woodland ending and missing forest

By bushaaya, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hey guys,

2 new questions popped up in yesterday's game within our group:

1. In most cases, when a character gets to the last space on the woodland board, they resolve the card and get teleported to the Forest. so far so good, but what happens if there's a Terrain card on the forest, so it doesn't exist anymore?

Is the character teleported to where it was? does he stay in the same space and has to double back (if so, does he draw a new Path card?)?

2. There's a card that exists in both the Woodland deck and the Adventure deck (added with the woodland expansion) called "Faerie Trod". It reads: "Discard your current Path, if able, and take a new Path from the top of the Path deck..."

How does this work with being outside the Woodlands? To our knowledge, once a character leaves the Woodlands, he must discard his Path, so there's no way a character can be with a path outside the Woodlands, which makes this card kinda strange... are we doing this wrong?

Thanks!

1. My best guess is that you stay on the meeting with destiny space since you've no destination space. I've only played Wanderlust ending which specifically states that you only draw a path card when you enter a region and haven't read up on the rules concerning only the Woodlands. Wanderlust might be special since the city has no last space (at least not like the other regions).

2. You draw a path card and you're on it until you leave your current region, as there's no way to complete it if you're not in the Woodlands.

Hope this helps. If I'm wrong please correct me.

Hi bushaaya,

since you are almost new to the forum, you might not have noticed that we have a Rules Question sub-section. You are invited to post your questions there to help keeping them sorted out. :)

1. In most cases, when a character gets to the last space on the woodland board, they resolve the card and get teleported to the Forest. so far so good, but what happens if there's a Terrain card on the forest, so it doesn't exist anymore?

Is the character teleported to where it was? does he stay in the same space and has to double back (if so, does he draw a new Path card?)?

Quote from Firelands rules for Terrain Cards :

If an effect refers to a space that is no longer on the board because that space contains a Terrain Card, that effect is ignored. For example, if the “Temple” space contains a “Ruins” Terrain Card and a “6” is rolled at the Tavern, the effect of moving to the Temple is ignored.

The teleporting effect is ignored and the character stays on the Meeting with Destiny space. Then, checking the Woodland rules about "Twisting Paths":

When a character with a Path Card reaches the Meeting with Destiny space, he resolves the Destiny effect at the bottom of his Path Card. After resolving the Destiny effect he discards his Path Card.

In this particular situation, he's not teleported out of the Woodland but has to discard his Path Card. He will then be inside the Woodland without a Path Card and may either remain there, hoping to find a new Path or other good stuff, or move all the way back to the Woodland Entrance.

2. There's a card that exists in both the Woodland deck and the Adventure deck (added with the woodland expansion) called "Faerie Trod". It reads: "Discard your current Path, if able, and take a new Path from the top of the Path deck..."

How does this work with being outside the Woodlands? To our knowledge, once a character leaves the Woodlands, he must discard his Path, so there's no way a character can be with a path outside the Woodlands , which makes this card kinda strange... are we doing this wrong?

The rule about Path Cards is not only referred to the Woodland Region, but is written more generally to encompass Faerie Trod Adventure Card and the Wanderlust Alternative Ending:

When a character with a Path leaves a Region he must discard his Path Card.

So if you draw Faerie Trod in the Outer or Middle Region, you receive a Path Card and have to follow the Travel Effect. You cannot resolve the Destiny Effect because as soon as you enter the Woodland you have to discard that Path and take a new one.

If you don't like the Path Card you've received with Faerie Trod, you may just move into another Region to get rid of it.

Thanks a lot for the responses and sorry for posting in the wrong place - :)

should I re-post this question under the Rules sub-section or can this whole thread just be moved there? - :)

Thanks a lot for the responses and sorry for posting in the wrong place - :)

should I re-post this question under the Rules sub-section or can this whole thread just be moved there? - :)

Admins can move the thread for us. Just post any new questions in the Rules Section, house rules, tweaks and your own creations in the Home Brew section, and general discussion in the main forum section.

