I apologize for posting what I am certain is a very basic question, but I am away from my rulebook and am seeing things online that are making me question my prior understanding of the acquisition rules. Disclaimer - I am the GM of a campaign, so I understand that I can do anything that I want, or interpret the rules any way that I want, but I wish to fully understand RAW/RAI before I look at making any tweaks.
My understanding had been that any PC/Explorer picks the item that they want, total up all relevant modifiers for rarity, scale and quality, applies the net total of the modifiers to their current profit factor and if that PC rolls equal to or under that number, then they get the item.
However, I've seen multiple references online to PCs/Explorers needing to make a an additional Commerce/Barter skill check for EVERY acquisition (rather than the GM choosing to have them do it at their discretion), which I would think would mean that potentially only PC/Explorers with those relevant skills can even acquire things. Somehow it's now two rolls, instead of one. I can't recall reading anything along those lines in the book and my PC that I have help me with rules questions didn't recall seeing anything along those lines either. A second roll would seem to have a very significant impact on the party's ability to buy items, so I wanted to make sure I understood the process.
Again, thank you everyone for the help.