Newbie Question about "Sitting on the Iron Throne"

By ultimax, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

I have 2 questions about the event card "Sitting on the Iron Throne." The card text reads:

Any Phase: Pay 1 gold to choose a character to claim 1 power. (Limit 3 times per round.)
Dominance: If you won dominance this phase, pay 1 gold to return Sitting the Iron Throne from yoru dead pile to your hand.

If I play the event, can I trigger the effect to claim power up to 3 times (assuming I have the gold) or can I only trigger that effect once from that event card?

My second question is if I won dominance, could I trigger the effect to get the card back in a later phase like for example the taxation phase or can I only trigger it during the dominance phase after I have won?

Thanks for any clarification you can give me.

When you play an event card, you can only trigger it once. However, if you had another copy (or recycle this copy somehow... getting to that) you could play it again, and trigger it again (once).

The second part of your question: the trigger itself says "Dominance" which means it can *only* be triggered during dominance. It stipulates that you have to have won dominance to do this, but it's not a response to winning dominance. That means that you can trigger it multiple times, provided you have won dominance that phase.

Functionally, this means you can turn 5g and one card into 3 power (or 6 gold and no net card loss into 3 power) in a dominance phase where you've won. It's a neat card, and a fun way to turn Lanni's gold into a useful bonus beyond helping you win dominance itself.