Payed abilities

By player1756514, in Android: Netrunner The Card Game

Bought the core set/game, played several time, enjoying it much, and still using google time to time when facing with a card or situation which is not clear to me. However recently realized, the payed abilities became a big question mark to me, and google about did not help much. I would like to ask many examples about it, if it is possible.

Why it is confusing to me?

- Payed abilities according rule book:

A paid ability that has a trigger cost involving one or more (Click) is called a click ability .

Page 11, Column 2, Sidebar, Core Rule Book Paid Abilities

Some card abilities have trigger costs that a player must pay before the effect of the ability can be resolved. These abilities are called paid abilities . A card's trigger cost is always listed in its text box before the effect, following the format "cost: effect."

The most common costs are spending clicks, spending credits , trashing the card , and spending hosted counters. Some effects feature a combination of costs.

If the player cannot pay the full cost of an ability, he cannot trigger it.

Payed abilities according the timing, can be triggered several time, even in opponent round. As many time as you can pay the abilities. The payed abilities do not need to be action, in case no click need need for the payed ability.

Guess payed abilities can be played only from cards which are rezzed, and already on desk/in play. Which payed abilities could be these other than

- ice which gives possibility to corporation to strengthen the trace

- card which trying to trash the runner's program, but his resource effect could be triggered (during run) not to trash the program, instead the resource will be trashed

- Personal workshop - can save cards from that in opponent's round in case any of the prize could be payed. (In case the card installing is announced before the corporation mentions the resource trashing. In case of two personal workshop in play, can the runner save the second one, in case the corp already announced the resource trashing?)

Which are the other common/uncommon ways are as payed abilities? (Talking about the ones which does not need click for it and ones which can be played in other player's round.)

How the unlimited times working with payed abilities in case it is in my round and how it works when it is in opponent's round?)

Finally a related question:

This trashing of the card is the cost of triggering the ability; if that trashing is prevented , the ability cannot resolve.

Page 4, Column 1, Paragraph(s) 1, FAQ If the cost of a paid ability requires a card to be trashed, then preventing that card from being trashed prevents the cost from being paid and the paid ability does not resolve.

Could you please tell an example to this?

/NOT necessary to write examples using only the core set cards. Examples could involve any android: netrunner cards /

Thanks!

Edited by zolo

Paid abilities are any card abilities that have the form <cost>: <effect>, the most common probably being seen on ice breakers. As already noted <click> abilities are special in that they can only be use on your turn, but they still follow the same rules.

One thing to note about almost anything in Netrunner is that once an ability has started resolving (paid or otherwise) that ability must fully resolve before another ability is actioned. i.e. if the corp gets to trash a program, there is no ability for the runner to respond by installing something else - there is no general "in response" in Netrunner. The only comparable effect are avoid or prevent abilities which are a special case to interrupt in specific situations (e.g. plascrete carapace or sacrificial construct). So if you were tagged with a personal workshop, and the Corp announces they are trashing it with their action, you cannot react by installing items from it before this resolves - everything just gets trashed (your only option here is to install anything off it in a paid ability window before the corp takes a click action).

Other than icebreakers, some of the most common paid abilities you'll likely see are clone chips, self modifying code, and the ever present Jackson Howard. All of these can be used during your opponents turn, and typically during a run (except for Jackson's draw cards ability). For the corp, the main thing to remember is to have the cards rezed, but typically this isn't an issue as rez and paid abilities are performed in the same window (so rez and use is a viable option). The mentioned cards are all single use but the same applies to multiple use cards, again each use must be fully resolved before the next is triggered.

When trashing is part of the cost, such as in a clone chip, you have to actually trash the card in order to get its effect. Should you try and prevent the clone chip from trashing (e.g. sacrificial construct), preventing the trash will prevent the effect from triggering (so no heap searching for a program, you'd just lose a sacrificial construct).

hit the back button then got ninja'd :ph34r:

but yes the FAQ keeps you from say using sacrificial construct to use clone chip several times when the card was clearly designed as a 1 time use card.

As for paid abilities they are abilities that are not automatic.

Lets just say you made a run (with no creds) and encounter a paper wall. You have the Corroder installed which is the appropriate type of Ice breaker and strength but since you have no credits you cannot break the -End the Run subroutine thus Corroder does not provide any abilities.

Edited by Marinealver

Please correct me if I'm wrong:

I can't save the first resource as the resource trashing was already announced, however even the corporation wants to pay and trash two resources (for example 2 personal workshop (PW) in game and no more resources) I can install from the remaining PW as much hosted programs as much I can pay (for the remaining install cost) and I have enough memory available. I can do it, because trashing 2 resources require 2 clicks and there is a window for payed abilities between the 2 clicks. Just I can't save cards from the first personal workshop in case the corp announcement came first.

Quote from Khouri:

...

So if you were tagged with a personal workshop, and the Corp announces they are trashing it with their action, you cannot react by installing items from it before this resolves - everything just gets trashed (your only option here is to install anything off it in a paid ability window before the corp takes a click action).

Edited by zolo

Correct.

If you had two personal workshops loaded up with stuff and ended up being tagged, after the corp has trashed one (of their choosing) you would have an opportunity to use the remaining untrashed workshop to install its hosted items before they could take a second action to trash the it (but see the corp event freelancer).

Please correct me if I'm wrong:

I can't save the first resource as the resource trashing was already announced, however even the corporation wants to pay and trash two resources (for example 2 personal workshop (PW) in game and no more resources) I can install from the remaining PW as much hosted programs as much I can pay (for the remaining install cost) and I have enough memory available. I can do it, because trashing 2 resources require 2 clicks and there is a window for payed abilities between the 2 clicks. Just I can't save cards from the first personal workshop in case the corp announcement came first.

Quote from Khouri:

...

So if you were tagged with a personal workshop, and the Corp announces they are trashing it with their action, you cannot react by installing items from it before this resolves - everything just gets trashed (your only option here is to install anything off it in a paid ability window before the corp takes a click action).

Yes however in those situations you can use sacrificial construct to prevent those resources from being trashed if it was already installed. You cannot play cards from your hand unless there was some special ability such as from the subroutine on howler. All reactions come from installed cards.

I believe I couldn't use sacrificial construct in this case as it could save only one installed program or hardware. Hosted programs are part of the resource until they are actually installed.

I believe I couldn't use sacrificial construct in this case as it could save only one installed program or hardware. Hosted programs are part of the resource until they are actually installed.

Correct. Fall Guy can protect Personal Workshop; Sacrificial Construct cannot.