Forest Snare and undefended attacks question

By DukeWard, in Rules questions & answers

Forest Snare - If while resolving enemy attacks, a shadow effect forces the player to discard Forest Snare, does the formerly snared enemy get to attack during the same Combat Phase? I wondered about this but never had to make the call because my heroes died due to 2 engaged Dol Guldur Beastmasters first. However, if it comes up again I would like to know the answer.

Undefended attacks - While engaged with the aforementioned Dol Guldur Beastmasters, I assigned a Daughter of Nimrodel as a defender. However, one of the two shadow effects said to deal 1 damage to each exhausted character (unless the attack is undefended, in which case player must deal 2 damage to each character). Since DoN only has 1 hit point, she was slain by the shadow effect. If I understand the rules correctly, the shadow effect occurs immediately (before the attack resolves), so am I correct to now call the attack "undefended" and be forced to deal 2 damage to each exhausted character?

Thanks for the clarification!

I believe the answer is "yes" to both questions.

I think if the Forest Snare is discarded while you are resolving enemy attacks, that enemy who was attached will have to attack you as well.

If the shadow effect kills Daughter of the Nimrodel, you are correct that the attack is now considered undefended. However, you will still only deal 1 damage to each character. The attack was defended at the time that you resolved the shadow effect. At that point you assign 1 damage to each character, and the fact that 1 damage kills the original defender will not revise the resolution of the effect.

Fantastic, thank you both for your answers!

I read the OP too quickly and provided too short/vague a reply -- sorry. GrandSpleen is right, only 1 damage would be assigned to each character for the shadow effect dealt to Daughter of the Nimrodel. But the enemy attacking Daughter of the Nimrodel then completes their attack as if it were undefended -- so that enemy subsequently does full attack damage against one of the player's heroes.

Which shadowcard let you discard a forest snare? mostly you have to discard an attachment you control and forest snare is not under your control, isn't it?

Attachments you played on enemies are still under your control

Mmm, i you play them on a character of another player, the other player gains control of this attachment. if the encounter deck "plays" an attachment on your charakters/deck, you gain not control of this attachment (Rules page 25)

But there is not statement about attachments you play on enemies or locations. So you don't loose control of attachments if you do not attach them to another player... mm, ok.

FAQ

(1.38) Control of attachments

When a player plays an attachment on a character

controlled by another player, that character’s controller

gains control of the attachment. When a player plays

an attachment into the staging area, or on an enemy or

location, that player retains control of that attachment.

thx for clarifing this :)

It's my understanding that Forest Snare is considered an attachment controlled by the player, so a shadow effect could remove it.

It's my understanding that Forest Snare is considered an attachment controlled by the player, so a shadow effect could remove it.

Correct, as per section 1.38 of the FAQ quoted by Nerdmeister.

But the enemy still dealt shadow card and it is resolved, they dont get shadow card, or they get one but it is discarded?

An enemy with Forest Snare attached still gets a shadow card at the beginning of the combat phase if it is engaged with a player, which then gets discarded at the end of the combat phase (or when the enemy is killed); the snare doesn´t prohibit automatic dealing of shadow card it just prevents the attack itself (including revealing the shadow card)