Abilities

By Ileopsoas, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Hi to everyone!

What exactly an ability is? For instance communications relay what can cancel?

From the RRG:

"Card Abilities

A card ability is the special game text that a card contributes to the game.

> All card abilities fall into one of the following types: Actions, Battle Abilities, Constant Effects, Interrupts, Keywords or Reactions.

> Some reactions and interrupts may also be Forced, making the execution of such an ability mandatory."

So an "ability" is pretty much anything in the text box of a card (other than flavor text).

As for what communications relay can cancel, there are a lot of qualifications on that effect beyond simply "ability":

"Interrupt: When your opponent triggers an ability that targets a unit you control with 1 or more attachments , exhaust this support to cancel its effects."

An "ability" might be "any card's game text," but Communications Relay will only cancel a card's game text if it also is triggered (i.e., specifically initiated by a player) by an opponent, uses the word "target," and the actual selects one of your units that has an attachment as a target. Probably the hardest thing about that is, if an effect doesn't use the word "target," it has no target (and thus cannot be canceled by Communication's Relay), even if it only affects a single other card.

So ktom, am I correct in saying it does not cancel Event cards that target like for example Archon's Terror? Or does it? Because of the ability on that Event card?

The text on events still fall under that definition of "card ability" from the rules. The fact that it is not "in play" when the ability is used doesn't make it any less of a card ability.

So, since Archon's Terror does use the word "target," Communications Relay can cancel it -- if an opponent is the one using the event and the chosen target has at least one attachment.

The text on events still fall under that definition of "card ability" from the rules. The fact that it is not "in play" when the ability is used doesn't make it any less of a card ability.

So, since Archon's Terror does use the word "target," Communications Relay can cancel it -- if an opponent is the one using the event and the chosen target has at least one attachment.

Thanks for the clarification!