Few questions regarding routed units
Rulebook, Page 21
3. Retreats and Routing
After suffering casualties, the losing army must retreat from
the embattled area (supporting units do not retreat.)
After retreating, all retreated units are placed on their sides to
signify they are now routed.
Yes, all retreated units (attacker or defender) are Routed.
Page 16
4. Clean Up
All remaining Support and Defense Orders are now removed
from the game board and all routed units are stood to their
upright position
Routed units are "un-Routed" at the end of Action Phase.
Edited by kauai1964Brasil,
Welcome to the forum! kauai has provided you with an answer that hopefully satisfies your question. The rules are actually written fairly well for an FFG product (I'm a long-time player of Arkham Horror).
Cheers,
Joe
Thank you for the fast response! It seems I've lost myself in the rulebook. So ship units are also retreated and routed. Another question popped out to me - when a ship or a group of ships march in another sea area with enemy ships a combat occurs, right? And whoever loses retreats to an adjacent sea and routs, am I right? I'm sure this one isn't in the rulebook, there was only one place where it said "ship combats" and nothing more regarding them.
Rulebook, Page 15:
Whenever a player marches one or more of his units into an
area containing units from another House, combat ensues.
Ships are units, so yes, Combat occurs - likewise Retreats and Routing.
Thanks again! And my last question, cause I know I'm surely getting boring - when player uses ship to march to enemy territory and therefore he initiates combat, does the combat strenght of the ship (1) count in the initial combat strenght? And if not, what's the way to use ship's strenght in this battle? Maybe put a support order in the sea where the ship is positioned and use it in the forthcoming combat, because ships can support land battles, right? Hope my questions are not too stupid. Best regards!
The ship's combat strength adds to the initial combat strength, yes.
P. 18 (my emphasis):
"[initial Combat Strength] includes all Combat Strength bestowed from the following sources:
* Attacking/Defending units (such as ships)
* Defense order bonus (for the defender only)
* March order bonus/penalty (for the attacker only)
* Supporting units (ships, for instance) and Special Support Order bonuses
* Garrison token "
Ships are units and behave just like any other units in combat, with the exception of being able to march on water and supporting combat on either water or land.
Are you asking about using a Ship to TRANSPORT a Land Unit to an area with enemy units? If so, the Ship may only Support, because Ships cannot move into Land Areas.
Are you asking about using a Ship to TRANSPORT a Land Unit to an area with enemy units? If so, the Ship may only Support, because Ships cannot move into Land Areas.
And let's not forget that land units can't support combat happening on water.
Yes, I think that's the case. Let's say I'm playing with Martell and I have a knight in Sunspear. My ship is in East Summer Sea and I want to march to Storms End. There resides an enemy Knight unit, let's say Baratheon's. I put a March order in Sunspear and use the ship to march and initiate combat. Does the 1 point of the ship count in the Initial Combat Strenght or I should place additional Support order to the ship in East Summer Sea so that I can attack with 3 points?
PS: And a question concerning Patchface card - is Patchface card played no matter what the end of the battle is? Thanks again to you all!
Oh. Well, in that case you need a support order on the ship to add to the combat strength. Units in adjacent areas to the combat can only add their strength with support tokens. Supporting units are part of the initial combat strength however (see my above post).
Can't remember Patchface's ability at the moment and don't have the box at hand I'm afraid.
"After Combat, you may look at your opponent's hand and discard one card of your choice."
This happens no matter who wins the Combat.
"After Combat, you may look at your opponent's hand and discard one card of your choice."
This happens no matter who wins the Combat.
This is correct.
This is what makes this card so powerful. I usually use this card in a combat that I know I will lose, just to upset the plans of the most dangerous opponent.
For an example sake, let say that Lannister is the "dangerous opponent", Greyjoy is the underdog and I am playing Baratheon. When I sense that a clash is imminent between House Greyjoy and House Lannister, I may use one of my march orders to randomly march a single footman in an occupied Lannister territory. I would then use my Patchface House card to remove the 4 Combat force card or the second strongest of House Lannister. It is usually enough to turn a victory to a shameful defeat.
Note : If the opponent has played his last House card in the combat, you can choose to discard any of his six House card. This was clarified in the FAQ. See below.
Q: If the Baratheon player plays his “Patchface” House card but his opponent is playing his last remaining House card, does the Baratheon player still get to discard one of his opponent’s House cards?
A: Yes, Patchface’s text ability would allow the Baratheon player to discard one of his opponent’s six House cards at the end of the Combat Clean Up step.
Edited by GuillaumericherThanks again! And my last question, cause I know I'm surely getting boring - when player uses ship to march to enemy territory and therefore he initiates combat, does the combat strenght of the ship (1) count in the initial combat strenght? And if not, what's the way to use ship's strenght in this battle? Maybe put a support order in the sea where the ship is positioned and use it in the forthcoming combat, because ships can support land battles, right? Hope my questions are not too stupid. Best regards!
Friendly ships in a sea space adjacent to the embattled area only add combat strength if there is a support order placed in the sea space containing said ships, the ships do not add combat strength to the attack on an adjacent land space simply by virtue of transporting land units to an embattled land space.
Thank you all for your clarifying answers! I feel more confident about the rules we're playing thanks to you!