This is all you need to know. Welcome and happy posting!

Edited by The_Warlock

A related question: what happens in the War of Seasons ending if a Terrain card is on the Forest and someone reaches the Crown of Command?

A related question: what happens in the War of Seasons ending if a Terrain card is on the Forest and someone reaches the Crown of Command?

In this case, the game will crash and display a blue screen. :D

Seriously, the current rules don't give any meaningful way to resolve this situation. Probably all characters should move there regardless of the Terrain Card, but that's not on the Alternative Ending card. It requires a FAQ entry. :ph34r:

Edited by The_Warlock

XD thanks Paolo thats what I thought too.

Strange indeed..

When a Terrian card is put on a space the space and the rules on the space are ignored and the player encounters the Terrian space instead. So if you have a Path card that says "When you land on or when you reach" the Meeting with Destiny space nothing happens you keep your path card and you encounter the Terrian card instead?

I don't know where you get this discard your path card from you don't even "resolve" your path cards destiny effect? " If an effect refers to a space that is no longer on the board because that space contains a Terrain Card, that effect is ignored". The path card is a effect .

Also.

"When a character with a Path Card reaches the Meeting with Destiny space, he resolves the Destiny effect at the bottom of his Path Card. After resolving the Destiny effect he discards his Path Card". Well the character-player does not reach the Meeting with Destiny space because its not there its now the Terrian card instead. The only rule that changes this is certain spaces listed in the Firelands rulesheet eg "Sentinel" or when a player places a new character.

As for War of Seasons I thought it was obvious.... Nothing the effect is ignored. you still lose all your light and dark fate because that a different effect but the teleporting "moving" to the forest effect is ignored. So in effect you just don't move to the forest.

Same with if a Terrian card is on the Meeting with Destiny space when War of Seasons is out the space is not there no more thus any effect keyed to the space is ignored. The only way around this is to turn the space back (some things do this as I recall) or use up all the Terrian card types so when you turn a space into the same terrian card that on the Meeting with Destiny space you can just take it off of the Meeting with Destiny space and put it on the new space.

Thats it really.

Edited by Uvatha

Uvatha, I'll respond to your points.

1. Normally, when you resolve the Meeting with Destiny, you are teleported to a space (by default, the Forest, unless your Path says otherwise). If there is a Terrain Card on your destination ( e.g. the Forest) then you discard your Path Card as normal, but you will be unable to teleport to the destination. So instead, you do not teleport, and stay on the Meeting with Destiny space. You have to walk back out of the Woodland without a Path.

2. If there is a Terrain Card on the Meeting with Destiny space, then you will be unable to resolve the Destiny effect of your Path Card when you get there. You encounter the Terrain Card instead. You keep your Path, and you don't teleport anywhere.

3. If there is a Terrain Card on the Forest or Meeting with Destiny space during the War of Seasons ending, then this presents some problems. A Terrain Card on the Forest , strictly speaking, would mean that nobody is teleported anywhere. The character on the Crown of Command is permanently stuck there for the rest of the game, and everyone else gets to head into the Woodland for the final battle. Now is this the intention? As Paolo said, probably not. It requires a FAQ entry. But literal interpretation would be that. Now as for the Meeting with Destiny, if there is a Terrain Card there, you can't resolve it. Which means the game will not end until that Terrain Card is removed. (Or all characters are killed and the game is a draw.)

If I'm wrong in any of this, someone let me know.

Oh right I read it wrong its not if a Terrian card is on the meeting of destiny its if its on the forest right'o' :)

1. Yep agreed.

2. Yep agreed.

3. Yep that sounds right even though its silly.

Or, with the war of seasons ending, you could leave everyone, except characters in the inner region, in their current place and move the ones in the inner region to the portal of power (if there's not a terrain card on the portal as well or there's another forest on the board, in which case everybody teleports there). I don't know if would argue for this interpretation but it's another thought at least.

