Flying Creatures

By sgtkneecaps, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

I've read the rules 100 times and looked online for an answer, but its just not getting through to me. Can someone explain to me how flying creatures work?

They go to the sky and then what? Thanks!

There's a rather long FAQ entry at this regard (pag 12), so maybe it'd could clarify a little bit the situarion for you better than my words.

Anyhoo:

- to move a Flying monster you need its dimensional symbol to appear on the movement pattern of the Mythos card you're resolving (or you need the gate opening to be a gate burst, but I don't know if you have any expansions, so that I'll leave the gte bursts out for now). So, if the dimensional symbol does not appear, the monster stay were it is

- if the dimensional symbol appears on the Mythos card, then we have three subcases:

a) the flying monster is in the same area as an investigator: in this case the monster doesn't move

b) the flying monster is in an area in Arkham that has no investigator on it; then you don't look at the arrows but you simply check whether:

i) there's at least one investigator in any adjacent street area (where adjecent = a space that is one movement point away from the area where the Flying monster is): in this case, the Flying monsters move on the investigator (if there are two or more of such eligible spaces, the Flyng monster moves on the investigator with the lowest Sneak, with ties being broken by the First Player) (please note: if an investigator is in a location and a flying monster is in an adjacent street area, the flying monster is not allowed to move into the location)

ii) there are no investigators in any adjacent street area, the Flying monster moves to the Sky

c) the flying monster is already in the Sky; in this case you need to check whether:

i) there's at least one investigator in any street area: in this case, the flying monster moves on the investigator (if there are two or more street areas with investigators in, the Flyng monster moves on the investigator with the lowest Sneak, with ties being broken by the First Player)

ii) there are no investigators in any street area: then the Flying monster stays in the Sky

Hope this helps

JULIA

Edited by Julia

Julia,

As always, very comprehensive!

Ciao,

Joe

OH! The STREET area... okay.....

So lets say there's a flying monster in the sky, so you make the strategic move whether to move to the street and fight it, or avoid street areas?

Or does the monster in the sky only move onto an investigator if the gate card movement symbol tells it to?

I guess that's where I'm confused.

A monster will not move unless the movement pattern of that monster comes up. Let me give you an example.

Scenario 1:You have a fire vampire in the sky (star dimensional symbol). Darrell simmons is the only investigator on the board and he is currently sitting on the Curiosity Shop. The Star movement pattern comes up during the mythos. The fire vampire doesn't descend upon Darrell because it can't see any investigators in the streets.

Scenario 2: You have a fire vampire in the sky (star dimensional symbol). Darrell simmons is the only investigator on the board and he is currently in the Uptown Streets. The star movement pattern comes up during the mythos. The fire vampire descends upon Darrell because he can see him in the streets.

Scenario 3: You have a fire vampire in the sky (star dimensional symbol). Darrell simmons is the only investigator on the board and he is currently in Uptown Streets. The star movement pattern DOES NOT come up during the mythos. The fire vampire does not descend upon Darrell because his movement pattern didn't come up (sorry fire vampy, no luck this time).

Hope that clears things up!

Okay thank you so much! I think o was unsure because last game there was a monster on the sky for pretty much half th e game.

Now I get it thanks!!

That can happen, given that investigators often end their turns on a location or otherworld space. If a few monsters end up in the sky, ending your movement on a street location can be a very bad idea if their dimensional symbols come up on the next mythos card. Tag, you're it.