2 questions: end of deck + return to hand

By Veross, in CoC Rules Discussion

Situation occured last week:

1)

No stories won so far. Both players have 4 cards in their decks remaining. Player active wins and activates (first in this game) story card which says BOTH PLAYERS DISCARDS TOP 10 CARDS FROM THEIR DECKS.

Who wins?

Myself as a referee said: Activa Player.

What are your opinions?

2)

Player has a creature that says: Action/Response/Disturb (I do not remember): "When this card/creature enters discard - return it to the owners hand". If the card has it's text blanked by attachment or event, or character is insane - and wounded/destroyed - would he return to the owner's hand or not?

Myself as a referee said: No.

What are your opinions?

Is there a difference if trigger is made by Action, Disturb or Response?

Is there a difference if blanked text was done by Attachment, Event or Insanity?

Fiou, huge program :

1. So, what if, for any reason, if I do refer to the fAQ, I don't agree with you

(v1.2) Simultaneous Effects
When card effects, passive abilities, or forced
responses simultaneously affect cards controlled
by a player, all cards that are affected resolve in
the order determined by the card’s controller, one
at a time. The player must fully resolve each
effect before the next effect takes place.


Whenever a card effect affects both players simultaneously,
the active player resolves his effects first.

So, in this case, I'd say that the active player is first affected by the discard effect and immediatly lost the game.

2. Disturb ^^ (you means Disrupt ??) gui%C3%B1o.gif

If the card has it's text blanked by attachment or event, or character is insane - and wounded/destroyed - would he return to the owner's hand or not?

I'd say No, refering to the FAQ :

(v2.0) Card States
If a card has an ability that triggers in response to
said card entering the discard pile, that effect does
not resolve or trigger if that character had blank
text, was attached to a domain as a resource, was
discarded from hand, or was insane before it
entered the discard pile.

Is there a difference if trigger is made by Action, Disturb or Response?

No, I don't feel like it, the sentence would only chaneg the possiblity to resolve the effect, but this rule is the same for both effects.

Is there a difference if blanked text was done by Attachment, Event or Insanity?

No, no difference, except that an attachment should be taken away, an event last only a phase (more in case specifies), and Insanity last One turn !

Veross said:

No stories won so far. Both players have 4 cards in their decks remaining. Player active wins and activates (first in this game) story card which says BOTH PLAYERS DISCARDS TOP 10 CARDS FROM THEIR DECKS.

Who wins?

There's an old ruling from Casey way back when that said the Active player wins because they are the active player. It continued to be enforced that way through Eldritch block as well, because the same situation could come up with the card Riddles.

I would rule Active player wins. But there's nothing to back me up on that one since the message boards are all long gone.