Question about triggering from hand.

By sWhiteboy, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

If you trigger an effect from your hand (that is not on an event card, and is not a put-into-play effect), did you play the card that the effect is printed on?

I know events have to be played in order to trigger their effects, and the FAQ states that put-into-play effects are never played.

I don't see any rulings on this specific type of effect.

If it is not an event card, the only way to "play" it is to pay its gold cost and have it enter play appropriately during your turn in Marshalling. Anything else is triggering an effect, not "playing" the card. (Using "put into play" effects like Ambush from your hand is an example of this, but a card does not have to enter play as a result of triggering the effect for the previous to be true.)

So, for example, discarding Greenseer's Raven to cancel is simply considered to be triggering its effect, not playing the character.

So, similar to triggering from other out of play areas, like the dead or discard piles. Thanks.