Flipping the Time Card

By Artaterxes, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hey, I have some questions about the Time Card.

Regular Events, regardless of how many are drawn, cause the Time Card to flip only once, after all cards are drawn, before encounters begin (pg 2).

Lunar Events flip the Time Card "when revealed," which I believe occurs immediately when the card is drawn before drawing other cards. So a Lunar Event flip occurs earlier in the sequence (immediately when the Lunar Event is revealed) than the regular Event flip (after all cards are drawn).

So I have two questions.

1. What happens when multiple Lunar Events are drawn? We assume a flip occurs, if applicable, on each reveal.

2. What happens when a regular Event and Lunar Event are drawn? We assume if the Lunar Event(s) caused at least one flip on reveal, then the regular Event flip would be cancelled. But if the Lunar Event(s) did not cause any flips, then the regular Event flip would occur.

Is this right? Here is our interpretation of some examples.

EX1) It's daytime. You draw Holy Day (no flip on reveal) and Raiders. Regular Event flip occurs (to night). Then, encounter. It's nighttime, so Holy Day is immediately discarded when encountered.

EX2) It's nighttime. You draw Holy Day (flip to day on reveal) and Raiders. Regular Event flip is cancelled. Then, encounter.

EX3) It's nighttime. You draw Holy Day (flip to day on reveal) and Vampiric Thirst (flip to night on reveal). No flip before encounter (no regular Events drawn). Then, encounter. Holy Day is immediately discarded upon encounter because it's night.

1. What happens when multiple Lunar Events are drawn? We assume a flip occurs, if applicable, on each reveal.

Lunar Events are encountered in the order they were drawn, following the standard rule about cards with the same encounter number. Each Lunar Event causes the Time Card to be flipped accordingly and some of them might be trumped when many are drawn at the same time.

2. What happens when a regular Event and Lunar Event are drawn? We assume if the Lunar Event(s) caused at least one flip on reveal, then the regular Event flip would be cancelled. But if the Lunar Event(s) did not cause any flips, then the regular Event flip would occur.

Your interpretation is right, as far as I know. Lunar Events are classified as Events. Following the rules, the Time Card is flipped after 1 or more Events are drawn, before encountering any of the cards.

But as you say, Lunar Events trigger the flip "when revealed", so they are resolved first. If they cause the Time Card to be flipped, no more flipping occurs; if they don't, the Time Card is flipped according to the normal rule for "Passage of Time".

The only thing I don't feel right in your examples is that Lunar Events need to be encountered; they are never encountered, because they don't stay faceup on the board, but close to the Time Card. The instructions on them must be followed as soon as the conditions are triggered. Lunar Events are immediately discarded when the Time Card is flipped, according to the instructions on the Lunar Event.

Edited by The_Warlock

Thank you, Paolo. So I assume the sequence goes like this.

1. Draw cards.

2. Use any effects that apply to "just-drawn" cards such as the Prophetess's ability, Orb of Knowledge, or Alteration Spell.

3. Finalize the selection of cards.

4. Apply any "when revealed" effects to the finalized cards in order drawn (so if multiple Lunar Events are drawn, flip the Time Card as directed for each, in the order drawn).

5. Flip the Time Card if at least one regular Event was drawn but a flip has not yet occurred.

6. Place the cards on appropriate spaces:

- your current space for the majority

- by the Time Card for Lunar Events, activating those that match the Time Card and discarding those that don't

- other spaces as directed (eg Hermit, Blight Haunt)

7. Encounter your space as normal.

Sounds right or no?

Edited by Artaterxes

Thank you, Paolo. So I assume the sequence goes like this.

1. Draw cards.

2. Use any effects that apply to "just-drawn" cards such as the Prophetess's ability, Orb of Knowledge, or Alteration Spell.

3. Finalize the selection of cards.

4. Apply any "when revealed" effects to the finalized cards in order drawn (so if multiple Lunar Events are drawn, flip the Time Card as directed for each, in the order drawn).

5. Flip the Time Card if at least one regular Event was drawn but a flip has not yet occurred.

6. Place the cards on appropriate spaces:

- your current space for the majority

- by the Time Card for Lunar Events, activating those that match the Time Card and discarding those that don't

- other spaces as directed (eg Hermit, Blight Haunt)

7. Encounter your space as normal.

Sounds right or no?

