Dunwich horror adding doom?

By Lord_Squinty, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Hi all.

Got my first game with Dunwich horror expansion in a few hours and have a quick question.

Rules cor Dunwich Horror say "each time it moves, there is a chance that another doom token os added to the ancient one's doom track"

I cant find what determines if a doom is added or not.

Or is this badly worded and I always adds a doom?

Thanks in advance for any help.

The clarification is found on the monster marker for the Dunwich Horror:

"Instead of moving, roll a die. On a 4-6, add a doom token to the doom track."

I won't reveal which movement symbol the Horror follows, since I wouldn't want to spoil all the fun!

Yup. As general rule of thumb, monsters whose chit has a green border follow special movement rules that are always explained on the back of the chit (core game has this done for Chthonian, for instance, and Dunwich adds Colours out of Space). The fact that the Dunwich Horror could add doom is mentioned in the rules to warn players not to underestimate the brutality of that monster

Thanks for that.

Didn't think to look at the monster marker - doh!

We didn't use the dunwich board in the end.

We ended up with 6 players, 3 of which hadn't played before so we just played core with the expanded cards.

You've done wisely, 3 newcomers are better helped with only the core board in.

Hope they enjoyed the game!