Y'Golonac epic battle.

By satanito, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Long time away from here.

I have a question that my gaming group asked me to post. We are playing a league and came across a problem:

We were fighting against Y'golonac i n Epic battle, 5 players, 4 of them already devoured, and the last investigator remaining draws the sinester plot card that says:

Endless Hunger.

The first player is devoured after he attacks. The other investigators attack as normal.

So, the last investigator attacks and defeats the ancient one, but because the text is a single line without commas, we are not sure if he won, an is not devoured; or if he won but is still devoured; or if he lost.

It's kind of a big deal for us because we play by the rule that during the league a devoured investigator never returns and everything he holds is discarded to the box, and also, that during epic battle if an investigator is devoured but the other players defeat the ancient one, then the devoured investigator is saved. With this rules, we now find ourselves 5 investigators devoured and all items lost, but still won the game?

What does everybody thinks? Does damage done nulls the rest of the text, or all the effect is still resolved?

Thanks!

Edited by satanito

That's my reading: the investigator attacks, wins Final Battle and makes the game end. Period. Afterwards, he'd be devoured, sure, but the "after" condition never triggers because the game ends before. So, he's not devoured, and you won final battle.

That's my two cents, anyway

satanito,

While I agree with Julia's interpretation, I orginally saw it as the Investigator's final, dying action...which is why he'd be devoured even if he were to defeat Y'Golonac .

Cheers,

Joe

Your guy is dead. But the world is safe.

I don't know. With the name of the card being "Endless Hunger," I look at it as Y'golonac actually eating the First Player. If the first player kills Y'golonac, then they cannot be eaten.

I agree with Julia. The investigator lives to fight another day.