I made a math error. Both deployments are valid assuming the nexu cannot fit in any of the "1" spaces due to figures occupying them.

Edited by Fizz

We play that to be "closest", you must place the first unit ON the deployment square. Then, adjacent until those are full and then 2 spaces and so on.

as Fizz said, the second one would be the correct form. they must be the closer they can to the active deployment point

Actually the first one would be acceptable also, as per the RRG appendix 2, page 27.

When a large figure is placed, either by deployment or an ability such as “Pounce,” locate a space (11) indicated by deployment or the ability. One space of the large figure's base is placed in the located space, and the remainder of its base may be placed in any orientation relative to that space (12), following placement rules (such as not placing in spaces containing figures).

Just one square of him is needed for deployment purposes.

Actually the first one would be acceptable also, as per the RRG appendix 2, page 27.

When a large figure is placed, either by deployment or an ability such as “Pounce,” locate a space (11) indicated by deployment or the ability. One space of the large figure's base is placed in the located space, and the remainder of its base may be placed in any orientation relative to that space (12), following placement rules (such as not placing in spaces containing figures).

Just one square of him is needed for deployment purposes.

I disagree, since the rules for deployment specifically state "as close to the possible". Option one is not "as close as possible", as I have shown in my diagram, option two is closer.

"Deployment", RRG, Page 11:

When a player deploys figures, he places the Deployment card faceup and in the ready position on the table. Then, he places all figures from that group in and as close as possible to the location indicated by the campaign guide or deployment zone.

Edited by Fizz

I (and the RRG) disagree! I would say either square is 2 spaces away from the deployment spot? So why would you not be able to choose either?

And you specifically said in your earlier post that both are 2* away from the deployment spot.

You ONLY count one spot for his deployment or placement area, the rest you can place in ANY orientation.

• When a large figure is placed, either by deployment or an ability such as “Pounce,” locate a space (11) indicated by deployment or the ability. One space of the large figure's base is placed in the located space, and the remainder of its base may be placed in any orientation relative to that space (12), following placement rules (such as not placing in spaces containing figures).

Remember, this is a LARGE unit, and has special rules for it. Just like an E-Web, you can place one square in a 2, then orient it outwards to cover a 3 spot also. (according to your earlier diagram!

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/imperial-assault/support/SWI01_Rules_Reference.pdf

For reference in case you aren't by your RRG. :)

Edited by Pacoman

Yes, the RRG states:

One space of the large figure's base is placed in the located space, and the remainder of its base may be placed in any orientation relative to that space (12), following placement rules (such as not placing in spaces containing figures).

but you completely ignore the part where it says:

following placement rules (such as not placing in spaces containing figures).

Thus, you are ignoring the part where (the RRG says!) you must attempt to deploy it as close as possible. Yes, I understand this is a large figure, but this is not Descent. They have retooled how large figures work. You can't read one rule and ignore the other.

"Appendix II" RRG, Page 27 shows an example of placement via pounce, which gives the Nexu that extra space of movement as it chooses a space with 3 squares and it then placed on the table and then "expands" into adjacent spaces ala Descent. In that example, the only "placement rules" that need to be taken into account are if there are figures in those spaces since the Nexu is Mobile. But when you are deploying, you have a point of reference (ie the deployment point), which adds the additional stipulation that you must deploy as close as possible to it.

Edited by Fizz

He is within 2 spaces, either location. You are ignoring the fact you only have to use ONE of his FOUR squares to determine where he can be placed. The part where it says following placement rules, means you can't put him over walls.

Place

Many effects place figures or tokens on specific spaces of the map. • When a figure on the map is placed, it is removed from its current space and then placed where indicated. • Placing a figure in a space requires no movement points. • A player cannot choose to place a figure in a space where it cannot end its movement, such as in a space containing another figure, blocking terrain, or impassible terrain. • When a figure is placed, it enters the space(s) where it is placed.

Placement rules are there to stop you from overlapping stuff you can't.

Placement rules are also there so that you don't deploy or reinforce halfway across the map.

This difference between your argument and mine is simple: My argument takes into account ALL the rules on Large Figures, Placement, Occupy, Counting Spaces & Deploy, and then extrapolates from all those factors which logical permutation can satisfy all those conditions. Whereas your argument focuses solely on satisfying the "one space" rule.

If only there were a way to break your perceived stalemate...

Edited by Fizz

Actually, it does not, because page 27, is an APPENDIX, means it is appending to the rules because it needs clarification for large figures. And by your "logic" the imperial would have to place the NEXU first, in the corner, and then the small figures, otherwise they would be "deploying halfway across the map"

I would allow both deployments. Distance from the deployment point to Nexu, is the same on both accounts. And the way I understand RRG logic is that you only use ONE method of counting spaces/distances.

I do understand that the Nexu is "more closer" (bad english) in the second deployment, but the distance is still the same.

Problem is that extending the way to count spaces for "as close as possible" can lead to a rule debate where resolving several deployments to one spot will be enforced in a "tetris" like fashion so that "as close as possible" follows the letter of the rule to the extreme forcing the player to deploy in a silly way.

Interesting question and example! :)

Edited by Krankenstein

But I love Tetris!

Fizzgrid™ Technology now supports Tetris!


||||

||||
[_]
[_]

[_]

[_]

[_][_][_][_][_][_][_][_][_] [_]
[_][_][_] [_] [_] [_][_] [_] [_] [_]
[_] [_][_] [_][_] [_] [_][_] [_] [_]
[_] [_][_] [_] [_] [_][_] [_][_] [_]

Edited by Fizz

Fizz, Why is your diagram like this?

[*] [1]

[1] [1]

[2] [2] [ 3 ]

[3] [3] [3]

I feel like the Bolded 3 would be a 2, thus making both deployments just as close

[*] [1]

[1] [1]

[2] [2] [ 2 ]

[3] [3] [3]

Fizz, Why is your diagram like this?

[*] [1]

[1] [1]

[2] [2] [ 3 ]

[3] [3] [3]

I feel like the Bolded 3 would be a 2, thus making both deployments just as close

[*] [1]

[1] [1]

[2] [2] [ 2 ]

[3] [3] [3]

See, now it's that kind of bad math that just invalidates my whole argument.

I hang my head in shame at the fact that I cannot count.

I apologize to those I may have confused in this post.

Edited by Fizz

I've got another deployment question as I will be manning Aftermath for the first time. When the door first opens, figures get deployed to the Storage room. To clarify, does this mean they can go on any open square on just the large tile, 22b, don't include the small attached tile, 36b? I tried to find boundary rules for rooms but no luck. Seems silly that the small tile wouldn't be part of the Storage room.

Also, I'm assuming I don't have to be closest to any deployment point as this deployment is specified.

The "storage room" is that large 4x4 tile, 22B. I would say that you can deploy to any of those 16 spaces since it calls out that particular tile, but not on any attached tiles.

And you are correct, you don't need to deploy closest to a deployment point in that case, since the mission rules state you deploy to the storage room.