Toughness question

By sgtkneecaps, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Hello all! I am new to the game but cannot find the answer to this question. Please forgive me if its been asked before.

If the monster has a toughness of two or more, and your fight is only 1 (because of modifiers and such) does that mean you have to roll one die twice to get two successes, or does it mean you automatically deal the loss?

Thanks for the help!

The toughness is the number of successes you have to roll to defeat a monster.

If you roll a number of dice lower than the toughness of the monster you're facing, it's an automatic failure.

Remember you can spend clues to add dice to the check, and that whenever you fight, you add the combat bonus given by items to your Fight stat, so that it's actually rather hard that you have only one die in combat. If such a situation occurs, evading the monster is certainly recommended :)

And welcome to the Carnival :)

Thank you for answering this question. This situation had happened rather early in the game, so the player did not have any way to boost the number of dice he had.

So at that point he would have had to try and flee, because there was nothing the player had to boost up the number of dice to match the toughness.

I love this game. haha!

Happy you love the game :) and yep, sometimes combat can't be won (very lovecraftian, btw)

Happy gaming!

I know. I am a long time have of H.P. Lovecraft's writing, but for some reason I never engaged in the games. Until now. And I'm loving it. Very special feels :P

From the FAQ:

Q: What happens when combat is a stalemate (for example,

when Michael McGlen can’t roll enough dice to kill

the monster, he continually absorbs the combat damage,

but can’t evade either)?

A: His sanity is reduced to 0, he goes insane, and the combat

ends immediately.

From the FAQ:

Q: What happens when combat is a stalemate (for example,

when Michael McGlen can’t roll enough dice to kill

the monster, he continually absorbs the combat damage,

but can’t evade either)?

A: His sanity is reduced to 0, he goes insane, and the combat

ends immediately.

Best FAQ answer ever. Found an infinite loop? Go insane!

Very thematic, and I love it. However, just to avoid confusion, it's not really applicable to the OP's question. In the OP's case he simply didn't have enough dice to succeed, in which case the rules are clear - he loses combat (repeatedly if necessary) until he escapes or gets sent packing to the hospital.

Thanks for clearing this up for me guys! :D