Or, with the war of seasons ending, you could leave everyone, except characters in the inner region, in their current place and move the ones in the inner region to the portal of power (if there's not a terrain card on the portal as well or there's another forest on the board, in which case everybody teleports there). I don't know if would argue for this interpretation but it's another thought at least.

The problem is not only related to characters in the Inner Region, but also to the characters already in the Woodland that are close to Meeting with Destiny. As written, this Ending favours the character on the Crown by giving him a head start over the others; if things don't go as written, the Ending might favour the characters in the Woodland instead. They might exploit this loophole in case War of Seasons is played as a Revealed variant and this is the reason why the Ending needs an official FAQ statement.

Edited by The_Warlock

True, didn't consider players in the woodland area. Still if a terrain card with a forest is on the board maybe players should be teleported there. On the other hand this might lengthen the game considerably. Anyway, 1 fate and rolling first ain't much of a head start in a race through the woodland. Seriously though, I see your point about a faq entry and am only arguing for arguments sake. Sorry. ;)

True, didn't consider players in the woodland area. Still if a terrain card with a forest is on the board maybe players should be teleported there. On the other hand this might lengthen the game considerably.

Yes, a Forest Terrain Card could replace the original Forest for this Ending effect. I often use Spells that place Terrain Cards to shut down the Treasure Chamber or the Eyrie, and around 2 times I've used Verdant Growth to place a Forest there. Imagine having all characters teleported in the depths of the Highland, having to trail back to the Outer Region and then into the Woodland!

Anyway, 1 fate and rolling first ain't much of a head start in a race through the woodland. Seriously though, I see your point about a faq entry and am only arguing for arguments sake. Sorry. ;)

It's true. A Magic Carpet or a Riding Horse give you better chances than 1 turn of advantage, but if nobody has any item that improves speed then it's better than nothing. On the other hand, having to cross the Woodland while fateless is risky and it's better to be either lightbound or darkbound.

Yes, a Forest Terrain Card could replace the original Forest for this Ending effect. I often use Spells that place Terrain Cards to shut down the Treasure Chamber or the Eyrie, and around 2 times I've used Verdant Growth to place a Forest there. Imagine having all characters teleported in the depths of the Highland, having to trail back to the Outer Region and then into the Woodland!

Hehe I like the idea...

A relating question though... if I put a Terrain card on the Warlock's Cave, are characters still able to finish quests, or do I block them from doing so?

Hehe I like the idea...

A relating question though... if I put a Terrain card on the Warlock's Cave, are characters still able to finish quests, or do I block them from doing so?

This has been debated extensively and certainly requires a FAQ entry. However, I believe:

1. Quests can be completed and must be completed as soon as possible.

Reason: Quests once assigned, and their rules for completion, are independent from the Warlock's Cave effects and described in the main rulebook.

2. You receive no reward and don't teleport to the Warlock's Cave.

Reason: The Warlock's Cave space has two effects. It a) assigns quests, and b) teleports and rewards you upon completion of an active quest. If the space doesn't exist, then these instructions are also gone.

3. You can't enter the Portal of Power with an incomplete quest.

Reason: The rule about locking the Portal of Power is explained in the base game rulebook and is not part of the space instructions.

So from my understanding, with a Terrain Card on the Warlock's Cave, you may still complete your quest, you are locked out of the Portal of Power until you do, but you neither teleport nor receive a reward.

http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/100694-terrain-cards-warlock-quests/

A long and very thorough debate on Terrain Cards and the Warlock space & quests ended with the following:

So, the rules included in the base game rulebook are actually rules about Warlock Quests, not about the Warlock's Cave space. Well, in the base game there was no difference between the 2 concepts, but now the picture has changed quite a bit. I think it's safe to assume that if the Warlock's Cave is Terrain-ed, you must still complete quests as soon as possible and the Portal of Power remains sealed; you just don't get teleported to the Warlock's Cave and don't receive a reward for your quest.

