Just played my first game of conquest and an interesting situation came up following a battle at the planet Y'Varn.
Obviously, triggering the battle ability is the option of the winner of the battle. However, once the ability is actually triggered, what happens if a player is unwilling or unable to put a unit into play from his hand at his HQ?
The word "may" is not in the card text...
It appears to be mandatory but how is the 'unable' situation resolved? I've played other card games where the player unable to do so would have to prove the inability by revealing their hand to the opponent to show there were no units...but I don't think such a procedure is referenced in the rules for Conquest.
(To give this context - I am playing as Eldar vs. Imperial Guard. Y'Varn is the first planet, my opponent wins and triggers the battle ability. Knowing that a bunch of grunts are about to return victorious from planet 1 to my opponent's HQ, I am lining up the "Doom" in my hand for the next deploy phase. Given the only unit in my hand is "Wailing Wraithfighter", I'm reluctant to play it to my HQ....)