The Iron Throne, Siege of Winterfell timing

By Rostro2, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

I have a timing question of The Iron Throne and the Siege of Winterfell agenda. (I apologize if this has been asked before. I did google and search FFG first.)

The Iron Throne:

"...players cannot trigger response effects with The Iron Throne is standing. After a player wins a challenge, that player may choose to stand or kneel The Iron Throne"

Siege of Winterfell: "...After you win a Military challenge, claim 2 power for your House. "

If Iron Throne is standing, and Siege agenda player wins a military challenge, they can kneel the Iron Throne, which would then enable trigger effects again.

The question is... can the Siege player then claim 2 power... or has the framework timing of "after you win" passed, since an active player action has happened (kneeling the throne.)

Thanks,

Rostro

The kneel/stand functionality of the Iron Throne is done during the passive step of the action window, which is Step 4. Step 5 is the step for Responses to that window, so a Siege player could win a challenge, and kneel the Iron Throne so that when the timing reaches Step 5, all players are free to trigger responses.

... or has the framework timing of "after you win" passed, since an active player action has happened (kneeling the throne.)

No. The option to stand or kneel The Iron Throne is not a player action. It is a passive effect initiated by winning a challenge. Passives (mandatory) must happen before Responses (optional) to the same thing can be triggered, but it's not like the passive, or a previous Response, wipes out the possibility of other effects initiating off of that same occurrence.

So, since challenge resolution looks like this:

A. Determine Winner

B. Resolve Claim Effect

C. Award Unopposed (if applicable)

D. Award Renown (if applicable)

E. Resolve Deadly (if applicable)

F. Passives to anything in A-E.

G. Responses to anything in A-F.

The Throne will kneel in F. The opportunity to use Siege is in G. So it's all good.