Force Power Question

By Rimmer1, in Star Wars: Age of Rebellion RPG

This relates to any upgradable power, but it was specifically for move.

When you spend a force point to upgrade a power, do you need to spend a force point per ranked upgrade, or do you spend one force point for a number of upgrades up to your rank ?

This effect is spelled out specifically in the power's description. For the range upgrade, for example, it says plainly that you can spend a Force point to increase the base range by a number of range bands equal to the number of Range upgrades purchased. So if you have 2 range upgrades, spend 1 Force point (after having activated the power) to increase the range from Short to Long.

I was a little confused on this to, so just to clarify:

- You roll force dice equal to your Force Rating - let's say 2.

- You count the light side pips (unless you're using the dark side, but we'll ignore that for this example) - let's say you get 3 light total.

- You spend one pip to activate the initial power, then you spend another pip to activate the upgrade. In this case, the first to Move something, the second to be able to use out to Long range.

So when you spend a pip on an upgrade, that one pip is worth all the ranks you have in that upgrade (range, magnitude, etc.), right?

If, in the above example, I spent my 3rd pip to Move a second object (reactivating the base ability) would the Range upgrade I spent my 2nd pip on affect the second object, or just the original one?

If I instead spent the 3rd pip to activate Magnitude to move multiple objects (instead of reusing the base power) do the upgrades work in tandem then, so I can move [Ranks in Magnitude] objects in [Ranks in Range] range bands?

Yes, 3 pips would let you activate move, activate your range upgrade(s) and activate your magintude upgrade(s) and all would be affected together. So all the objects you could affect could be up to range band(s) away.

If I instead spent the 3rd pip to activate Magnitude to move multiple objects (instead of reusing the base power) do the upgrades work in tandem then, so I can move [Ranks in Magnitude] objects in [Ranks in Range] range bands?

Yes, 3 pips would let you activate move, activate your range upgrade(s) and activate your magintude upgrade(s) and all would be affected together. So all the objects you could affect could be up to range band(s) away.

Thanks, Kallabecca. How about the other way?

If, in the above example, I spent my 3rd pip to Move a second object (reactivating the base ability) would the Range upgrade I spent my 2nd pip on affect the second object, or just the original one?

If I activate a base power twice, and activate an upgrade once, does the pip used on the upgrade only count toward one instance of the power?

Also, in the original example, could I have activated the same upgrade twice? I spend 1 pip on the base Move power, and then 2 on Magnitude, so I can affect 2x[Ranks in Magnitude]+1 objects?

I don't think you can spend a pip to "reactivate the base power". You're not only spending a pip when activating a Force power, you also spend an action doing so. Activating the base power a second time would also require a second action (and therefore a separate roll.)

I don't think you can spend a pip to "reactivate the base power". You're not only spending a pip when activating a Force power, you also spend an action doing so. Activating the base power a second time would also require a second action (and therefore a separate roll.)

This is true for Move.

But, for clarity's sake, in general it depends on what the base power is. The rules specify which effects can be activated multiple times (like the Influence power). There are a few of them, and it's usually when the Force Point translates directly into "1 success" or "1 wound" or somesuch.

EDIT: Just realized this was in the Age of Rebellion thread. So...Move and Foresee base powers can't be activated multiple times, but Enhance can. It's only limited by how many Force points you generate.

Edited by awayputurwpn