New Player with some rules questions

By The Expanding Man, in Battlelore

HI all.

A couple of rules queries.

If I play a card that, for example, allows commands to 2 units in a flank, and I only have 1 unit, can I order that unit twice?

If I roll for combat and score no hits, but roll a retreat flag, does the unit still retreat, even though it has suffered no casualties?

Thanks.

The Expanding Man said:

HI all.

A couple of rules queries.

If I play a card that, for example, allows commands to 2 units in a flank, and I only have 1 unit, can I order that unit twice?

If I roll for combat and score no hits, but roll a retreat flag, does the unit still retreat, even though it has suffered no casualties?

Thanks.

Pending the arrival of Coltsfan...
1- You can't order the same unit twice some cards allow two actions such as darken the sky but they are still only ordered the once (Coltsfan will be able to recite chapter and verse)
2- Yes it would retreat, think along the lines of the unit got intimidated and withdrew before blows were struck

Chris

The Expanding Man said:

If I roll for combat and score no hits, but roll a retreat flag, does the unit still retreat, even though it has suffered no casualties?

As long as the unit is not bold. Any unit with two friendly units adjacent to it is considered bold and does not have to retreat if one flag is rolled against it. If two flags are rolled and the unit is bold then it ignores the first flag but must retreat one hex for the second flag. Also, creatures and dwarves are automatically bold and don't need support from other units. If I remember right Mounted Knights (from one of the expansions) are also bold.

1. No, only one order per unit (unless specifically stated on the card such as Darken the Sky ). Page 13 of the rules: You may only give one order to each unit during the course of a single game turn.

2. As stated above, you need to consider other items such as Bold or Support. However, this is a common question across the C&C series. A retreat result is independent of any other die roll. In other words, you do not need to score a hit also in order for the retreat flag to count. It is possible to force a unit to retreat without taking any hits.

Thanks everyone.

Another question.

A unit is in the woods. It is attacked by a unit where a card is played that requires 1 d extra on attacks.

Which takes precedence? The woods rule that says attacks mx 2 d, or the card that would allow 3 d (2 d restriction for being in woods + 1 d because of the card played) on the attack?

The Expanding Man said:

Thanks everyone.

Another question.

A unit is in the woods. It is attacked by a unit where a card is played that requires 1 d extra on attacks.

Which takes precedence? The woods rule that says attacks mx 2 d, or the card that would allow 3 d (2 d restriction for being in woods + 1 d because of the card played) on the attack?

We always play that three dice would be roled. Two for the woods restriction and one more for the card being played.

The rules are a bit misleading on this subject. Instead of "Max Dice" when attacking into the Wooded Terrain, think "Base Dice." Your "base dice," no matter what type of unit you are, is TWO. Then add any card effects. In this case +1. So you woud roll 3 dice total.