Defense against Blast or Cleave

By Salcor, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

So my friends and played the tutorial and aftermath last night. During the game we encounter a rule we were not sure we were executing correctly. If Blast or Cleave is used against a storm trooper with 2 others nearby, do the other unigsnget.to roll their defense or do they just take the damage?

Salcor

They just take the amount of "Blast X" or "Cleave X" damage (where the damage is equal to X), with no defense roll. Note that Cleave only affects one additional legal target, while blast affects all targets in a 9-square block with the target at the center.

Blast example: Target is "T", Blast affected squares marked "o".

[_][_][_][_][_]

[_][ o ][ o ][ o ][_]

[_][ o ][ T ][ o ][_]

[_][ o ][ o ][ o ][_]

[_][_][_][_][_]

Cleave example: "A" is attacker, "T" is Target, "o" is legal cleave victim:

[_][_][_][_][_]

[_][_][_][_][_]

[_][ o ][ T ][ o ][_]

[_][ o ][ A ][ o ][_]

[_][ o ][ o ][ o ][_]

Note: Above example does not take REACH into account.

"Cleave" RRG, Page 8:

The (damage) suffered by Cleave is not prevented by (block).

"Blast" RRG, Page 7:

The (damage) suffered by Blast is not prevented by (block).

Edited by Fizz

Good Formulas and diagrams Fizz!

Thanks. I thought we had done it right but I wanted to check.

Salcor

This may be a stupid question but there is a thing that I did not fully understand yet.

If a figure is attacked with blast 1, all the adjacent targets receive 1 damage but does the targeted figure itself receive 1 damage in addition to the normal damage of the attack or is the target itself excluded from blast damage?

Only the adjacent targets are affected by Blast damage, never the original target. See below:

Blast example: Target is "T", Blast affected squares marked "o".

[_][_][_][_][_]

[_][ o ][ o ][ o ][_]

[_][ o ][ T ][ o ][_]

[_][ o ][ o ][ o ][_]

[_][_][_][_][_]

Edited by Fizz

And always remember blast affects objects and friendly figures as well!

You only roll defense for attacks, not when you are dealt damage in other ways.

Another follow-up question: If the attacker using Blast is adjacent to the target, does he suffer one damage as well? I guess the attacker could be considered a friendly figure to himself. ^^

Edited by Soapy

If the attacker is adjacent he will be affected as well. Blast only cares about whats adjacent to the targeted space not if its friendly or hostile.

Here is a good question.

If the target of the initial attack is standing on a space that contains an objective object that can be damaged, is it (the object) immune to the blast since it is not "adjacent".

We played it as yes (example terminals in aftermath) a stormtrooper is standing on a terminal. Fin hits him, and blasts, the terminal takes no blast. Also that means the terminal does not receive the +1 defense for an adjacent imperial figure correct?

Edited by Kilazar

Under Attacking Objects:

The Blast and Cleave keywords can affect objects. If a figure is in the same space as the token, the figure and token are considered adjacent for the purposes of Blast and Cleave.

Means yes you can blast or cleave the terminal if a figure is standing on it..

Here is a good question.

If the target of the initial attack is standing on a space that contains an objective object that can be damaged, is it (the object) immune to the blast since it is not "adjacent".

We played it as yes (example terminals in aftermath) a stormtrooper is standing on a terminal. Fin hits him, and blasts, the terminal takes no blast. Also that means the terminal does not receive the +1 defense for an adjacent imperial figure correct?

the figure and the terminal are considered adjacent, and blast and cleave can be applied.

also the +1 block bonus to the terminal is applied, but not to prevent damage from blast

RRG page 6 "Attacking objects"

Objects such as terminal tokens and crates are odd ducks, because they do not block LOS, figure movement and figures can end their movement in the same space as the terminal or crate.

Under "Interact", RRG, Page 15 it states:

A figure must be in the same space as or adjacent to a token in order to interact with it.

To me, this says that there is a difference between "same space" and "adjacent". Furthermore, under "Attacking Objects", RRG, Page 6 it states:

If a figure is in the same space as the token, the figure and token are targeted for attacks independently. Neither the figure nor the token block line of sight to the other.

