Quick question:
Let's say the Imperial Player is attacking someone and rolls 3 surges.
Can he spend all 3 of them to gain focus, get plus 1 to hit/damage and get plus 2 to accuracy?
Quick question:
Let's say the Imperial Player is attacking someone and rolls 3 surges.
Can he spend all 3 of them to gain focus, get plus 1 to hit/damage and get plus 2 to accuracy?
Attacking with the Imperial Officer I meant to say.
You can only use each surge ability once per attack. So the Imperial Officer can use one to focus, but not the other two. He could still use the other two to get +2 accuracy and +1 damage.
Also, you can't double up on conditions. You can have multiple conditions, but only one of each. Yet another reason why he couldn't double focus.
Finally, the rule limiting figures to using each surge ability only once per attack also counts toward heroes' ability to use one surge to recover one strain.
Ok thanks a bunch!
Another question, kind of along the same lines:
Fenn Signis can use 1 strain while attacking with a ranged weapon to gain 1 damage.
Can he use this multiple times during one attack?
Can he use it twice per activation?
Each ability can only be used once per attack. And Fenn's ability is an 'ability'.
Another question, kind of along the same lines:
Fenn Signis can use 1 strain while attacking with a ranged weapon to gain 1 damage.
Can he use this multiple times during one attack?
Can he use it twice per activation?
If you mean his ability on his hero card then that is blast damage not just damage. Blast damage does not hit the target of the initial attack. It hits anything adjacent to the target (friend or foe) these targets do not get defence die nor do they relieve any natural block to the damage. This ability can be activated once per attack providing he has not reached his strain threshold.
Ah, I see. Thanks guys! (Or girls)
Related question:
E-Web Engineer rolls 4 damage, 2 surges.
Diala Passik rolls a Dodge.
What happens to the two surges? More importantly, which surge effects, if they are not discarded, can the E-Web utilize? Can he heal off of them? Can he do 1 point of damage, since the +1 Damage doesnt require any damage to be done beforehand? (I suppose not).
And, if Diala Passik shoots an Imperial Officer who dodges, can she use one Surge to recover strain?
Diala takes no damage, regardless of what you spend surges on, a dodge cancels ALL damage and prevents triggering abilities that are damage-dependent, such as Blast and Cleave.
One of the surges can still be spent for the E-Web's Recover ability since Recover is not a damage-dependent trigger.
Edited by FizzOk, this is not spending surge, but related... As "spending" is not defined in other dice results can you activate several abilities with one dice result?
For example Jyn Odan; you roll evade for result. As you rolled evade you cancel one surge AND while defending you apply +1(Cunning) Block AND after an attack is resolved, gain 2 movement points (Nimble).
I thought that you can activate one ability per dice result, but I cannot find anything to support it so is this ok as my friend claims?
Ok, this is not spending surge, but related... As "spending" is not defined in other dice results can you activate several abilities with one dice result?
For example Jyn Odan; you roll evade for result. As you rolled evade you cancel one surge AND while defending you apply +1(Cunning) Block AND after an attack is resolved, gain 2 movement points (Nimble).
I thought that you can activate one ability per dice result, but I cannot find anything to support it so is this ok as my friend claims?
Under "Abilities" (pg 2 RRG)
"If an ability is "used", it can be triggered multiple times each round, but it can only be triggered once per timing instance."
So yes, rolling an evade to cancel a surge (which it always does) and applying +1 block ("while defending" is the timing instance) and gain 2 movement points ("after an attack" is the timing instance) is perfectly legal.
Ok, this is not spending surge, but related... As "spending" is not defined in other dice results can you activate several abilities with one dice result?
For example Jyn Odan; you roll evade for result. As you rolled evade you cancel one surge AND while defending you apply +1(Cunning) Block AND after an attack is resolved, gain 2 movement points (Nimble).
I thought that you can activate one ability per dice result, but I cannot find anything to support it so is this ok as my friend claims?
Under "Abilities" (pg 2 RRG)
"If an ability is "used", it can be triggered multiple times each round, but it can only be triggered once per timing instance."
So yes, rolling an evade to cancel a surge (which it always does) and applying +1 block ("while defending" is the timing instance) and gain 2 movement points ("after an attack" is the timing instance) is perfectly legal.
Actually I was worried about activating several abilites with one die roll, but as you do not refer to this I believe there is no such restriction in IA. Meaning for timing instance is clear, that way you cannot activate the same stuff several times on the same attack, but in the next attack it is fine again.
Triggering several abilities with one die result is so powerful trick that I was thinking that if the meaning would have been something like "one ability per opportunity" .ie die result, but yes it looks like she is meant to be that good. At least the Hair Trigger is limited, but Nimble with Cunning combo are unlimited as long as those (futile) attacks keep coming. With two double-tapping Surges she is stunningly (sic) good for 5 points. Ok, no problem.
