Math of R4

By chilligan, in X-Wing

r4-agromech.png

So this R4 changes a bit how we look at the TL + focus combo. Now you can acquire a Target Lock after spending a focus token, which means:

a) get a TL after spending focus to shoot (Blaster Turret, Proton Rockets for future ships, Deadeye Torpedoes, etc.)

b) use focus on your initial roll, acquire TL, use TL on the spot!

But what are the advantages? Here's a quick graph, where you can see the evolution of TL+ focus vs. focus then TL. The graphs are show for 2, 3 and 4 dice.

D1tWBsa.png

For 4 dice, here's the breakdown with more modifiers:

RU0tEFy.png

What about averages?

no focus focus focus + TL TL+focus

2 dice 1 1.5 1.75 1.875

3 dice 1.5 2.25 2.625 2.8125

4 dice 2 3 3.5 3.75

TL;DR? It's good . Almost as good as a TL+f!

Edited by chilligan

OK....I'm confused. When you say R4, are you talking about R4-D6. That's the droid where you can cancel hits that are more than 2. Are you saying that now that you can get a TL after a Focus then maybe R4 is worth it?

If so, how best to apply this info?

I can see putting it on a Y-wing. Sure, there are better droids you can use, but it's only a single point. Too bad you can't put it on the larger YT's. I wouldn't consider putting it on an X-wing or any other ship with more than 1 green die.

He is talking about R4 Agromech from S&V.

Sorry, should have been more specific.

r4-agromech.png

What about averages?

no focus focus focus + TL TL+focus

2 dice 1 1.5 1.75 1.875

3 dice 1.5 2.25 2.625 2.8125

4 dice 2 3 3.5 3.75

TL;DR? It's good . Almost as good as a TL+f!

I was confused by your graphs, since you don't have axis labels, and the first one has 3 sets of unique curves with the same label, but the averages make sense.

What about averages?

no focus focus focus + TL TL+focus

2 dice 1 1.5 1.75 1.875

3 dice 1.5 2.25 2.625 2.8125

4 dice 2 3 3.5 3.75

TL;DR? It's good . Almost as good as a TL+f!

I was confused by your graphs, since you don't have axis labels, and the first one has 3 sets of unique curves with the same label, but the averages make sense.

Apparently I was sloppy with the presentation. I hope it's clearer now. The curves with the same label belong to the same technique "TL then focus", but with 2, 3 or 4 dice.

Does that mean you can use it during that attack? I know there are funky rules to follow when it comes to altering dice. Attacker gets one point to alter the dice. If you use your focus, does that mean you gain the TL and can use it immediately? Or is it more the fact that you gain it for next time?

Dang, I thought this was more a discussion of R4-D6. I thought maybe someone had a use for him, finally!

EDIT: Ignore me

Edited by Hida77

The correct order is that 1) the defender modifies red dice, 2) the attacker modifies red dice. When modifying dice, you can reroll/modify as you want, with the only limit being able to reroll any die at most once.

It seems similar in effect to the Han Solo Crew on a Huge ship, but better. If you roll all blanks, you can still spend that Focus to modify zero results, which gives you a target lock to reroll the rest. You also don't have to spend that TL right away, so a Y-Wing with ordinance can possibly get some Focused Proton Torpedo hits in. The Rebels wish they had generic droids this strong.

It seems similar in effect to the Han Solo Crew on a Huge ship, but better. If you roll all blanks, you can still spend that Focus to modify zero results, which gives you a target lock to reroll the rest. You also don't have to spend that TL right away, so a Y-Wing with ordinance can possibly get some Focused Proton Torpedo hits in. The Rebels wish they had generic droids this strong.

It also does very nice things for the Blaster Turret.

It seems similar in effect to the Han Solo Crew on a Huge ship, but better. If you roll all blanks, you can still spend that Focus to modify zero results, which gives you a target lock to reroll the rest. You also don't have to spend that TL right away, so a Y-Wing with ordinance can possibly get some Focused Proton Torpedo hits in. The Rebels wish they had generic droids this strong.

It also does very nice things for the Blaster Turret.

Good thing he is scum, I'm not sure I'd want to see a rebel list with this. Spend focus to fire blaster, acquire target lock, spend lock to reroll, spend second focus acquired from one of many places...

It seems similar in effect to the Han Solo Crew on a Huge ship, but better. If you roll all blanks, you can still spend that Focus to modify zero results, which gives you a target lock to reroll the rest. You also don't have to spend that TL right away, so a Y-Wing with ordinance can possibly get some Focused Proton Torpedo hits in. The Rebels wish they had generic droids this strong.

It also does very nice things for the Blaster Turret.

^^^^^^ This.

It almost feels like they made it specifically for use with Blaster Turret on Scum Y-Wings, as it was previously assumed by most that blaster turret was unplayable without RecSpec and because the Y-Wing cant take a crew it was never an option.

The Y-Wing does however have an astromech slot and R4 is basically RecSpec but only for Scum Y-Wings.

I'm assuming that a ship with the R4 can 'use' its focus even without rolling any like Garvin can?

I'm assuming that a ship with the R4 can 'use' its focus even without rolling any like Garvin can?

...and like Farlander's stress, and like target lock tokens, and etc.

I can't think of an instance where it was ruled you could NOT 'spend a token' that applied to the turn phase you were in, regardless of whether it would have any positive effect or not.

I'm assuming that a ship with the R4 can 'use' its focus even without rolling any like Garvin can?

...and like Farlander's stress, and like target lock tokens, and etc.

I can't think of an instance where it was ruled you could NOT 'spend a token' that applied to the turn phase you were in, regardless of whether it would have any positive effect or not.

I think the most obvious usage of restrictive rules text is on C-3PO

"Once per round, before you roll 1 or more defense dice , you may guess aloud a number of Evade results. If you roll that many Evade results (before modifying dice), add 1 Evade result."

i.e. you cant use C-3PO unless your rolling at least 1 dice.

So they already have a precedent how rules text works if they want to restrict an ability to a specific usage.

Edited by Mace Windu

Does that mean you can use it during that attack? I know there are funky rules to follow when it comes to altering dice. Attacker gets one point to alter the dice. If you use your focus, does that mean you gain the TL and can use it immediately? Or is it more the fact that you gain it for next time?

Dang, I thought this was more a discussion of R4-D6. I thought maybe someone had a use for him, finally!

I think he is talking about the advantages (or disadvantage) of spending a TL before a focus. When most players have both TL and focus they spend the TL first to reroll any blanks and save the focus token for any additional focus results.

However R-4 requires you to spend a focus before you get a TL then reroll any blanks, if you roll anymore focus results you no longer have a focus token to spend thus making those results just misses.

However the only problem I have with the OP is that he is focusing only on dice statistics and not realizing the "intangables" in his equation and that is R-4 provides action economy. It turns a focus into a TL on the same attack. Where as to get the other scenario you need to either sit on a target lock for an entire turn and perform a focus action (assuming you don't get stressed or blocked) where as with R4 you can just focus and then use it to gain a TL on the same attack against anyone in range and/or arc depending on what weapon it is using.

The disadvantage is that it is not the same modification power that TL + focus token has which is really negligible in comparison. The only real disadvantage is that you cannot use it with torpedoes as the Torpedoes require you to start with a TL instead of a focus unless you use dead eye. Then well in that case

Do you even AGRO BRO? R4 does!