However, specifically under "Attacking Objects" it states:

The Blast and Cleave keywords can affect objects. If a figure is in the same space as the token, the figure and token are considered adjacent for the purposes of Blast and Cleave.

Edited by Fizz

Ok so for blast and cleave it is clear that same space = adjacent.

But the rest of the wording does not state that for purposes of receiving the defense bonus, same space = adjacent. In fact it makes it sound like the adjacency is ONLY for blast/cleave.

Ok so for blast and cleave it is clear that same space = adjacent.

But the rest of the wording does not state that for purposes of receiving the defense bonus, same space = adjacent. In fact it makes it sound like the adjacency is ONLY for blast/cleave.

blast ONLY affects to adjacents. RRG page 7 "Blast" so if being in the same space is considered adjacent to effects like blast and cleave, then they should be considered adjacents for other purposes. Blast and cleave are general rules, the block bonus is a specific rule from a mission in the campaign. here we need to apply some logic. If we need a text explaining every possible situation during a game then we would need a 400 pages RRG. in Aftermath imperial figures give +1 block to adjacent terminals. being in the same space as the terminal doesn't make the imperial figure to be transparent, they "keep protecting" the terminal as good soldiers from the Empire they are.. if not, Vader will know... :P

Edited by Roolakhol

Ok so for blast and cleave it is clear that same space = adjacent.

But the rest of the wording does not state that for purposes of receiving the defense bonus, same space = adjacent. In fact it makes it sound like the adjacency is ONLY for blast/cleave.

blast ONLY affects to adjacents. RRG page 7 "Blast" so if being in the same space is considered adjacent to effects like blast and cleave, then they should be considered adjacents for other purposes. Blast and cleave are general rules, the block bonus is a specific rule from a mission in the campaign.

*should be*

But remember, RAW also states that Reach doesn't work against doors and objects either. More loopholes in the rules we are finding. I am guessing this will need a clarification too.

Edited by Fizz

Yeah Fizz. a FAQ or errata pdf would be very appreciated. we found a lot of things that need to be clarified. Probably for next expansion (Hoth? :D xD) they clarify all fo this in a new RRG

They'll need to clarify it much sooner, probably before the tournaments.

The +1 from adjacent imperial would not apply to the terminal in the case of blast or cleave since that damage cannot be negated in any case.

If you attack the figure on the terminal, you blast the terminal for Blast X

If you attack the terminal, you can blast the figure for Blast X, but the terminal would get +1 to it's roll, as per the quest rules.

Actually, blast and cleave damage just flat out cannot be negated by any source.

The +1 from adjacent imperial would not apply to the terminal in the case of blast or cleave since that damage cannot be negated in any case.

If you attack the figure on the terminal, you blast the terminal for Blast X

If you attack the terminal, you can blast the figure for Blast X, but the terminal would get +1 to it's roll, as per the quest rules.

The question was not in regards to protecting the terminal from blast. It was checking to see if the adjacency portion of blast cleave rolls over to other adjacency required instances. But RAW looks like it is specifically for blast/cleave, and not for something like the +1 defense in Aftermath.

Actually, blast and cleave damage just flat out cannot be negated by any source.

Yes, in my quote, the second portion is if you're attacking the terminal, and using the Blast to hit the Imperial standing on it.

The imperial can't reduce the Blast amount but because the figure is "adjacent" to the terminal, the terminal would get the stated bonus to it's defence against the attack that causes the blast.

Question:

A hero targets a enemy figure that is standing next to an adjacent terminal and an adjacent crate with a range weapon. He hits and uses blast 1. The terminal takes 1 damage ignoring defense and the crate is an object as well so will it take 1 damage but never blow up since there is no mention of HP for a crate. Is this correct? This is happening in the Aftermath mission. What if a door was adjacent to the target would it also take a damage but never blow open as well?

I guess I’m uncertain as to if objects have an innate HP value or if its only when the campaign book mentions a HP value for the object and otherwise they cant be damaged and you would just not bother putting any counters on them. Or to make it more immersive you could apply damage tokens to them but it really would just have no affect on the object.

Objects can only take damage if the mission says so. I have yet to see a mission where crates take damage in the campaign.