In Lotr TCG there was a great term "While you can spot X, then..." That would have been clear for me at least; if the result is on the table.
But thanks, I was thinking too far.
Ok, this is not spending surge, but related... As "spending" is not defined in other dice results can you activate several abilities with one dice result?
For example Jyn Odan; you roll evade for result. As you rolled evade you cancel one surge AND while defending you apply +1(Cunning) Block AND after an attack is resolved, gain 2 movement points (Nimble).
I thought that you can activate one ability per dice result, but I cannot find anything to support it so is this ok as my friend claims?
Under "Abilities" (pg 2 RRG)
"If an ability is "used", it can be triggered multiple times each round, but it can only be triggered once per timing instance."
So yes, rolling an evade to cancel a surge (which it always does) and applying +1 block ("while defending" is the timing instance) and gain 2 movement points ("after an attack" is the timing instance) is perfectly legal.
Actually I was worried about activating several abilites with one die roll, but as you do not refer to this I believe there is no such restriction in IA. Meaning for timing instance is clear, that way you cannot activate the same stuff several times on the same attack, but in the next attack it is fine again.
Triggering several abilities with one die result is so powerful trick that I was thinking that if the meaning would have been something like "one ability per opportunity" .ie die result, but yes it looks like she is meant to be that good. At least the Hair Trigger is limited, but Nimble with Cunning combo are unlimited as long as those (futile) attacks keep coming. With two double-tapping Surges she is stunningly (sic) good for 5 points. Ok, no problem.
In Lotr TCG there was a great term "While you can spot X, then..." That would have been clear for me at least; if the result is on the table.
But thanks, I was thinking too far.
The only restrictions are in steps 4 and 5 of an attack (Apply Modifiers and Spend Surges). in Apply Modifiers step, for each evade result, remove a surge result, and in Spend Surges step, for each surge result, you may spend them to trigger surge abilities. These rolls are definitely a one time use. But nothing is stopping you from using passive abilities like Cunning, and other abilities like Nimble when they can be triggered.
If a Hero has no strain but some damage; if he rolls a surge can he spend it to regain a strain (which he has none) thus healing one damage?
Or do you only heal damage that way when resting?
If a Hero has no strain but some damage; if he rolls a surge can he spend it to regain a strain (which he has none) thus healing one damage?
Or do you only heal damage that way when resting?
"Recover" pg 22 RRG
"If a hero recovers more strain than he has suffered, he recovers one damage for each strain he cannot recover."
So yes- he would heal one damage.
Adding on to this - Can I use multiple instances of the same ability multiple times? If garkan has Cleave 2 from a vibro blade, cleave 1 from an attachment and cleave 1 from an XP ability could he then spend multiple surges to activate all of those on his attack?
Adding on to this - Can I use multiple instances of the same ability multiple times? If garkan has Cleave 2 from a vibro blade, cleave 1 from an attachment and cleave 1 from an XP ability could he then spend multiple surges to activate all of those on his attack?
As long as they are from different sources - yes. So in your example, if you are able to pay for all three, you would Gaarkin would have Cleave 4.
Adding on to this - Can I use multiple instances of the same ability multiple times? If garkan has Cleave 2 from a vibro blade, cleave 1 from an attachment and cleave 1 from an XP ability could he then spend multiple surges to activate all of those on his attack?
As long as they are from different sources - yes. So in your example, if you are able to pay for all three, you would Gaarkin would have Cleave 4.
Would they all stack to be Cleave 4, or would it be three different unstackable abilities (Cleave 2, Cleave 1, and Cleave 1)?
There is a difference. A stacked Cleave 4 would have to be used on a single target that would take 4 damage. An unstacked Cleave 2, Cleave 1, and Cleave 1, could all be used on a single target for 4 damage, or could be used on 2 or 3 different targets for 2 damage, 1 damage, and 1 damage.
The RRG doesn't really say if Cleave stacks or not. You could base it off of Pierce, which specifically says multiple Pierce values are added together. But then, Cleave doesn't specifically say this. The Blast keyword could be confused the same way, but so far there isn't an issue. Whether it's an unstacked Blast 2 and Blast 2, or a stacked Blast 4, adjacent figures are still taking 4 damage.
Related question:
E-Web Engineer rolls 4 damage, 2 surges.
Diala Passik rolls a Dodge.
What happens to the two surges? More importantly, which surge effects, if they are not discarded, can the E-Web utilize? Can he heal off of them? Can he do 1 point of damage, since the +1 Damage doesnt require any damage to be done beforehand? (I suppose not).
