I'm first player and bring "The Shadow of the South" out of Shadows. Can the player I've chosen bring "Shadow politics" out of Shadows in the same phase?
In other words, is bringing a shadow event out of Shadows considered to be playing an event ?
I'm first player and bring "The Shadow of the South" out of Shadows. Can the player I've chosen bring "Shadow politics" out of Shadows in the same phase?
In other words, is bringing a shadow event out of Shadows considered to be playing an event ?
As I understood the Shadows mechanic, a card that comes out of the shadows is not considered played (you play that cards face down, then you "reveal" those by paying their shadow cost). But it's better for you to wait for more accurate answers, because I could be wrong...
I agree with thorin.
According to the FAQ:
"Character, Location, and Attachment cards are 'played' from the hand during the marshalling phase, by taking a player action and paying
their gold cost.
Event cards are 'played' by placing the card on the table, paying the specified cost, and triggering the effect."
So "playing" a card, regardless of type, implies that it comes from your hand.
According to the Shadows rules:
"After an event card comes out of Shadows, it is treated in the same manner as a non-Shadows event card played from a player’s hand."
This says that while you treat a Shadows event card as if it were "played" after it comes out of Shadows, bringing it out of Shadows is not actually the same thing as playing the event.
Taken together, preventing a player from "playing" events does not stop them from bringing events out of Shadows because the two mechanics for initiating the event are not the same thing.
Thank you for your answers. That was also what I thought.
As a consequence, bringing an event out of Shadows cannot be cancelled by Countered Plot, and will not make Arianne Martell ITE stand, right?
Comm said:
Actually, no. You can do those things. Because of the part of the Shadows rules that says:
"After an event card comes out of Shadows, it is treated in the same manner as a non-Shadows event card played from a player’s hand,"
once an even coms out of Shadows, it counts as being played - which allows you to trigger those cancels and Responses.
It's a little confusing, but because of that rule, bringing an event card out of Shadows is a different mechanic from playing the event, once it is out, you Respond to it as if it were played.
Ouch, this was indeed confusing, but I see your point now.
However, I'm sure the question will raise later when we will have event cancel in LCG (hopefully in the Kings of the Sea or "Kings" of the South expansion).