Area Effect + Fury of Sicarius

By Bayard91, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

THIS HAS BEEN RESOLVED! :)

Last night my opponent told me he was going to try this tactic last night, where he attacks with a Space Marine unit with the Area Effect (1) special rule. After dealing the damage, he stated that he could use Fury of Sicarius, and have its effect activate on every unit I had in play that took damage.

In the end, I convinced him that this could not be right, and we only applied it to a single Blood Angel Veterans unit.

But the debate must be made. Is this legal? Is this the way it was meant to be used?

The Fury of Sicarius states:
"Reaction: After a Space Marine unit damages an enemy non-warlord unit by an attack, destroy the attacked unit."

On group last night argued that it could be used against multiple units at once (similar to Doom or Exterminatus), where as another group argued it could only be used against a single unit.

What do you guys think?

Edited by Bayard91

Area of Effect is an ability, it does not count as attack damage. Not only does this not work against all units, it doesn't work against any units.

Edited by Titan

Can I get a page source? Area Effect only states "When this unit attacks it may instead deal it's Area Effect damage to each enemy unit at this planet."
Where does it say an ability or effect does not count as attack damage. It's happening when the unit is attacking.

And WHY doesn't Fury work against any or all units in this case? I need an actual reason other than a no.

"This damage is considered to be dealt by a card effect. It is not considered to be dealt by the attacker's attack, but it is being dealt while the unit with Area Effect is attacking. After the Area Effect ability has resolved, the attack is over".

Rules Reference Guide P. 3, under Area Effect.

The reason it doesn't work it's because Fury specifies that the damage must be dealt by an attack. Although the unit is attacking, it deals no damage from it's attack, but from it's ability.

Edited by Titan

Ahah thank you. I guess I must have just glanced over that. Looking at every single rule in the book but that one apparently... :P

And Fury of Sicarius states it can only react to damaging something "by an attack". This means by dealing damage when following step 3 in the attack process (ie applying your ATK value). It doesn't mean by dealing damage by a card effect during an attack.

Edited by PBrennan