Defense against Blast or Cleave

By Salcor, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Is there any defence against blast?

The 2 point Fenn blast is horrendous - basic stormtroopers are hardly worth placing on the map!

Don't put them next to each other whenever possible?

Don't put them next to each other whenever possible?

This right here. Learn to interrupt their movement if you are trying to use their "When adjacent to another trooper..." ability. Move up to adjacency, fire, move out of adjacency.

Ok, I have a question about Blast.

I get that Blast affects hostile and friendlies alike that are adjacent to the target.

But I am confused by "targeting a large figure."

It's states: If the target is a large figure, Blast only affects figures adjacent to the targeted space, and does not affect the target figure.

Isn't that how Blast works for all targeted figures, regardless of size?

Rule states: "Blast causes each figure and object adjacent to the target to suffer damage equal to value"

Am I missing something?

The point of that is that you don't get to blast a huge area by shooting a big figure. A small figure has 8 spaces that are adjacent to it. An E-Web or Wampa has 10 spaces adjacent to it; a Nexu, 12; an AT-ST, 14. But the blast doesn't get bigger just because you shot an AT-ST. And the part about it not affecting the target figure is so you don't get rules lawyers arguing that hitting the broadside of an AT-ST with Blast 2 should deal 10 extra damage (because the blast extends into 5 other spaces of the AT-ST).

It means that a large figure cannot receive the effect of the blast and the direct impact at the sime time, because if you attack to a space of a large figure, the other spaces of the same miniature would be affected by the blast, too. So in this case, only other figures adjacent to the targeted space would be affected by the blast.

Oh, I think I get it now. The attacker is targeting the space on the large figure base!

The spaces adjacent to that targeted space are affected by the Blast damage, but not the original targeted figure. No double damage to large figure...

Is that correct?

Now if that is correct, can you decide what space to target on the large base to get Blast damage on adjacent spaces that are occupied by opossing forces? I would assume so.

Edited by Lord Vapor

You choose what space you're targeting when you declare the attack. You can choose any space you have line of sight to as your target, but you have to choose it before rolling the dice.

Ok, that's very clear.

Thanks for helping me understand the rule!