Dealing with the DRAGON expansion

By rakashan, in Talisman Rules Questions

Started playing with the Dragon expansion and as fun as it was, I have a few questions for clarification, please?

1.When you encounter a Dragon Token on the board, and You either choose to encounter it or are forced to because the color is that of the current Dragon King, and the card comes up as something that you don't fight, but experience (or in a couple examples, pick up), can you claim the Dragon Scale,even if there was no combat?

2. When you draw a token and it is the same color as the current Dragon king, does it go on to the king or, does it get depositied at the space you are standing in, or, can you claim it for yourself withtout drawing a card?

3.When do the hexagonal Sleep(?) tokens come into play?

1. You can only claim a dragon scale if you won one or more battles or psychic combats against Dragon Deck Enemies on that space. Usually the Enemy will match the color of the scale, but this is not always the case as cards get moved around. Regardless, as long as you won at least one Dragon Deck fight, pick up the scale on your space.

2. Scales go on the Draconic Lord card even if he is the Dragon King already. Scales aren't deposited in spaces until a Draconic Lord gets 3 scales.

3. If you draw a Dragon Slumber token instead of a scale, you place a sleep token on a dragon of your choice. Some Dragon Cards also use sleep tokens.

For more information on The Dragon, especially alternative endings, go to Board Game Geek and search for "Clarifying the Dragon Expansion."

went there and dint se anyting for sacke clarificationb. Accoring to what you just said, even if a dragon is crowned king, he can still get tokens. so, what happens to the tokens once anotehr dragons has 3 tokens? does he lose them all?

No, tokens are only discarded once a Draconic Lord card has 3 tokens on it. Then, you have to place 1 of those tokens on the board in your space (or in the closest space clockwise) and it becomes a dragon scale that triggers Dragon card encounters. Finally, if the Draconic Lord is not the Dragon King, he becomes the new Dragon King. Crowning Dragon Kings and placing scales it's a continuous process that lasts the whole game.

This is the discussion Artaterxes sent you to:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1245728/clarifying-dragon-expansion-endings-tower-etc

Its content is more advanced than your questions, which address basic mechanics of the Dragon Expansion.

No, tokens are only discarded once a Draconic Lord card has 3 tokens on it. Then, you have to place 1 of those tokens on the board in your space (or in the closest space clockwise) and it becomes a dragon scale that triggers Dragon card encounters. Finally, if the Draconic Lord is not the Dragon King, he becomes the new Dragon King. Crowning Dragon Kings and placing scales it's a continuous process that lasts the whole game.

This is the discussion Artaterxes sent you to:

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1245728/clarifying-dragon-expansion-endings-tower-etc

Its content is more advanced than your questions, which address basic mechanics of the Dragon Expansion.

I'm afraid I still don't get it-even after reading the discussion,so i'll put it this way:

Cadorus is the Dragon King. Grilipus has 2 toekns on him, and Varthrax has 1. I draw a Cadorus Token and according to Artaterxes, I place that scale on Cadorus' card and my turn proceds as normal(go t a space and follow encountr nornally by drawing a card unless a toekn is hre and proceeeding form there). The next player draws a Vartharx Token and places it on his card-play proceeds nomrally. The third player draws a Cadorus token and again, it is supposed to go on Cadorus, giving him the crown and 2 tokens. The fourth player Draws a Varthrax toekn,places it on Varthrax's card, so now he is the Dragin King,and one of his tokens goes on the space, so what happesn to the 2 extra tokens on cadorus?

Discard the extra two tokens!

Place them in a bag or something off to the side. Don't put them back into the token draw pile.

Just like decks have discard piles think of the Dragon scales getting a discard pile too. But it being a real pile hehehe.

I thnk i see it now, so if instead of the player getting a Varthrax Token, he gets a Cadorus token, he wolud discard the two tokens, and place the thrid on the space he is on., right?

Discard the extra two tokens!

Place them in a bag or something off to the side. Don't put them back into the token draw pile.

Beware, you're confusing rakashan more than what he already is.

He asked what happens to the two tokens on Cadorus when Varthrax becomes the Dragon King.

When Varthrax has 3 tokens he becomes the Dragon King and discards all tokens from the card. One of these tokens goes on the board as a dragon scale.

Cadorus , who was the former Dragon King and received 2 tokens in the meantime, doesn't have to discard anything. He keeps his tokens. If in the turn after Varthrax has been crowned king a character d raws a Cadorus token, Cadorus will immediately become the next Dragon King.

I thnk i see it now, so if instead of the player getting a Varthrax Token, he gets a Cadorus token, he wolud discard the two tokens, and place the thrid on the space he is on., right?

Yes, the procedure is the same if the Draconic Lord that has 3 tokens is already the Dragon King.

Yeah, Warlock is right. When a Draconic Lord receives the third scale, he becomes King, One token is placed on your space and the other two scales of the Dragon King are discarded. The Dragon King should have no scales on the card right now. Nothing happens to the scales on the other two Draconic Lords.

Sorry misinterpreted the question a bit.

I have seen on other posts(not confused anymore btw) that the Dragon Expanion is not popular at all. Does anyone have any suggestions as to make the supplement more fun and less complicated?

Use the Highlands board as 2 regions. Imagine it as 2 places but on 1 board. It is a Highlands and played as Highlands, but also represents a Dragon region, and I suggest the entrance be a space in the Middle region but could be any space, even somewhere within the "real" Highlands. In this new Highlands/Dragon region, you will draw a Dragon token for any cards drawn. Place that token on the space and that space will now draw that kind of dragon token.

