Some Woodland questions

By The Hunter, in Talisman Rules Questions

Just got the Woodland expansion and notice the box is smaller than the "big" expansions, and the board doesn't come in a bag.

Anyways, I do have some queries:

If you are unable to resolve the Meeting your Destiny (i.e. losing a battle or psychic combat, or not enough gold), can one assume that you still end up in the Forest?

Is there any purpose of the red and blue sides for the Leywalker's portal tokens since his character card does not say anything about this?

If you are unable to resolve the Meeting your Destiny (i.e. losing a battle or psychic combat, or not enough gold), can one assume that you still end up in the Forest?

The space instructions say: "Resolve the Meeting with Destiny effect on your Path card. Then, if you are still on this space, move to the Forest."

Resolving doesn't mean "winning something", but just doing what's written. Win, lose or stand-off, if the Path card doesn't move you to another space you move to the Forest.

Is there any purpose of the red and blue sides for the Leywalker's portal tokens since his character card does not say anything about this?

Apparently the different sides have no meaning for gameplay.

Personaly I find them useful as Elemental markers for the Elementalist (they cannot be mixed up with the character's fate).

Edited by The_Warlock

Good call for the elemental markers!

portal_three_monitors_eyefinity_by_starl

Another query:

When encountering the Skuld, do you need to discard fate or not to discard an Adventure card?

I thought you do, but the card does not state this.

Also encountered the Puck.

The character is lightbound, and must choose a lightbound character, but he is the only one.

Must that character still become a toad, or does nothing happen considering the effect happens on yourself if you are unbound or fateless?

Skuld says "each fate you have" so no you don't use fate.

Puck: hehe yep if your the only lightbound then your toaded its says "Choose a lightbound Character" not "Choose another lightbound Character" as for no-ones a lightbound hmmm guess no effect.

It's impossible for Puck to have no effect. Darkbound characters must choose a darkbound character; lighbound characters must choose a lightbound character. If they are the only ones available, they are targeted by the effect. Unbound or fateless characters encountering Puck are chosen automatically.

There are several cards that say "for each fate you have" (Atlas Ogre, Titan Wraith, Skuld, Baba Yaga, Mab's Gate, maybe others); they require you to check your fate tokens and apply the total as a roll modifier. Skuld uses the same number to determine how many cards you may discard.

Edited by The_Warlock

Hehehe just realised Puck now myself of course :) .