Newbie questions

By JGilrain, in Warhammer: Diskwars

So my eleven yo son and I sat down to play the learning scenario. We were unable to finish because of some unresolved rules questions.

First, my assumption is that ranged attack damage occurs during the Activation Phase and carry over to the Melee phase if it doesn't cause a wound. If it does cause a wound to a target disk that has no stamina is that disk then removed from play during the Activation phase?

Also, would it matter if that target disk is otherwise embattled, (pinned or pinning)? Is it still removed and the disk it was pinning is then free to move?

Same thing with Impact... is impact damage immediate during the Activation phase and will an Activation phase wound immediately remove a disk from play?

Again regarding impact... If I move a disk with Impact so that it ends the move pinning two disks, does the Impact damage/wounds apply to both pinned disks? And, what if those disks are already embattled?

Finally (for the moment) can a Command card ability that empowers a disk within range of a Hero target the Hero disk itself?

Thanks in advance for some guidance. He and I are both looking forward to another crack at the game.

So an old article/preview in the newsfeed for this game called Slings, Arrows, Spells and Cannon Fire answered all but my last question. The answers for anyone else looking for this information is found under the section Keyword Abilities. Wish they had included this info in the rules or first FAQ, but there it is.

So my remaining question for the moment is can a command card ability that empowers a disk within range of a Hero target the Hero itself?

Thanks.

Edited by JGilrain

i was told yes.

So an old article/preview in the newsfeed for this game called Slings, Arrows, Spells and Cannon Fire answered all but my last question. The answers for anyone else looking for this information is found under the section Keyword Abilities. Wish they had included this info in the rules or first FAQ, but there it is.

So my remaining question for the moment is can a command card ability that empowers a disk within range of a Hero target the Hero itself?

Thanks.

Yes, a disk is always within range of itself.

By the way, I don't know if you've looked through the rest of these threads, but Sniper Troll has an awesome blog about this game. It goes into everything, from the basic rules, army building, advanced strategy, and battle reports. Here's the link, in case you've missed it. His blog is certain to answer 90% of the questions about the game you might have.

https://snipertroll.wordpress.com/

Thanks everyone for those answers...