This is the only place to draw Dragon cards. However there are cards that will send dragons out to other spaces, like the temple and castle and such. This is fine or you can take those cards out.

We (my friend's set) did play with Dragon rage, if you pulled a dragon rage token, you would get rage from the last Dragon who had his token pulled. And that's how we kept track of the King.

We also put all 3 Dragons as the end space encounter, and you could win Talisman beating all 3 at once or going to CoC.

In my set, I am gonna remove Dragon rage, and some of the cards that make the Dragons come out.

Just remember 1 player can be on the board and dealing with the Highlands, and another player on the same board and is in the Dragon Region, these characters cannot encounter each other and are not in the same region, nor can they encounter cards from the other region. Thus spaces will have cards from both regions.

I have used a 2nd Highlands board for this, but now I can't as the 4 corners are taken. So I am using 1 board as 2 regions.

I have seen some other variants I thought were pretty good, but this one my friend & I came up with is my favorite.

Edited by DomaGB

Just a quick question as to what happens with dragon counters and the inner region.

At the start of turn, you draw a dragon token, and place it on the relivent coloured dragon if approrpiate. If the said dragon now has three tokens on him, what happens? I presume he is crowned king, and 2 of the tokens get discarded? Does the third one as well get discarded?

What about if he is already the dragon king and you are in the inner region? What happens then?

Many thanks in advance.

Haplot

Just a quick question as to what happens with dragon counters and the inner region.

At the start of turn, you draw a dragon token, and place it on the relivent coloured dragon if approrpiate. If the said dragon now has three tokens on him, what happens? I presume he is crowned king, and 2 of the tokens get discarded? Does the third one as well get discarded?

The rules for the Dragon Expansion cover all these instances.

This is on page 8, labeled as "Important":

Important : Characters in the Inner Region do not place a dragon scale on their space; all three dragon scales on the Dragon King’s card are discarded instead.

What about if he is already the dragon king and you are in the inner region? What happens then?

Your second question is a bit generic. It depends on the type of game you are playing, and on which space you occupy in the Inner Region.

Normally nothing happens when the Dragon King is crowned Dragon King again. It matters only if you play with the Wrath of the Dragon King optional rule.

If you meant to ask what happens if the Dragon King changes while you are in the Inner Region, if you are on the Crown of Command the King won't change as per rules on page 14. If you are ascending the Dragon Tower then you just have to draw from the new Dragon King's deck.

ahh my bad for not phrasing the question correctly. Perhaps if I were to explain where I'm coming from.

I was playing a game with one other person using the dragons, but with a hidden ending, rather than fighting the dragon lords at the end. We were using the side of the dragon expansion board with the dragon hatchery on, which states. Roll 1 dice and fight that many Hatchlings each one-by-one until either you are defeated or you defeat all of the Hatchlings. Each Hatchling

has a craft of 4 and adds 1 to its attack score for each dragon scale on every Draconic Lord Card. You cannot move on until all Hatchlings are defeated.

My opponent took the view that tokens kept on piling up on the dragonlord cards. I, however, took the view that as i wasn't at the crown of command that a third counter on a dragon lord would force a change in leadership and the three counters would be discarded, because the third counter cannot be placed in the Inner region, ie apart from the third token being discarded, normal rules apply. Is either of us correct? If not, what is the correct view? Would a Hatchling therefore be a maximum Craft of 10 (base 4, plus 2 red tokens, plus 2 green tokens, and plus 2 gold tokens) as you can't have 3 tokens on a dragon lord?

Many thanks.

Haplot

ahh my bad for not phrasing the question correctly. Perhaps if I were to explain where I'm coming from.

I was playing a game with one other person using the dragons, but with a hidden ending, rather than fighting the dragon lords at the end. We were using the side of the dragon expansion board with the dragon hatchery on, which states. Roll 1 dice and fight that many Hatchlings each one-by-one until either you are defeated or you defeat all of the Hatchlings. Each Hatchling

has a craft of 4 and adds 1 to its attack score for each dragon scale on every Draconic Lord Card. You cannot move on until all Hatchlings are defeated.

My opponent took the view that tokens kept on piling up on the dragonlord cards. I, however, took the view that as i wasn't at the crown of command that a third counter on a dragon lord would force a change in leadership and the three counters would be discarded, because the third counter cannot be placed in the Inner region, ie apart from the third token being discarded, normal rules apply. Is either of us correct? If not, what is the correct view? Would a Hatchling therefore be a maximum Craft of 10 (base 4, plus 2 red tokens, plus 2 green tokens, and plus 2 gold tokens) as you can't have 3 tokens on a dragon lord?

Many thanks.

Haplot

Ok, with the Dragon Realm (i.e. the board overlay with the Dragon Hatchery and other spaces that have effects tied to dragon scales on all Draconic Lord cards) you apply the same rules for drawing dragon scales and crowning the Dragon King as you would in the standard Inner Region.

As explained by the Important rule quoted in my previous post, in the Inner Region you continue to draw scales at the start of your turn and when a new Dragon King is crowned, you discard all scales from his card instead of placing one of them in your current space and discard the other 2.

Your opponent was assuming things that are not written in the rules, just because he felt he had to be that way. Your interpretation was the correct one (max +6 due to max 6 scales being present on Draconic Lord cards at any given time). The board instructions don't help very much, especially the Vampiric Dragon which has a 11+) result that should have been 11-12) instead. Oh well, it might also have been written that way to encompass Dragon Slayers Alternative Ending, where every Draconic Lord receives 5 dragon scales on its card, totalling a permanent +15 to all challenges of the Dragon Realm. I've never tried it and probably I won't. :)

thank you for clarifying things.

Much appreciated.

Haplot