Goblin Runner - Shadow Effect

By JanB, in Rules questions & answers

Greetings from Germany,

have a question about the Goblin Runner (The Hobbit: Over Hill and Under Hill)

http://deckbauer.telfador.net/card.html&id=1215

Its Shadoweffect let the enemy make a new attack (with a new shadowcard) .. what happens with the shadowcard(s) the eneme already have? Do i discard them or count them to the new one?

The shadow effect is resoved immediately after declaring the defender (step 3 of Resolving Enemy Attacks, pag 18 of the English rulebook if you need the reference), so:

a) you reveal the Shadow Card of the enemy you're currently engaged with (please remember that such an enemy is the Goblin Runner, then you're resolving its attack, and its shadow effects is NOT resolved. You resolve shadow effects only of cards that are dealt as Shadow Cards)

b) if the Shadow Card instructs the enemy to attack again, you fully resolve its attack (hence, you check for damage on the defender) and then you deal the enemy a new Shadow Card. At this point you need to declare another defender (since the guy who defended on the previous attack is now exhausted) and then you resolve the eventual Shadow effect of the new Shadow Cards, and finally resolve the second attack of the enemy

Hope this helps

Hi Julia,

don't get me wrong, the enemy with the runner-shadowcard makes an additional attack, as an result of the shadowcard. The question is, if previous schadowcards (including the runner-shadowcard) get discarded before this attack or they count towards the new attack.

Ach, ok, now I get it, sorry I missed it on the first passage. So, the Goblin Runner is the shadow card. Ok.

Shadow cards:

- their effect is resolved only once in every combat, when the card is revealed (step 3 of "Resolving enemy attacks", core set rules, pag 18)

- after their effect is resolved, they remain attached to the enemy until the end of the combat phase (hence, until you resolve your attack step) and then they leave play

What happens in this case?

- you declare a defender

- you reveal the shadow card and resolve its shadow effect (hence, you know that the enemy will attack again immediately after this attack is resolved)

- you resolve the enemy's attack

- you do not discard the shadow card

- you deal the enemy a second shadow card

- you declare another defender (since for defending you need to exhaust a character)

- you reveal the second shadow card and resolve its eventual shadow effect (and you resolve the effect only of this second card, since the first one was already resolved)

- you resolve the enemy's attack

- when you move to your combat step, you may attack the dude

- you discard the two shadow cards

- end of Combat phase

hope it's clearer now!

Edited by Julia

You discard them :)

FAQ (1.42) Additional attacks by an enemy

When an enemy makes an additional attack, discard all of its previously dealt shadow cards before dealing it a new shadow card.

Edited by chuckles

You discard them :)

Yup, but only if the enemy leaves play or the combat phase ends. Rules, pag. 20

"Shadow cards remain on the enemy to which they were dealt throughout the combat phase. If that enemy leaves play, discard its shadow card from play. At the end of the combat phase, discard all shadow cards that were dealt this round."

You discard them :)

Yup, but only if the enemy leaves play or the combat phase ends. Rules, pag. 20

"Shadow cards remain on the enemy to which they were dealt throughout the combat phase. If that enemy leaves play, discard its shadow card from play. At the end of the combat phase, discard all shadow cards that were dealt this round."

True... but there is a FAQ that says that you discard them... when an enemy makes an additional attack...

sorry I amended my original post - must have been after you started to reply but before I saw your reply.

(LOTR Errata/ FAQ 1.6 http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/lotr-lcg/support/LotR-FAQ.pdf )

Edited by chuckles

Didnt' know about that (well, not that I didn't know there were an FAQ released. It's "surfing" through the FAQ that is a little complex. For now, at least), thanks.

So, basically, you resolve the first attack, you discard the first shadow, you deal a second shadow, you resolve the second attack?

Yes. (or the discarding of multiple shadow cards as is the case in of the some the quests)... which leads me to my love of Burning brand :)

ok .. thanks a lot for your both helpful answers.

For what its worth, discarding the earlier shadow cards during a second attack also helps avoid having cards with a shadow effect "gains X for every shadow card on enemy" growing too over powered.

This specific ruling saved Sam from dying yesterday during our victory over the Morgul Vale ;-)

Shadow effects of 2nd attack: The attacking enemy gets +1 [attack] for every shadow card attached to it.

So fortunately only +1 attack.