Follow me

By Mndela, in Rules questions & answers

This is the card:

Follow-Me.jpg

I have thought a question: for example in planning --> can you return to play cards if the player before your turn play this event?

This is the example:

1st player plays

2nd player plays

you (3rd player) plays

4th player plays

...during the turn of the 4th player, 2nd player plays this event

the question is: he can return to play another turn of planning phase? and after you also?

Edited by Mndela

I would say no based on the same logic that states, if a player is defeated during the staging, you do not draw less cards, as the number of cards to draw was checked at the beginning of the staging step.

Along similar lines I would say that the play order in the planning phase is checked at-the-start-of-the-phase/when-the-first-player-begins and thus will not be altered during the phase by this card.

This is quite interesting... but I fear nerdmeister is right, no trying to lock the game in a perpetual never ending planning phase this time, I suppose...

I couldn't find any wording or anything in the rule book that makes it obvious that this does not work. The closest thing that I found was the way they wrote out the Turn Sequence. Here is how it looks:

  • First player plays ally and attachment cards.
    • Player actions
  • Next player plays ally and attachment cards, etc.
    • Player actions

The fact that they specified First player as a separate part of the turn sequence makes it seem like once that portion is completed and you've moved on to the "next player", it no longer matters who the first player is.

I'm going to ask Caleb, though.

Caleb says:

The planning phase ends after the last player has played his turn and all players pass on taking further planning actions. If a player (other than the current first player) plays Follow Me during the planning phase, then the last player position changes and play will continue normally until that player has played his turn. That would allow players to have extra turns during the planning phase.

Cheers,
Caleb

Soooo, YES. You can use Follow Me to manipulate the number of times a person can play cards for the planning phase.

Woooohoooo! Party time!!! Omg... After 2 days of last faq and a new card is broken. ^^ (joke).

But very nice to hear it. Shalling just now to building new decks around this card. :P

I'm thinking.... lol. Omg!!!

For example in 4 players: enemies are attacking. 2nd, 3rd and 4th player have engaged a lot of enemies that they can't defend (sure they all die). When first player starts to defend, 2nd player plays Follow me, then 1st player (old first player) becomes last player. So after he defends, the defending step phase ends (it is like if all enemies were feinted, instead 2nd player starts to defend, he will start to attack ^^).

I'm missing something?

Edited by Mndela

If Follow Me allows players in the planning phase to have extra turns, playing the card in the combat phase should have a similar effect by just netting you even more attacks from enemies as I see it.

Hum. You'll be right Nerdmeister, but the thing Mndela described is a bit more complicated and well thought.

* 1st player is resolving attack agains him

* 2nd player interupt this, mid-action, by playing Follow-me!

* 1st player become last player

* the now last player finish to resolve the attack againt him (it was in mid-action)

* the now last player now check that all his ennemies have attacked.

But no. In the rules, it doesn't say to stop at the last player, only when all enemies have attacked :

The first player then repeats these 4 steps for each
enemy that he is engaged with. After the first player has
resolved all enemy attacks against himself, the player
to his left resolves the attacks his enemies are making
against him, following steps 1-4 in turn for each enemy.
If playing with more than 2 players, proceed clockwise
around the table with each player resolving all of his
enemies’ attacks.

Possibly you can "pass" an "Enemies attacking Player"-Step ....

- First Player resolves all enemy attacks against him

- Before 2nd Player resovles his enemy attacks, he plays "Follow me!", so he becomes the First Player.

- Next Turn is on 2nd Player ... so the new 1st Player will be "passed".

alogos said: "...only when all enemies have attacked"

sure? so if you play westfolder when your turn of defending is past, enemies return to attack till the enemy brought by wesfolder resolved his attack?

Note: in planning phase the words are the same that in defending step. so the meaning of the both texts are the same

Edited by Mndela

Good point... this was point out has a legal feint...

Well, it seems that the rule need an extension then.

Note : the words are definitly not the same.

I don't understand why Caleb say that we can use follow me! to expense planning phase. But we don't see anything about who play last in planning phase so he just clarify this. Why not.

Rules are clear about combat phase: you need to resolve every enemy attack before go further it the game. So follow me! will never work as a feint.

I recently read an opposite ruling of Caleb:

Quote


Hi Chris, In the planning phase, each player has 1 opportunity to play allies and attachments, starting with the first player and proceeding clockwise. Once each player has had the opportunity to play and passed, the planning phase ends. If someone plays Follow Me! it does not grant extra opportunities to play allies and attachments. Play continues to proceed clockwise until each player has had their opportunity. If you take control of the first player token after you had your opportunity to play cards, play will automatically proceed through player order until it reaches a player who has not passed. Once all players have had their opportunity and passed, the phase ends. Cheers, Caleb

Would really be nice if they took the time to compile all these haphazard dev responses into the official FAQ... would be an ideal way to avoid contradictions.

Copy, paste, done.