Empower!

By MeraZor, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Hello to everyone!

Yesterday I play EMPOWER in a battle as first action...

and later I moved my Wildrider squadron to the same battle..

My question is...

Does the Wildrider Squadron get the EMPOWER bonus?

Thanks

Regards

MeraZor

If the Wildrider Squadron wasn't there when you played Empower, they shouldn't get the bonus.

Reference Guide, page 7, Events:

Event cards engage the game state at the time they are played and resolve. If an event card creates a lasting effect on the game state, only cards that are in play at the time the event card is played are eligible to be affected. Cards that enter play after the resolution of the event are not affected by its lasting effect.

So now I'm not that sure. The Wildrider was in play, although in another planet. The lasting effect shouldn't apply since it wasn't on the same planet, but I'm not sure.

My gut feeling would say the above aswell. Altough I am also not a 100% sure because Conquest has it's own "special way" for dealing with this stuff.

In any case I would assume the Wild Rider is not affected if it enterd a battle (with it's Combat Action) after Empower was resolved.

Wildrider Squadron will not gain the bonus if it moves to the planet targeted by Empower after the event resolves.

As the quoted rules entry states, events "engage the game state" as it is when they are played. Therefore, changes to the game state after an event's resolution do not impact which cards are affected by the event -- or any lasting effect it creates. So it is safe to extend the bit about cards that are not "in play" when the event is played to any card that changes its game state to become eligible for the event for the first time after it has resolved. So any card that arrives at the planet targeted by "Empower" after the event is played will not get the bonus, no matter where it came from.

Wildrider Squadron will not gain the bonus if it moves to the planet targeted by Empower after the event resolves.

As the quoted rules entry states, events "engage the game state" as it is when they are played. Therefore, changes to the game state after an event's resolution do not impact which cards are affected by the event -- or any lasting effect it creates. So it is safe to extend the bit about cards that are not "in play" when the event is played to any card that changes its game state to become eligible for the event for the first time after it has resolved. So any card that arrives at the planet targeted by "Empower" after the event is played will not get the bonus, no matter where it came from.

ktom, I'd need to check to be sure, but I think if the card was in play at another planet they DO get the bonus - there was a smiliar thread about Tellyporta Pad and Battle Cry on CardGameDB - I'll check in to see if I'm remembering right.

EDIT: Can't find a thread that backs me up there, so I'll assume that you're correct unless I hear otherwise :)

Edited by CommissarFeesh

ktom, I'd need to check to be sure, but I think if the card was in play at another planet they DO get the bonus - there was a smiliar thread about Tellyporta Pad and Battle Cry on CardGameDB - I'll check in to see if I'm remembering right.

The two events are different because they are worded differently.

Battle Cry reads, "Play only during a battle. Combat Action: Each [ORK] unit you control gets +2 ATK until the end of the battle." So it affects all of your Ork units, everywhere, when it resolves. (You just don't get any use out of it most of the time on units that are not already at the planet where the battle is taking place.) Any Ork you move after playing the event will have already received the +2 ATK from the event and bring it along.

But Empower reads, "Play only during a battle. Combat Action: Each [Eldar] unit you control at a target planet gets +1 ATK and +1HP until the end of the battle." So it only affects your Eldar units at the target planet when it resolves. Any Eldar unit you move to the target planet after playing the event will not have received the bonus, and cannot "retroactively" qualify for it after the event has resolved. On the other hand, if you move one of your Eldar units away from the target planet during the battle after playing the event, it will take its bonus along with it (though probably not get much use out of it now that it has left combat).

So that's why the interpretation of Empower/WildrIder in this thread does not contradict the interpretation for Battle Cry/Tellyporta Pad that you are remembering. Hope I was able to explain it well enough to make sense.

I think my initial doubts were due to that post about Battle Cry too, so now I'm more sure about what Ktom said.

Thanks ktom, that'll do for me nicely :)

Thanks!

thanks a lot

Regards

Merazor

Sorry but I have a second question....

Same battle......

I play Empower!

there is a unit...i.e.Altasar Ranger

so they get +1/+1...

after they was killed and i play Gift of Isha.

....How do they return?

2/2 or 3/3?

I'd say 2/2 as the game sees this as a "new unit" that was not present at the time Empower effects where resolved.

Again this is only an assumption as other card games have comparable effects and work this way.

Kilax is correct.

Since card effects only work on cards that are in play (unless it specifically says otherwise), the bonus stops working on the card when it leaves play. When it comes back into play, it is considered a brand new unit - even if it happens to be the same piece of cardboard - which was not in play when the event resolved (and thus is not affected).