Rules of Location and Abilities

By pewpew2, in Warhammer 40,000: Conquest - Rules Questions

Couple of questions:

I take that you can take actions without presence at any given planet as long as there's a battle going on.

A. Can you use/trigger battle abilities on other units from other planets? Taken that it's not in the current resolving battle?

If yes, does this apply to units that went home (HQ) from the previous battle.

B. Can you target other units not at the current battlefield? (of course unless it's specified on the card that the ability must be used in the planet.)

C. Can the warlord use events like nullify even if he's at the HQ?

A) As long as the action doesn't specify it has to be used during a battle, sure. There is a difference between 'during a battle at this planet' and 'during the Combat Phase', and most Combat Actions are available during any action window in the phase. This will also apply to units in HQ, given the same caveat.

B) Yes, again, with the caveat you specified that specific card text overrules this.

C) The Warlord doesn't use the Event, the player does. You can always use it as long as its trigger condition has been met, you can pay the cost, and no effect in play prevents you from doing so.

btw, abilities on cards (units, supports, etc.) are once per turn right?

thanks for the response! :D

http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/17917-card-eldorath-starbane-will-foresight-trigger-his-ability-again/

Does this mean I can use abilities over and over again? Just as long as I meet the trigger conditions? What happens to the abilities that are used/commanded by the player? Is it repeatable?

This is a little bit weird. Sorry I played other CCG's and I'm assuming abilities are on a once per turn basis. Unless reactions are not considered as "actions".

Actions can be used as many times as you like, provided that you meet any play restrictions/requirements and can pay the cost.

Reactions are not actions, though. Each individual "Reaction" ability can only be used one time per triggering condition, as described in the RRG, p. 12-13, where it talks about Reactions resolving immediately after their triggering conditions resolve.

(NOTE: We are specifically told that multiple Reactions can be executed for a given triggering condition, but that's not the same as a single Reaction being used multiple times for a given triggering condition.)

Does this mean you can spam Captain Markis' ability and exhaust everyone even before the battle begins as long as you have that many units to sacrifice?

And Spiritseer Erathal's ability triggers every time he attacks?

Been playing it wrong then haha..

Thanks for the specific answers :)

Markis: No, because his ability specifically says "(Limit once per phase.)" If he didn't have that limit, you could sac units to exhaust other units to your heart's delight.

Erathal: Yes, there is no limit. Each time he is declared as an attacker is a valid trigger for his response. So if he manages to attack multiple times during combat, you could trigger that reaction once for each of those attacks.

Edited by alpha5099

Oh I didn't catch that. Thanks! :D