Fog on the Barrow-downs
That is pretty cool. I really want to get these POD scenarios, but sadly it's impossible for me to get them where I live. Does anyone know if FFG ships overseas to non-stores?
Yeah, i think you can order from their online shop.
But the taxes can be equal to the price of the POD you buy.
I simulated a few times....
I bet this will be our "news article" for this month......
FFG ships overseas but their postage rates are insane. Buying off stores on Ebay is like half the price and they usually get to you faster as well.
I bet this will be our "news article" for this month......
Yup.
I bet this will be our "news article" for this month......
Yup.
Pretty **** annoying when you already have the pack and spoilers came out for it SO long ago >=(
I for one am very excited to get this, as I was not able to participate in the Fellowship Event. It's ordered! Woot!
I have played it in 2 players. And it is very very hard. First try we lost, second try we won with our most challenge decks, and still i dont know how we win (cause of a lot of goodlucky)!
PD: Tom Bombadil is forced to be revealed at least one time if you want to win. ^^
Oh man Tom helps so much! Also agree pretty **** tough quest, especially if you have to clear 2 or more great barrows which is almost every time!
In the almost quests you know the last round before winning (i speak about the last 'commiting', when everybody commits all their characters -in plan: run you fools-). However, this quest is impossible to know it, if a Barrow is revealed, it could broke all your game.
Hmm, this brings up an interesting rules question in trying to think of ways to avoid the Great Barrow, does a card that is immune to player card effects have that immunity while it is in the encounter deck? I'm thinking specifically of whether it would be valid to use Celduin Traveler to discard an upcoming Great Barrow that is on top of the encounter deck. I'm thinking you could do this and immunity only takes effect when it enters play.
Edited by Raven1015Ofc they don't have immunity while they're in the deck, keywords only active while they're in play.
Hmm, this brings up an interesting rules question in trying to think of ways to avoid the Great Barrow, does a card that is immune to player card effects have that immunity while it is in the encounter deck? I'm thinking specifically of whether it would be valid to use Celduin Traveler to discard an upcoming Great Barrow that is on top of the encounter deck. I'm thinking you could do this and immunity only takes effect when it enters play.
I believe there's a case in the FAQ where they established this.
Hmm, this brings up an interesting rules question in trying to think of ways to avoid the Great Barrow, does a card that is immune to player card effects have that immunity while it is in the encounter deck? I'm thinking specifically of whether it would be valid to use Celduin Traveler to discard an upcoming Great Barrow that is on top of the encounter deck. I'm thinking you could do this and immunity only takes effect when it enters play.
I believe there's a case in the FAQ where they established this.
The nearest case, if I recall correctly, is the Beorn/Fortune or Fate situation where Beorn is not immune while he is in the discard pile.
As I said in the original post, I think the obvious ruling is that immunity doesn't apply since they're not in play. However, the obvious can't always be taken for granted, as we've seen before. The question is, does a card's text become active during the small window of time when you "look" at it through an effect and before you put it back into the deck. Or is it as if that text isn't even there?
This guy throws up a weird rules situation, although the intent of it is crystal clear:
The Ravenous Hawk is just like Hidden Cache. In normal situations, their abilities aren't active but since the cards specifically mention when they would be used, they are implicitly using the golden rule to say that they are special cases where their abilities trigger during a time when they normally would not. Abilities are NOT "normally" active while they are in the deck.
Hmm, this brings up an interesting rules question in trying to think of ways to avoid the Great Barrow, does a card that is immune to player card effects have that immunity while it is in the encounter deck? I'm thinking specifically of whether it would be valid to use Celduin Traveler to discard an upcoming Great Barrow that is on top of the encounter deck. I'm thinking you could do this and immunity only takes effect when it enters play.
I believe there's a case in the FAQ where they established this.
The nearest case, if I recall correctly, is the Beorn/Fortune or Fate situation where Beorn is not immune while he is in the discard pile.
As I said in the original post, I think the obvious ruling is that immunity doesn't apply since they're not in play. However, the obvious can't always be taken for granted, as we've seen before. The question is, does a card's text become active during the small window of time when you "look" at it through an effect and before you put it back into the deck. Or is it as if that text isn't even there?
This guy throws up a weird rules situation, although the intent of it is crystal clear:
![]()
Or
MAYBE
the ability is active only if a copy of Ravenous Hawk is in play, and any other copies scried in the encounter deck would then enter play.
Nope.
Hmm, this brings up an interesting rules question in trying to think of ways to avoid the Great Barrow, does a card that is immune to player card effects have that immunity while it is in the encounter deck? I'm thinking specifically of whether it would be valid to use Celduin Traveler to discard an upcoming Great Barrow that is on top of the encounter deck. I'm thinking you could do this and immunity only takes effect when it enters play.
I believe there's a case in the FAQ where they established this.
The nearest case, if I recall correctly, is the Beorn/Fortune or Fate situation where Beorn is not immune while he is in the discard pile.
As I said in the original post, I think the obvious ruling is that immunity doesn't apply since they're not in play. However, the obvious can't always be taken for granted, as we've seen before. The question is, does a card's text become active during the small window of time when you "look" at it through an effect and before you put it back into the deck. Or is it as if that text isn't even there?
This guy throws up a weird rules situation, although the intent of it is crystal clear:
![]()
Or MAYBE the ability is active only if a copy of Ravenous Hawk is in play, and any other copies scried in the encounter deck would then enter play.
![]()
Most certainly not. There is a ruling that if a card mentions the title of a card and it matches its own title that it only refers to itself. Nice try though.
Forced and Resolution (campaign mode cards) are cards that triggers even when they are in decks, out of play. Immune, however, doesnt.
Edited by MndelaI've been trying to win this wioth a Merry (tac), Pippin (Lor), Treebeard deck, mostly with ents, very light on attachments and no threat reduction (I know, I will never win, but just for fun)
I came on the very awkward moment when ... my threat 49, stage 3B, I have already a Great Barrow (as well as the standing stones) on victory display, need only two progress, empty staging area and quest with a power of 13 (oh yes), there is only one ******* great barrow on the encounter deck (among around 20 cards) and I draw it ... after surviving the panick attack, I assume I must again make a new 4a stage and offcourse lose the quest at the end of the round, right?
This is what I did , and lost, but just ask to be sure ... what a way to lose the quest
Yep, I hate that. Those moments when you draw exactly the 1 card that will steal away your victory. Still, that's what makes winning all the sweeter.
Played it yesterday with a friend on our LotR Saga Campaign
During the planning phase I played Elrond ally card (discards at the end of the round).
Then on staging we draw
I decided to put Elrond there. Since he is a phase down ally, does he discard at the end of the round, or stays there and when to location is explored, he returns till the end of that round?
I discarded him while he was facedown, but I am not sure if this was correct. I just prefered to choose what was hard for me
The text of facedown allies is not active, right? I would have left him there.
At the end of the round he comes back he would go to the discard pile I imagine.