Nothing more to say, at least from my side. :)

It looks a bit complex now that you've put it down, but this is not what you would be checking every time. When so many effects have to be applied together, this is probably the right procedure to resolve them.

This is great, we been missing this:

Regular Events, regardless of how many are drawn, cause the Time Card to flip only once, after all cards are drawn, before encounters begin (pg 2).

Many time's we laughingly mock the day nite day by blinking our eyes quickly. because we just flipped the card twice due to 2 normal event cards.

Edited by DomaGB

I appreciate your input as always

This is great, we been missing this:

Regular Events, regardless of how many are drawn, cause the Time Card to flip only once, after all cards are drawn, before encounters begin (pg 2).

Many time's we laughingly mock the day nite day by blinking our eyes quickly. because we just flipped the card twice due to 2 normal event cards.

This is something we've been doing for a long time too. :-)

This is where it gets a bit "NUTS"

Domain of Dragons: So you draw all your cards then put a number of dragon cards on top of deck you drew from according to what you drew? I always thought you draw a card see what it is then act on the draw (effects triggered) then draw again if you can until you draw all the cards you can the encounter them?

Uvatha check out BGG for s thread called "Clarifying the Dragon Expansion" or something similar where a bunch of us hammer out once and for all the craziness that is the dragon expansion.

The only thing I don't feel right in your examples is that Lunar Events need to be encountered; they are never encountered, because they don't stay faceup on the board, but close to the Time Card. The instructions on them must be followed as soon as the conditions are triggered. Lunar Events are immediately discarded when the Time Card is flipped, according to the instructions on the Lunar Event.

they do stay on the board. at the each of the lunar event card it is written discard when day breaks/night falls.

now, i have another question.

what is the difference between reveal and draw?

on the lunar events its written when revealed flip the time card and on the Blood moon rule book pg.2, it says that you flip the time card when a event card is drawn...

The only thing I don't feel right in your examples is that Lunar Events need to be encountered; they are never encountered, because they don't stay faceup on the board, but close to the Time Card. The instructions on them must be followed as soon as the conditions are triggered. Lunar Events are immediately discarded when the Time Card is flipped, according to the instructions on the Lunar Event.

they do stay on the board. at the each of the lunar event card it is written discard when day breaks/night falls.

They are placed on the board if the Time Card is on the board; if you prefer to have the time card out of the board, then Lunar Events are NOT on the board.

But this doesn't matter. What matters is the fact that Lunar Events are not left faceup on the space where you draw them, like it happens with Events that last many turns. They stay close to the Time Card and are discarded according to the instructions on them. I was only arguing that they are not encountered, because they are never placed on a space.

now, i have another question.

what is the difference between reveal and draw?

on the lunar events its written when revealed flip the time card and on the Blood moon rule book pg.2, it says that you flip the time card when a event card is drawn...

Apparently there's no difference, unless we receive an official clarification about the obscure wording "when revealed". This wording caused this thread to be opened, because the OP was looking for a way to combine multiple simultaneous effect (abilities that work on cards "just drawn" and effects that are triggered "when revealed"). Since it's silly to apply the effect to a card that is then discarded, he proposed that effects acting on cards "just drawn" are resolved first, then "when revealed" effects are triggered on the finalised card draw. I agree with this solution.

Hey, I have some questions about the Time Card.

Regular Events, regardless of how many are drawn, cause the Time Card to flip only once, after all cards are drawn, before encounters begin (pg 2).

Lunar Events flip the Time Card "when revealed,"

Whats this "when revealed" it does not say "when revealed" it just says when one or more Events are drawn flip the Time Card and it says that Lunar Events are Events (with some additional rules) none of which say anything about "when revealed"?

As for Draw and Revealed I think there is enough rules to say they are different effects that trigger differently just like discarding followers to followers that are "killed" and discarded.

So the greater contentious is when you "draw" cards you draw all of them you have too then you turn them all over? Right?

Edited by Uvatha

Hey, I have some questions about the Time Card.

Regular Events, regardless of how many are drawn, cause the Time Card to flip only once, after all cards are drawn, before encounters begin (pg 2).

Lunar Events flip the Time Card "when revealed,"

Whats this "when revealed" it does not say "when revealed" it just says when one or more Events are drawn flip the Time Card and it says that Lunar Events are Events (with some additional rules) none of which say anything about "when revealed"?

