Cursed Blood vs Dark Force: Mirage Body

By iceman01, in UFS Rules Q & A

Cursed Blood

R Commit:After your opponents plays a foundation, discard the top card of the deck. If the discarded card is a foundation , add it to your staging area committed. If not, discard 1 foundation from your opponent's card pool and destroy this foundation.

Dark Force: Mirage Body

E: If this attack deals damage, until the end of your next turn, each time a player successfully plays a foundation as a form into thier card pool, add that foundation to that player's staging area.

My question is does Curse Blood get an oppertunity to react to a foundation being played while Dark Force enhance is in effect.

iceman01 said:

Cursed Blood

R Commit:After your opponents plays a foundation, discard the top card of the deck. If the discarded card is a foundation , add it to your staging area committed. If not, discard 1 foundation from your opponent's card pool and destroy this foundation.

Dark Force: Mirage Body

E: If this attack deals damage, until the end of your next turn, each time a player successfully plays a foundation as a form into thier card pool, add that foundation to that player's staging area.

My question is does Curse Blood get an oppertunity to react to a foundation being played while Dark Force enhance is in effect.

No they don't. Floating effects such as DF:MB resolve first.

Antigoth said:

iceman01 said:

Cursed Blood

R Commit:After your opponents plays a foundation, discard the top card of the deck. If the discarded card is a foundation , add it to your staging area committed. If not, discard 1 foundation from your opponent's card pool and destroy this foundation.

Dark Force: Mirage Body

E: If this attack deals damage, until the end of your next turn, each time a player successfully plays a foundation as a form into thier card pool, add that foundation to that player's staging area.

My question is does Curse Blood get an oppertunity to react to a foundation being played while Dark Force enhance is in effect.

No they don't. Floating effects such as DF:MB resolve first.

so why is that, the foundations don't touch the card pool, they go directly to the staging area? that make cursed blood kind of useless. since the foundation has to hit the card pool, the breif point in time that they are there should allow cursed blood a trigger point.

kiit said:

Antigoth said:

iceman01 said:

Cursed Blood

R Commit:After your opponents plays a foundation, discard the top card of the deck. If the discarded card is a foundation , add it to your staging area committed. If not, discard 1 foundation from your opponent's card pool and destroy this foundation.

Dark Force: Mirage Body

E: If this attack deals damage, until the end of your next turn, each time a player successfully plays a foundation as a form into thier card pool, add that foundation to that player's staging area.

My question is does Curse Blood get an oppertunity to react to a foundation being played while Dark Force enhance is in effect.

No they don't. Floating effects such as DF:MB resolve first.

so why is that, the foundations don't touch the card pool, they go directly to the staging area? that make cursed blood kind of useless. since the foundation has to hit the card pool, the breif point in time that they are there should allow cursed blood a trigger point.

how does that make it useless? granted its not as effective against DF decks but how many of those are running around anways

kiit said:


so why is that, the foundations don't touch the card pool, they go directly to the staging area? that make cursed blood kind of useless. since the foundation has to hit the card pool, the breif point in time that they are there should allow cursed blood a trigger point.

When in doubt as to why the game functions a certain way, lets look at the rules.

Dark Force Mirage's E creates a continuous effect.

2.10.3 Continuous abilities may reference a specific game event. The ability will only begin resolving once that event takes place. (For example, if a continuous ability states “After your opponent plays an attack, draw 1 card.” The player will only draw 1 card due to this continuous ability after the event of their opponent playing an attack takes place.)

Because 2.10.3 states that the ability only resolves once the event takes place, that means it resolves before the window to player a response.

So, technically, you can respond with Cursed Blood. However unless there is a foundation in your opponents card pool, you are hoping that you reveal a foundation. Because the foundation that that entered the card pool, has since left the card pool, and is no longer there to be discarded.

Da_ghetto_gamer said:

how does that make it useless? granted its not as effective against DF decks but how many of those are running around anways

In Kitt/Iceman's meta there is a very nasty Alex Based DF:MB deck running around.

So to them this is very relevant because I'm sure by now they're getting tired of it.

Antigoth said:

Da_ghetto_gamer said:

how does that make it useless? granted its not as effective against DF decks but how many of those are running around anways

In Kitt/Iceman's meta there is a very nasty Alex Based DF:MB deck running around.

So to them this is very relevant because I'm sure by now they're getting tired of it.

I'm sure too. Sorry. That said, I am tweaking it for good reason!!! They forgive me.

As far as Kiit's comment goes, it sure doesn't make Cursed Blood useless. It is very seldom that cards are played and immediately enter the staging area, and there is an answer for that now as well... Anyways!!! Cursed Blood is still a good card, it is just useles in that instance.

Similarily, Antisocial adds cards directly, and is another way around Cursed Blood... Man, ALL/GOOD has a lot of answers for cursed blood ^^

Guess you guys should stop running that 'useless' card, and Order in general ^^

- dut