Pounce then attack? (Nexu)

By teajay33, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Can you technically use the special move then attack? Or would that be considered two attacks?

Never mind yes you can. Found it:)

2 attacks? no. you can't Pounce in your first action, and then attack in your second action.

RRG page 6 "a figure that has a Deployment card can use only ONE of its actions to attack per activation. This includes using special actions that involve performing one or more attacks (such as the Nexu's "Pounce" or Darth Vader's "Brutality")"

Boo!

Actually, Pounce state you *MAY* attack, not *MUST* attack. So if you're just using the Pounce for some goofy movement to get into a better position and you don't attack, then using a standard attack is legal.

What is illegal is using Pounce to attack, and then using a second action to attack.

Actually, Pounce state you *MAY* attack, not *MUST* attack. So if you're just using the Pounce for some goofy movement to get into a better position and you don't attack, then using a standard attack is legal.

What is illegal is using Pounce to attack, and then using a second action to attack.

Or you could use your first action to move, then pounce to move and attack, giving the rebels a really nasty surprise....

Something that moves 9 squares and then bites your face off is something to be feared.

Edited by Fizz

Something that moves 9 squares and then bites your face off is something to be feared.

Who's a good kitty? yes you are, yes you arrrrrghhhhhhh!

:wacko:

:lol:

Actually, Pounce state you *MAY* attack, not *MUST* attack. So if you're just using the Pounce for some goofy movement to get into a better position and you don't attack, then using a standard attack is legal.

What is illegal is using Pounce to attack, and then using a second action to attack.

Even I don't know a situation to use this combination in this order, I am wondering that this is legal. However, in this interpretation you do an action and after you have done it, you count it to your "number of attacks" if it involved an attack, or do I missunderstand something?

On the other hand I think that doing an attack and then Pounce, (and this combination can be different to attack and move), is not legal since Pounce "may" involve an attack and you have already done one attack. Or is this legal too if you do not attack with the pounce in the second action?

There really isn't a situation that this would happen, if the pounce movement would put you in range to attack, you're most likely going to attack.

As long as you don't attack twice, it is legal. Therefore, you may use pounce in this manner, as pounce does not force you to attack. You're just probably not going to.

Edited by Fizz

Ok thanks, learned something new ;)

There really isn't a situation that this would happen, if the pounce movement would put you in range to attack, you're most likely going to attack.

As long as you don't attack twice, it is legal. Therefore, you may use pounce in this manner, as pounce does not force you to attack. You're just probably not going to.

What about if you want to pounce the Nexu through a small narrow opening it can't normally move through since it is a large figure? Maybe there is no such map so far, but that's the only case I could think of where you will pounce without attacking.

You might start your Nexu's activation adjacent to a hostile figure that you want to attack. You can attack and then pounce around a corner and end up in a spot that would require 7 or 8 movement points.

Nexu is Mobile, the figure being in the way would not matter.

What about if you want to pounce the Nexu through a small narrow opening it can't normally move through since it is a large figure? Maybe there is no such map so far, but that's the only case I could think of where you will pounce without attacking.

If you move around the edge of a wall you get an extra space with pounce due to large figures being unable to move diagonally. I'm sure there are other situation where diagonal movement vs orthogonal movement will end up with a difference.

I knew someone would find a reason. :)

I played around, and I think the longest you can get with move and pounce is the equivalent of 12 move on the nexu (around a wall)