If we treat the rulebook words and the Warlock's Cave words separately, the effects would be this:

1. Gain a quest. (Space)

2. Must complete the quest as soon as possible. (Rulebook)

3. Cannot cross Portal of Power with incomplete quest. (Rulebook)

4. Teleport to Warlock's Cave once quest complete. (Space)

Thus the Space effects are gone, but not the rules which target the Quest and not the Space, as they are still in effect.

So in conclusion if the Warlock space is Terrained, then Quests must still be fulfilled but because the space is gone there is no reward. However it is fulfilled and one can now enter but they have to get a Talisman elsewhere! But no more new quests from the warlock, he doesn't exist!

No difference between the two if the warlocks cave is terrian'ed then its no completing quests.

Yes agreed Doma I am glad we came to the same conclusion!

If the Warlocks Cave has a Terrain card on it and you have a quest i do not see you ever completing the quest until the terrain card is moved or removed from the Warlocks Cave. Please explain your reasoning a bit more so i can understand where your coming from Doma?

Your quest card is a effect and anything effect needing a space that has a terrain card on it is ignored. So how do you ever complete the quest? If the effect is written on the board or in the rules i do not see the difference? The quest is not fulfilled, you still have the quest and you cant pass the portal of power until its fulfilled or the portal of power itself has been terrian'ed.

You see the way i see it is you must move "teleport" back to the Warlocks Cave to fulfil the quest, you cant so there is no way you can fulfil the quest the rule needs the move to complete.

Uvatha, you hit on the crux of the debate. The question is: are the rules for completing quests, as described in the rulebook, extensions of the space instructions? In other words, if there was enough room on the space, would the entire section on page 17 under "Warlock's Cave" also have been written on the board?

The total rules are:

1) Optionally roll a die to accept a quest. (Space and book.)

2) Teleport immediately upon completion. (Space.)

3) Receive a Talisman as a reward. (Space.)

4) Complete a quest as soon as possible. (Book.)

5) An incomplete quest locks the Portal of Power. (Book.)

6) You can only have one quest at a time. (Book.)

1-3 are described in the space, so they are obviously cancelled if the Warlock's Cave has a Terrain Card. You cannot accept a quest from the Warlock's Cave (although you could take one via Lake of Visions, Path of Destiny, etc.) You don't teleport upon completion, and you receive no reward. Now, 4-6 are described in the book only, and it is debatable whether they are cancelled.

Suppose they were actually "extensions of the space instructions" and were indeed cancelled with a Terrain Card. Then, you would not be required or able to complete a quest (4), you would be allowed to go through the Portal of Power (5), and you could go on multiple quests at a time (6). Especially the last point makes us think that these basic rules (4-6) actually apply to quests, and not the Warlock's Cave itself. (Rules 1-3 apply to the Cave.)

So then let's instead assume 4-6 actually apply to quests (as I believe is true). Suppose there is a Terrain Card on the Warlock's Cave. If you have a the "Discard a Follower" quest, and you acquire a follower, you would discard it immediately (4), unlock the Portal of Power (5), and complete the quest. You wouldn't, though, teleport anywhere (2) or receive a reward (3).

So the debate is still technically open, as there is no official answer, but this is the logic that I believe had summarized that other thread. It's possible that once we receive an official answer, rule 4, 5, or 6 (or any combination) would be considered extensions of the space instructions, but for now, we just have to decide for ourselves.

Edited by Artaterxes

Whoops sorry.

I took another looky at the rules and your totally right I was wrong you still complete the quest but get nothing. My bad.

Edited by Uvatha

whoops sorry double post :)

Edited by Uvatha

I wouldn't say you were "wrong" because we don't have an official answer, it's just that it's the best we could come up with given the info.

It's like the great spellcasting debate. We realized that to preserve spell secrecy, you have to award priority to he who casts first. Certainly that's how the digital edition does it too, but it's not written in stone anywhere...