Tywin Lannister and "Tattoo" (Baratheon accesory)

By Aertes, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

First of all: hello everyone again.
Second: i'm terribly sorry but i don't know the English name for the Baratheon accesory that makes you pay 1 gold to its owner if you want to use the character it's attached to. I will call it "Tattoo" from now on (it's Spanish name is "tatuado").

The question is: if i attach "Tattoo" to Tywin Lannister, must my opponent pay me 1 gold each time Tywin Lannister generates 2 golds due to his character's cappability?.

There are 2 opinions here, i deffed the 2ยบ:

Opinion 1: no, because "Tattoo"'s text says "must pay 1 gold each time the player chooses to use the character as attacker or defender, or wants to use the character's cappability". Since Tywin's cappability is passive, he doesn't choose to use it, son "Tattoo" won't activate there.

Opinion 2: even if Tywin Lannister can't choose wether using or not his cappability, he still is using a cappability, wich activates "Tattoo" and makes the player pay me 1 gold every time it happens.

May i have your opinion about this please?.

Hola!

First of all, its actually called Motley in English. Odd what happens during translation!

Anyway, your answer would be number 1. Motley says "Attached character's controller must give you 1 gold token from his or her gold pool each time he or she wishes to declare attached character as an attacker or defender, or trigger attached character's ability ."

I bolded the key phrase here. It says trigger attached character's ability. Since Tywin's ability is passive, it doesn't count as being triggered. So Motley doesn't apply to that ability.