Barrel Rolling Over Adjacent, Parallel Ships

By AtillaTheFun, in X-Wing Rules Questions

So I couldn't find this anywhere in the FAQ and I'm fairly confident you are able to do this but I just want to see if there is any kind of existing ruling on this.

If you have two ships adjacent and parallel from placing them that way at the start, can they barrel roll over each other? I would think yes because since the one maneuver is exactly the length of a small base (it is, right?) your ship's final position would not be overlapping the ship you're barrel rolling over.

Also there are no nubs to get in the way, so the same reasoning for why you cannot boost through a ship directly in front of you does not apply in this case.

Only relevant entry I could find was:

Sometimes a round will end with two ships touching each other, parallel, and
facing the same direction. If both ships are the same base size and execute
the same unobstructed straight [ ] maneuver during the next round, the ships
do not overlap each other and are not considered touching, even though they
remain physically adjacent.

This means that rule wise the 1 forward is strictly smaller than a base So I would have to say no.

Edited by Icareane

XWing FAQ errata:

“A ship cannot perform a barrel roll if this would cause its base to overlap

another ship or obstacle token, or if the maneuver template overlaps an

obstacle token.”

Well that doesn't clarify a whole lot. I'm just trying to figure out if the ship bases overlap or not. I don't think they do, but I'm not 100% sure.

@Atilla : edited my answer while you were typing.

Only relevant entry I could find was:

Quote

Sometimes a round will end with two ships touching each other, parallel, and
facing the same direction. If both ships are the same base size and execute
the same unobstructed straight [ ] maneuver during the next round, the ships
do not overlap each other and are not considered touching, even though they
remain physically adjacent.

This means that rule wise the 1 forward is strictly smaller than a base So I would have to say no.

Only relevant entry I could find was:

Sometimes a round will end with two ships touching each other, parallel, and

facing the same direction. If both ships are the same base size and execute

the same unobstructed straight [ ] maneuver during the next round, the ships

do not overlap each other and are not considered touching, even though they

remain physically adjacent.

This means that rule wise the 1 forward is strictly smaller than a base So I would have to say no.

How does this quote indicate that? This quote is talking about being physical contact WITHOUT overlapping, and doesn't deal with base or template size at all.

Yeah I fail to see how that entry has anything to do with how long a 1 forward template is. That's just saying that if they're still next to each other and adjacent they aren't considered overlapping.

I am told that the 1 straight template is slightly shorter than the length or with of a small ship base. Apparently, this is easily observable if you place the template underneath the base. Admittedly, I haven't tried it myself since it's in the "close enough" box for the in-game estimations that I use, but it's pretty easy to check yourself.

It is smaller than a base, so no you can't barrel role because you would overlap on the far side of the other ship.

The 1 straight us the same aize as the chit you put on the base but the base slants slightly out at the bottom.

You voukd do it when decloaking though as you clear the ship wirh a 2 barrel role.

Anither interesting fact. The firing arc is not 90 degrees. Be careful what you assume. I was guilty of faulty assunption too.

I thought the template was the same size too, so I just measured it to confirm for myself. It turns out the template is 1mm shorter than the base width, so it would appear that no barrel roll is possible.

The cardboard templates that comes with the base game are not very precise and can easily vary 1mm in lenght between different sets. So your 1 template might be shorter then a base, and some one elses template might be longer. I don't know if we have any official ruling as to the exact lenght of it compared to a ship base.