And, if Diala Passik shoots an Imperial Officer who dodges, can she use one Surge to recover strain?
I had a question about Imperial campaign cards when Dodge is rolled. There is one that resolves after an attack - and the target of the attack takes one damage and one strain. It doesn't say the target had to originally be hit. I assume that the Imperial player could still use this card?
Edited by bneffer
Related question:
E-Web Engineer rolls 4 damage, 2 surges.
Diala Passik rolls a Dodge.
What happens to the two surges? More importantly, which surge effects, if they are not discarded, can the E-Web utilize? Can he heal off of them? Can he do 1 point of damage, since the +1 Damage doesnt require any damage to be done beforehand? (I suppose not).
And, if Diala Passik shoots an Imperial Officer who dodges, can she use one Surge to recover strain?
I had a question about Imperial campaign cards when Dodge is rolled. There is one that resolves after an attack - and the target of the attack takes one damage and one strain. It doesn't say the target had to originally be hit. I assume that the Imperial player could still use this card?
If there's no condition on the card that says they have to take a damage, then I don't see why they would. That card is brutal. That whole imperial deck, actually. So much hate for ST, as a rebel.
I had a question about Imperial campaign cards when Dodge is rolled. There is one that resolves after an attack - and the target of the attack takes one damage and one strain. It doesn't say the target had to originally be hit. I assume that the Imperial player could still use this card?Related question:
E-Web Engineer rolls 4 damage, 2 surges.
Diala Passik rolls a Dodge.
What happens to the two surges? More importantly, which surge effects, if they are not discarded, can the E-Web utilize? Can he heal off of them? Can he do 1 point of damage, since the +1 Damage doesnt require any damage to be done beforehand? (I suppose not).
And, if Diala Passik shoots an Imperial Officer who dodges, can she use one Surge to recover strain?
This card is resolved after an attack. Thus die rolls are not relevant because the attack is over. The card is just assigning a strain and a damage independent of the attack that just happened.
Adding on to this - Can I use multiple instances of the same ability multiple times? If garkan has Cleave 2 from a vibro blade, cleave 1 from an attachment and cleave 1 from an XP ability could he then spend multiple surges to activate all of those on his attack?
As long as they are from different sources - yes. So in your example, if you are able to pay for all three, you would Gaarkin would have Cleave 4.
Would they all stack to be Cleave 4, or would it be three different unstackable abilities (Cleave 2, Cleave 1, and Cleave 1)?
There is a difference. A stacked Cleave 4 would have to be used on a single target that would take 4 damage. An unstacked Cleave 2, Cleave 1, and Cleave 1, could all be used on a single target for 4 damage, or could be used on 2 or 3 different targets for 2 damage, 1 damage, and 1 damage.
The RRG doesn't really say if Cleave stacks or not. You could base it off of Pierce, which specifically says multiple Pierce values are added together. But then, Cleave doesn't specifically say this. The Blast keyword could be confused the same way, but so far there isn't an issue. Whether it's an unstacked Blast 2 and Blast 2, or a stacked Blast 4, adjacent figures are still taking 4 damage.
Each Cleave is a different trigger and ability (for which you possibly have to spend a surge).
So if the Hero has access to:
* Cleave 1
* Cleave 1
* Cleave 2
and enough surges to trigger them all, he can distribute them on any valid targets or pile them all onto one.
Adding on to this - Can I use multiple instances of the same ability multiple times? If garkan has Cleave 2 from a vibro blade, cleave 1 from an attachment and cleave 1 from an XP ability could he then spend multiple surges to activate all of those on his attack?
As long as they are from different sources - yes. So in your example, if you are able to pay for all three, you would Gaarkin would have Cleave 4.
Would they all stack to be Cleave 4, or would it be three different unstackable abilities (Cleave 2, Cleave 1, and Cleave 1)?
There is a difference. A stacked Cleave 4 would have to be used on a single target that would take 4 damage. An unstacked Cleave 2, Cleave 1, and Cleave 1, could all be used on a single target for 4 damage, or could be used on 2 or 3 different targets for 2 damage, 1 damage, and 1 damage.
The RRG doesn't really say if Cleave stacks or not. You could base it off of Pierce, which specifically says multiple Pierce values are added together. But then, Cleave doesn't specifically say this. The Blast keyword could be confused the same way, but so far there isn't an issue. Whether it's an unstacked Blast 2 and Blast 2, or a stacked Blast 4, adjacent figures are still taking 4 damage.
Each Cleave is a different trigger and ability (for which you possibly have to spend a surge).
So if the Hero has access to:
* Cleave 1
* Cleave 1
* Cleave 2
and enough surges to trigger them all, he can distribute them on any valid targets or pile them all onto one.
I thought so. Thank you for clearing that up.