Some Rules Questions

By fred47, in Doom

Hello!

I just got Doom + Expansion and it looks like a great game.
I'm busy now, painting the minis.

I posted this on BGG, but I like to hear some other opinions.

Maybe some experienced players could help me with some rules questions:

1. Diagonal Movement
Can a figure move diagonally between two enemies?
---------------
-----EX-------
-----ME-------

Can M move to space X, between the two Enemies?

2. Invader Cards
How many cards can the Invader Player play per triggering event?
How many of the SAME IDENTICAL cards can the Invader Player play per triggering event?

For example, can I (as the IP) play 2 or more "It's a trap" cards at the same time at the same marine, if this marine has just picked up an item (and therefore I can move 4, 6 or more invaders)?
If the answer is "yes", can I then move the SAME two invaders again and again?

Another example, can I play two (or more) "Earthquake" cards at the start of my turn to move all marines 4, 6, or more spaces?

Last example, can I play 2 Charge/2 Rage cards at the same moment on the same invader (or maybe even all 4 on the same invader)?

(I know about the Descent rule, but in the Descent rulebook it is explicitly mentioned in a separate paragraph that you are limited to 1 card per event.
In Doom there is no such rule.
Therefore it seems that you can play unlimited cards (up to 8, it is) at any instant.)

Anything official on this important topic?

3. Marines Cards
What happens, when a marine player draws the same skill card twice?
Some people say they stack, some say they don't.
My take is, that each skill is unique and therefore can not be aquired twice, i.e. the player must redraw another card.
Is there any OFFICIAL answer for this?

4. Weapons
Can a marine pick up/carry more than ONE weapon of a type (e.g. 2 chainguns, 2 chainsaws, etc.)?
If the answer is "yes", and I have, for example, 2 chainguns, what happens when the IP plays a "Jammed" card on the marine? Can he choose to take the second chaingun for the shot, or must he switch to a different weapon TYPE?

5. Killer Instinct Marine Card
Is the attack mandatory with this skill card, or can I opt to only move the 4 squares (without attacking)?

6. Earthquake Card
When I move a marine because of the "Earthquake" card, what happens with the marines order token? Does it move with the marine?
E.g. if a marine with GUARD is moved by "Earthquake", does the order stoken stays or is it removed?

7. Marine Orders
When do I place the order token during my "Ready" action? Only at the end of movement or at the end of the marines turn?

8. Heal Order
Can a medic marine with a "Ready" Action heal another marine "on the move" and then move further.

9. Picking up tokens
Picking up does not cost movement, but can I move further after picking up a token, or must I end my turn in the token space?

10. Expansion Marine Skill Cards
In the expansion rules it is written, that one should shuffle the new marines cards in the old deck.
Is this true only when playing some of the new(expansion) scenarios, or should I shuffle the new cards in the old deck, even when playing one of the five old scenarios (Scen I-V)?

Thank you!

Fred

Hi

Fred46 said:

1. Diagonal Movement
Can a figure move diagonally between two enemies?
---------------
-----EX-------
-----ME-------

Can M move to space X, between the two Enemies?

That should be perfectly legal, just like moving diagonally between any combination of wall, enemy figure and blocking obstacle (except wall - wall, of course ^^).

Fred46 said:

2. Invader Cards
How many cards can the Invader Player play per triggering event?
How many of the SAME IDENTICAL cards can the Invader Player play per triggering event?

For example, can I (as the IP) play 2 or more "It's a trap" cards at the same time at the same marine, if this marine has just picked up an item (and therefore I can move 4, 6 or more invaders)?
If the answer is "yes", can I then move the SAME two invaders again and again?

Another example, can I play two (or more) "Earthquake" cards at the start of my turn to move all marines 4, 6, or more spaces?

Last example, can I play 2 Charge/2 Rage cards at the same moment on the same invader (or maybe even all 4 on the same invader)?

(I know about the Descent rule, but in the Descent rulebook it is explicitly mentioned in a separate paragraph that you are limited to 1 card per event.
In Doom there is no such rule.
Therefore it seems that you can play unlimited cards (up to 8, it is) at any instant.)

Anything official on this important topic?

As opposed to Descent, the invader player can play as many cards per triggering condition as he wants. I was sure that he cannot play more than one identical card, but cannot find anything in the rules / F.A.Q. that supports this assumption.

Fred46 said:

3. Marines Cards
What happens, when a marine player draws the same skill card twice?
Some people say they stack, some say they don't.
My take is, that each skill is unique and therefore can not be aquired twice, i.e. the player must redraw another card.
Is there any OFFICIAL answer for this?

AfaIk, there is no official answer.

Fred46 said:

4. Weapons
Can a marine pick up/carry more than ONE weapon of a type (e.g. 2 chainguns, 2 chainsaws, etc.)?
If the answer is "yes", and I have, for example, 2 chainguns, what happens when the IP plays a "Jammed" card on the marine? Can he choose to take the second chaingun for the shot, or must he switch to a different weapon TYPE?

You can have more than one weapon of a certain type, and I don't know why all of your shotguns should'nt work just because one of them is jammed. ^^

Fred46 said:

5. Killer Instinct Marine Card
Is the attack mandatory with this skill card, or can I opt to only move the 4 squares (without attacking)?

Attacks are never mandatory, just like spending movement points.

Fred46 said:

6. Earthquake Card
When I move a marine because of the "Earthquake" card, what happens with the marines order token? Does it move with the marine?
E.g. if a marine with GUARD is moved by "Earthquake", does the order stoken stays or is it removed?

There is no rule that you lose your order when being moved, so you keep your guard order. However, you cannot activate your guard order until the invader player finished executing the card (see the timing section on page 11 in the rules). The aim order is lost, since you lose it when you move.

Fred46 said:

7. Marine Orders
When do I place the order token during my "Ready" action? Only at the end of movement or at the end of the marines turn?

You can place it anytime you want, just note that you lose your aim order when you move. gui%C3%B1o.gif

Fred46 said:

8. Heal Order
Can a medic marine with a "Ready" Action heal another marine "on the move" and then move further.

Yes. He can place the order anytime during his turn, and use it whenever he wants (except during attacks).

Fred46 said:

9. Picking up tokens
Picking up does not cost movement, but can I move further after picking up a token, or must I end my turn in the token space?

No rule says picking up an item ends your movement, so of course you don't have to stop.

Fred46 said:

10. Expansion Marine Skill Cards
In the expansion rules it is written, that one should shuffle the new marines cards in the old deck.
Is this true only when playing some of the new(expansion) scenarios, or should I shuffle the new cards in the old deck, even when playing one of the five old scenarios (Scen I-V)?

Edit: The quote should end here - I hate this editor!!!

You don't have to play the new campaign in order to use the new marine cards. It's up to you which components you use, and which not. I would use them anyway for more variety.