Every Lunar Event features that kind on wording on the card : "When revealed, flip the Time Card to xxxxx". The rules don't reference the wording "reveal" in any way.

As for Draw and Revealed I think there is enough rules to say they are different effects that trigger differently just like discarding followers to followers that are "killed" and discarded.

So the greater contentious is when you "draw" cards you draw all of them you have too then you turn them all over? Right?

Yes, probably the use of different words suggests they are different effects, but "reveal" is not mentioned in the rules (on the contrary, killed and discarded are words defined by the rulebook). So who can tell if you resolve first the "when revealed" effects or the "when you draw" effects?

This was the purpose of this thread and the provided examples showed that it might be tricky sometimes. We're lucky that in most games such complex situations don't come up, so most players will never notice the issue and will happily continue their games.

I just had a similar situation...

The Troll had both the Orb of Knowledge and the Treasure Map from Sacred Pool. The Treasure Map gives him 1 gold whenever he draws an Object. But if he draws an Object and swaps it with the Orb of Knowledge, does he still gain 1 gold?

If we go by that above sequence, then no he doesn't... "reveal" would appear to be the same as "draw," and first the Troll would replace the Object with the Orb (#2), finalize the card choice (#3), then apply "when revealed/drawn" (#4) and possibly gain a gold.

I'm kind of glad we came up with that little sequence, it helps, thank you

Oh its written on the Luna Event card...

If you Draw a Luna Event its Revealed as well :) but given there is nothing (as far as I remember) that "triggers" to cards being "Revealed" not "Drawn" it really doesn't matter much.

I don't understand what you saying Artaterxes? Both the Orb of Knowledge and the Treasure Map from Sacred Pool both trigger to "draw" not "reveal". So the troll draws a object chooses what of the 2 effects he wants to go first (the orb or the map) if he chooses the map then he gains 1 gold and then uses the orb? I think its still the same the other way around you still count as drawing a object even if you discarded it to draw another card.. I'm gathering its the trolls turn though.

I think when a effect just says "reveal" then it should not trigger effects that say "when you draw a card" or "draw a certain type of card" etc etc. But if you both draw and reveal then its a no brainier its triggers to draw.

I don't understand what you saying Artaterxes? Both the Orb of Knowledge and the Treasure Map from Sacred Pool both trigger to "draw" not "reveal". So the troll draws a object chooses what of the 2 effects he wants to go first (the orb or the map) if he chooses the map then he gains 1 gold and then uses the orb? I think its still the same the other way around you still count as drawing a object even if you discarded it to draw another card.. I'm gathering its the trolls turn though.

You're perfectly correct Uvatha, this situation is resolved with Simultaneous Effects rule. Probably the character will choose to gain 1 gold first, then replace the Object with Orb of Knowledge if he doesn't like it.

"When you draw" and "When revealed" could be considered Simultaneous effects as well, but we're not sure because they are 2 different timing conditions, one of which is not defined. I think it's better to use a predetermined sequence that gives priority to "when you draw" effects. This is a no brainer for you, but in absence of rules everybody could argue and give another interpretation.

There are some "when revealed" cards that don't have global effects as the Lunar Events or the Fire Salamander. Examples: Scarecrow, Self-Portrait and all pool-type Places and Strangers (from Magic Stream to Spendthrift). It would be very odd to resolve the "when revealed" effect (i.e. move the Scarecrow or prepare the pool) before using abilities like the Orb of Knowledge. It is far more logical to "finalize" the card selection (I'm using Artaterxes words here) and then trigger any "when revealed" effects.

It's odd to draw Lunar Events, flip the Time Card and then discard them with Orb of Knowledge. Simultaneous effects rule could allow this, if we consider the timing to be simultaneous, but it's odd and a bit opportunistic. Not to mention the absurdity of Scarecrow moving before being replaced (can he be replaced, then?), of Sepulchre Spectre calling all Spirits to the space and then being replaced, or the Fire Salamander discarding all cards in the Region before being replaced.

Edited by The_Warlock

Hehe well in regards to that it would be simultaneous effects so you would choose to discard it or let it reveal which makes reveal and draw a bit the same thing other than revealing not triggering draw effects eg flipping time card if event. Unless being drawn as well of course

Gets confusing indeed.

Ah yes the Simultaneous Effects rule! Ahh so many little nuances! So much for being a simple roll move and draw game, haha