Chaos Warlord interrupt ability = requires an exhaust?

By Kallel00, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Kinda weird I can't figure it out from the rulebook, but do you require to exhaust a card to use its interrupt?

My question is specific to the Chaos Warlord .... (interrupt, when damage is assigned, add 1 damage). We were wondering if we can apply that effect on only one attack (and have to tap the Warlord) or if it applies to all attacks.

Second, does it apply before or after shield is counted?

Ie:

1 damage assigned + 1 shield = no damage is applied, and therefore the +1 damage interrupt does not count

or

1 damage + 1 damage interrupt + 1 shield = 1 damage goes thru

Thanks

Edited by Kallel00

1. No, it is simply an interrupt effect. If an exhaust was required it would be stated on the card.

2. It applies before shields IIRC, the rulebook DL is blocked from this PC.

Edited by Keffisch

Okay, we were playing it right.

While we're at it:

Would it also give +1 damage to all AOE effects if Bloodletters used it?

Damage is damage - so yes. :)

Technically speaking, it would add 1 damage to each unit damaged by the AoE effect and not +1 damage to the AoE effect.

Edited by Keffisch

Warpstorm + Zarathur = good times!

Zarathur + Zarathur Flamer + Mark of Chaos + Initiative = Better times:

- Deploy Zarathur Flamer

- Put Chaos Mark on Zarathur Flamer

- Move Zarathur to the planet with the "marked" Flamer

- First Combat Round (assuming you have the Initiative):

---- Attack with Zarathur Flamer = 2 + 1 Damage to a Unit / Warlord

---- Action Window after attack -> Sacrifice the Flamer = 2 + 1 Damage to Unit / Warlord

---- Reaction for the Sacrifice -> Mark of Chaos = 1 + 1 AoE damage to all enemy units

<(^*^<) Chaos Kirby Dance (>^*^)>

It's also funny to see how well a Viscious Bloodletter and Tzeentch Sorcerer can work together in this game ;)

---- Reaction for the Sacrifice -> Mark of Chaos = 1 + 1 AoE damage to all enemy units

Not technically AoE, but that's not really the point of your description, I know.

---- Action Window after attack -> Sacrifice the Flamer = 2 + 1 Damage to Unit / Warlord

Flamer sacrifice is to a non-warlord unit. So no instagib of the opposing warlord, but it can still create a mess.

- Deploy Zarathur Flamer

- Put Chaos Mark on Zarathur Flamer

- Move Zarathur to the planet with the "marked" Flamer

- First Combat Round (assuming you have the Initiative):

---- Attack with Zarathur Flamer = 2 + 1 Damage to a Unit / Warlord

---- Action Window after attack -> Sacrifice the Flamer = 2 + 1 Damage to Unit / Warlord

---- Reaction for the Sacrifice -> Mark of Chaos = 1 + 1 AoE damage to all enemy units

Oh, something else that just occurred to me. Mark of Chaos is an Interrupt, not a Reaction. As such, the damage from it will be dealt to all enemy units before the Flamer's Action finishes dealing its damage.