Demuth's Sponsorship

By babelfish666, in UFS Rules Q & A

Right Demuth's says

"R commit: After an attack you completely block resolves, reveal the top card of your deck. If it is an attack, play it as a reversal (no control check necessary). Otherwise, add that card to your momentum. You may only play once copy of this ability per attack."

Right now as far as i am aware for attacks there is, the enhance step, block step, damage step, reversal step, resolved. So the way i am reading this is i can completely block an attack, play a reversal during the reversal step, and then once that is done and the attack resolves, i can then react with Demuth's to potentially play another attack as a reversal for free.

Is this correct?

I beleive because it says to play the attack as a reversal, it gets played during the reversal step, therefore you can't play another reversal.

Also, I beleive you can't respond after playing a reversal either.

no only one attack may be played to each block as a reversal, there was one foundation called compassionate herosim that would let you play another reversal if you last one was unblocked and delt damage

This is a case where the card creates a situation that breaks the rules, Demuth will allow you to play a second reversal, outside of the reversal step. (see flowing strikes)

But flowing strikes doesn't use the "as a reversal" wording, and it's clearly designed to play an additional attack anyway (since the text says so explicitly). Demuth's doesn't actually say it's letting you play an additional attack as a reversal (like Sakura3 or Chun-Li...uh...4?). There's no reason the card should Golden Rule an additional attack as a reversal .

If Demuth's just said "play the Reversal" then yeah, it'd let you play another one.

I think I remember reading something about this elsewhere. It's a matter of timing. The reversal from hand happens before Demuth's "Attack you completely blocked resolves"

Opponent attacks, you completely block, calculate damage, you then reverse at the final step before attack resolution. After your reversal resolves, you then hit the trigger for Demuth's because the attack that you completely blocked has finally fully resolved.

Am I right on this, or do I have it totally wrong?

DoctorAlbertWily said:

I think I remember reading something about this elsewhere. It's a matter of timing. The reversal from hand happens before Demuth's "Attack you completely blocked resolves"

Opponent attacks, you completely block, calculate damage, you then reverse at the final step before attack resolution. After your reversal resolves, you then hit the trigger for Demuth's because the attack that you completely blocked has finally fully resolved.

Am I right on this, or do I have it totally wrong?

Doctor AW - you get yourself a stamp.

Holy hell Demuth's is amazing then...

So, I'm a little confused, because I think Tag said one thing, and Antigoth said the opposite. Is there an agreement on the ruling?

Steel said:

So, I'm a little confused, because I think Tag said one thing, and Antigoth said the opposite. Is there an agreement on the ruling?

Tag and I are talking about different things. My ruling still stands.

He's noting that flowing strikes allows you to play a second reversal, if it is a reversal. Where as Demuth's plays any attack as a reversal. Additionally he's ruling it not matching card text against the AGR.

This is one of the interactions where the AGR has changed how a card works.

So we can double reverse with Demuth's?

Yes

Actually i also want to check, but i am assuming that :.:Blanka:.: works in the exact same way as Demuth's am i right?

babelfish666 said:

Actually i also want to check, but i am assuming that :.:Blanka:.: works in the exact same way as Demuth's am i right?

Yup. Please note... that is likely to change with the September AGR revision.