Campaigning for heroes and boons

By Nerdmeister, in Rules questions & answers

Been away from forums for awhile because my "Dunland Trap" was VERY late and I didn´t want spoilers so don´t know if these questions have been answered:

1)

In saga play (dark riders, road darkens) when you change a hero between scenarios the group takes a +1 threat penalty as a result. But what if you later in the campaign change back to a hero you used in the early scenarios? His name still appears on the "list of heroes" after all. Would that incur the threat penalty?

2)

If you do change back and forth between heroes, regardless of the threat penalty, would a hero who earlier had earned a permanent boon come back with that boon still attached? (I am thinking that he will still have his boon)

3)

When a hero gets defeated all permanent boon cards are discarded from him. Would they come back to him if that hero was brought back with FaF? Or Landroval for that matter? (I would think the boon gets reattached)

4)

If an effect instructs a player to "discard a non-objective attachment" and you choose (or have no choice) a permanent boon, is that boon lost for good? (leaning towards a permanent loss)

5)

The "Mr. Underhill" boon can be reused from one scenario to the next? (think it can be reused by the wording; the card does not mention it must be removed from campaign pool. But it does not seem very thematic to me)

1) I've never heard anyone ask this, but from the rules in the Black Rider box and the FAQ inside of the Road Darkens box it looks like you'll incur a +1 threat penalty any time you change your hero lineup (unless switching to a different version of the same hero, or swapping the arrangement of the heroes between players). Even if the new hero had previously been a part of your campaign.

2) The hero should still have his/her boon. Even if you switch to a different version of the same hero, I should think. The hero choice is recorded in the campaign log by name.

3) I think the boon will not be re-attached. In the Black Riders, under the Permanent keyword explanation, we've got this: " If a hero leaves play, attachments with the permanent keyword attached to that hero are removed from the game." So if you return that hero to play, his/her boon has been removed from the game and there is no provision of rules to return it to play. It only attaches to him/her as a result of its Setup instructions at the start of a game. But it should still attach to that hero if you use him/her again in a subsequent quest.

4) Permanent attachments cannot be discarded (again, from the Permanent keyword explanation). Mr. Underhill goes to the Victory Pile when you use it. The boons from A Knife in the Dark get removed from play if the attached hero leaves play. So none of these can end up in the discard pile, and aren't legal targets for attachment hate from the encounter deck.

5) Mr. Underhill can be used from one scenario to the next.

Thanks for the perspective Spleen; mostly agree with your assessments.

Still no convinced either way about 1) though. I might just be reading something into it that isn´t there but wider rules-leaps have been made that have turned out to hold water.

Regarding permanent boons (#3), I' ve recently asked Caleb same question, so here is official answer:

Q. When I sacrifice a hero on the Great Bridge and that hero has permanent boon attached, what happens with this boon card when I bring that hero back to play by Fortune or Fate? Is it again attached to him? In rules there is written: “If a hero leaves play, attachments with the permanent keyword attached to that hero are removed from the game", so maybe this boon is lost for good, as it is not just discarded but removed?
A: In that situation, the permanent attachment is removed from the game, but not from the campaign pool. It will be reattached at the beginning of the next scenario.

Nice little detail. Thanks for clearing that up kroko