Spider Queen question.

By Tolar, in Talisman Rules Questions

I have a question about the Spider Queen's fourth ability, which reads: Whenever a character on a space with a Crawler token makes a roll, you may return a Crawler token on his space to your character card to add or subtract one from that roll, to a minimum of 1.

My question is can you decide to wait until after the dice is rolled to use the Crawler token? I think you have to decide prior to the roll, but would like that confirmed.

As a follow up question: If you have to decide BEFORE the roll, do you HAVE to add 1 or subtract 1 from the die roll after you see the result?

You can wait until they roll as far as I can tell.

When they make a roll and especially from that roll implies that they made a roll and you are reacting to it. It also avoids the second question completely.

Edited by ShivaX

The Crawler token may be returned to you character card after the roll is made. ShivaX gave good hints for interpreting the card that way.

Edited by The_Warlock

Fair enough. She is quite powerful it seems.

What happens if you choose to not affect the roll or the other character uses teleport to move (or some other effect to avoid rooling)? I assume you return the token anyway but I think the wording leaves this open for debate. Any thoughts?

Other characters must end their movement when they enter a space with a Web token, which is flipped to the Crawler side. After that it's the Spider Queen's choice to return the token on her card or not, as clearly stated in the ability :

Whenever a character on a space with a Crawler token makes a roll, you may return a Crawler token on his space to your character card to add or subtract 1 from that roll, to a minimum of 1 .

If the character is not making any roll, the Spider Queen cannot return the Crawler token to her character card.

So, to clarify, you're saying that the token remains on the space, crawler side up, until a character voluntarily lands there again, since nothing in spider queen's abilities says that the crawler stops a characters movement or that the token should be flipped back. Correct? At least if read word for word it sounds correct. Thanks.

So, to clarify, you're saying that the token remains on the space, crawler side up, until a character voluntarily lands there again, since nothing in spider queen's abilities says that the crawler stops a characters movement or that the token should be flipped back. Correct? At least if read word for word it sounds correct. Thanks.

Yes, that's what I meant. Luckily for the Spider Queen, she can land on her Crawler tokens and pick them up by herself, shall they remain unused on the board for any reason. She also gets a bonus on a roll while on that space for doing that. Other characters would probably avoid a space with a Crawler token if they have better movement options.

But can she use the token even it the character rolled a 6 and she wants to add 1 to the score, or 1 and she wants to substract 1?

I mean can she take it back and there will still be an effect on that character (even if there's no 7 option on the card)?

But can she use the token even it the character rolled a 6 and she wants to add 1 to the score, or 1 and she wants to substract 1?

I mean can she take it back and there will still be an effect on that character (even if there's no 7 option on the card)?

She can regain the Crawler token in both cases. The instance of subtracting from the 1 result is explicitly covered by the to a minimum of 1 statement. As for adding to the 6 and having no 7 option for the roll, I think we should get back to Talisman base set and ask ourselves what would happen if the Priest rolls a 6 and wants to add 1 while praying at the Chapel. The game won't crash because there's no option for a 7 on the table, nor will the Priest be forced not to use his ability in that case, even though it's useless. I would apply the same logic to the Spider Queen Crawler tokens.

Edited by The_Warlock

She can regain the Crawler token in both cases. The instance of subtracting from the 1 result is explicitly covered by the to a minimum of 1 statement. As for adding to the 6 and having no 7 option for the roll, I think we should get back to Talisman base set and ask ourselves what would happen if the Priest rolls a 6 and wants to add 1 while praying at the Chapel. The game won't crash because there's no option for a 7 on the table, nor will the Priest be forced not to use his ability in that case, even though it's useless. I would apply the same logic to the Spider Queen Crawler tokens.

Yep thats right.

But can she use the token even it the character rolled a 6 and she wants to add 1 to the score, or 1 and she wants to substract 1?

I mean can she take it back and there will still be an effect on that character (even if there's no 7 option on the card)?

She can regain the Crawler token in both cases. The instance of subtracting from the 1 result is explicitly covered by the to a minimum of 1 statement. As for adding to the 6 and having no 7 option for the roll, I think we should get back to Talisman base set and ask ourselves what would happen if the Priest rolls a 6 and wants to add 1 while praying at the Chapel. The game won't crash because there's no option for a 7 on the table, nor will the Priest be forced not to use his ability in that case, even though it's useless. I would apply the same logic to the Spider Queen Crawler tokens.

In my head I always think of the highest number on a card with a "+", as there already are on many places. What I mean is that when I for example roll in the cave I get 3 golds for "6+" and not just for a "6". But that's what you're saying in different words, I guess.

The game won't crash because there's no option for a 7 on the table, nor will the Priest be forced not to use his ability in that case, even though it's useless. I would apply the same logic to the Spider Queen Crawler tokens.

So you're saying there is no effect if there's no 7 option on the card?

In my head I always think of the highest number on a card with a "+", as there already are on many places. What I mean is that when I for example roll in the cave I get 3 golds for "6+" and not just for a "6". But that's what you're saying in different words, I guess.

I think I agree with rigmaster in that case

The game won't crash because there's no option for a 7 on the table, nor will the Priest be forced not to use his ability in that case, even though it's useless. I would apply the same logic to the Spider Queen Crawler tokens.

So you're saying there is no effect if there's no 7 option on the card?

No, I was saying that adding 1 to a 6 result in that case it's useless, because the maximum result is 6. But this doesn't mean you can't do that. For a praying roll it doesn't matter, because it doesn't give you extra options, but it matters for the purpose of picking up a Crawler Token if you need to.

You can think the last result in a table like a 6+) as Rigmaster suggested. The boardgame won't crash if your result is a 7; I don't know what happens with Digital Edition. :P