Reach and terminals.

By player1823837, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi! I submitted a question to FFG about using reach to attack terminals since this was a debate a while back. Not sure if this issue was already solved but here is the answer I got.

Unfortunately, I still won’t give a direct answer to this, as it is going to be addressed in the forthcoming FAQ. Once that has been published, I’ll email you with the answers that will be found within that document.

Thanks,

Justin Kemppainen

Assistant Board Game Manager

Fantasy Flight Games

So it will be addressed in the upcoming FAQ. :)

Read: "We're not sure either....we'll get back to you on that!" Added to FAQ post.

Edited by Fizz

Read: "We're not sure either....we'll get back to you on that!" Added to FAQ post.

I at least hope that's what it is. Taken another way they could be taking a stance that they're not really answering questions any more except in FAQ form.

I'm not sure why this is an issue (although it probably has something to do with how attacks are written in the rule book of course) but it seems fairly straightforward. If you have reach and you can attack something, including doors/terminals, then you should be able to reach them. If you have to test, you have to be adjacent.

It makes zero sense for you to be able to attack a terminal as part of a condition for advancement but not be able to hit it with a baseball bat or a long ax, instead you have to punch it open? I mean c'mon.

Yep, we've had this same argument.

Does it make sense that Reach should work against objects? Yes it does.

Do the RAW support this? No they do not.

Hence the need for a ruling. Was is something FFG missed or is this an intentional game design mechanic?

Hi,

If my character has a reach ability, what is the maximum distance she/he is allowed to use a cleave ability? May I cleave one space further than "adjacent"?

RRG p.8 says:

"The chosen figure or object must be an eligible target. For
example, for a melee attack (without Reach), the chosen figure
must be adjacent to the attacker."

Hi,

If my character has a reach ability, what is the maximum distance she/he is allowed to use a cleave ability? May I cleave one space further than "adjacent"?

RRG p.8 says:

"The chosen figure or object must be an eligible target. For
example, for a melee attack (without Reach), the chosen figure
must be adjacent to the attacker."

This looks like a job for Fizzgrid™ Technology!

[ R ][ R ][ R ][ R ][ R ]

[ R ][ A ][ A ][ A ][ R ]

[ R ] [ A ] [G] [ A ] [ R ]

[ R ][ A ][ A ][ A ][ R ]

[ R ][ R ][ R ][ R ][ R ]

G = Gaarkhan, the attacker with Reach

A = Adjacent spaces

R = Spaces legal to be hit with Reach.

"Cleave", RRG, Page 8 states:

The Cleave keyword appears on some cards. If the target of this figure’s attack suffers one or more (damage), the attacker may choose a different hostile figure or object that he could target for an attack.

So, as long as you can legally target them with a standard attack, they are a viable target for Cleave.

A better example:

[_][ 2 ][_][_][_]

[_][_][_][_][_]

[G] [ 1 ] [ 4 ] [_] [_]

[_][ 3 ][_][_][_]

[_][_][_][_][_]

G = Gaarkhan (with Reach) is attacking target "1".

Both "2" and "3" are legal Cleave targets. However, "4" is not. Even though it is within reach range, is not a valid target due to LOS (yes, melee attacks *with reach against non-adjacent targets* need LOS, they just don't require Accuracy).

Edits for stupid white background. Fix your **** CSS, Webmaster!

Edited by Fizz

Both "2" and "3" are legal Cleave targets. However, "4" is not. Even though it is within reach range, is not a valid target due to LOS (yes, melee attacks need LOS, they just don't require Accuracy).

Edits for stupid white background. Fix your **** CSS, Webmaster!

Melee attacks only require Adjacency, reach attacks however do require LOS.

That has no distinction in this particular example, but could be important for something else.

Edited out my mistake, forgot to type "with reach against non-adjacent targets".

"Appendix I", RRG, Page 26 shows and excellent example of two spaces that are next to each other, but are not adjacent for purposes of melee attacks without reach, but the figures can draw LOS to each other for ranged attacks.

Edited by Fizz

From the FAQ:

The first sentence of “Reach” on page 21 should read:

“A figure with this keyword may perform [Melee] attacks that target figures or objects up to 2 spaces away.”

(Bolded the added text)